SBF - May 2018

lacazette

Yup exactly!

I get more annoyed by those who drop out because they suddenly 'realised' the house is too expensive for them though. Like I told my colleague who was thinking about applying for a 4 room BTO at Eunos recently to carefully plan his finances first cause I know he can afford it, but it might be a bit tight on finances especially if he has kids. In the end he applied, got a decent number, and dropped out for the reason he thinks he can't afford it :s39:

Like come on guys, plan properly before applying.

Perhaps hdb should relook this. Consider increasing the application fee to 100 to deter those who bid 'for fun'

sapherix

Perhaps hdb should relook this. Consider increasing the application fee to 100 to deter those who bid 'for fun'

i personally feel they should further segregate minimum income required for a certain price level

zidmosby

Yup exactly!

I get more annoyed by those who drop out because they suddenly 'realised' the house is too expensive for them though. Like I told my colleague who was thinking about applying for a 4 room BTO at Eunos recently to carefully plan his finances first cause I know he can afford it, but it might be a bit tight on finances especially if he has kids. In the end he applied, got a decent number, and dropped out for the reason he thinks he can't afford it :s39:

Like come on guys, plan properly before applying.

Yes, I agree 100% :s13:

I actually do wonder for those going for 4room and above in mature estates if they can afford it or they just want the "atas" feeling of telling people they live in so and so.

Weeli85

Yes, I agree 100% :s13:

I actually do wonder for those going for 4room and above in mature estates if they can afford it or they just want the "atas" feeling of telling people they live in so and so.

People have the mindset is "aya $10 only, so many people apply sure cannot get a queue no." than end up can get the queue no. suddenly house too ex, drop out... 😏

zidmosby

$100 is a bit much even for serious applicants. Not everyone has $100 cash to spare simply for an application (i.e. those elderly or with small children). But I agree that there should be a better way of filtering those serious vs those for fun instead of the current penalty system.

zidmosby

People have the mindset is "aya $10 only, so many people apply sure cannot get a queue no." than end up can get the queue no. suddenly house too ex, drop out... 😏

Yeah, have heard of some people wanting to see how they "score in the lottery" like it is some kind of game for them :s11:

Then end up drop out because never liked the project anyway. Sigh

zidmosby

i personally feel they should further segregate minimum income required for a certain price level

This is a good concept theoretically to allow people to help plan their finances wisely. Practically, I do not think it is feasible.

Unfortunately, people want a bigger space (even if that means forking out cash monthly on top of CPF contribution) because of the current house spaces. They also want to care for their parents or some already have large families etc. It would serve more backlash than necessary as the government is already controlling much of our finances, what more the government now wanting to dictate how much space one should live in.

Income is also something that is not stable. One might be unemployed for now while taking their Masters so to be penalised early on when they could earn better later is unfair as well.

zidmosby

You never know what some people want though. I was recently left stunned by a person in my selection exercise who had a top 3 queue number and decided to chose level 2 lol :s13: Felt like it was waste for him to get such a good number when he could have chosen the same unit even if his number was 60/52 instead of 3/52. But oh well, that's how the system works.

I put up this question as majority of people I have talked to do not want low levels and I really don't understand why. Still trying to figure it out till now! It baffles me that there is a good house within your financial means, and you choose to give it up because it isn't on a high floor? And risk going for next ballot where nothing is guaranteed and taking a longer time?? :s22:

Dream catcher

It’s means that these group of people are not in urgent need for a house and have lots of time to keep trying for next ballot until their high floor dream come true.

I put up this question as majority of people I have talked to do not want low levels and I really don't understand why. Still trying to figure it out till now! It baffles me that there is a good house within your financial means, and you choose to give it up because it isn't on a high floor? And risk going for next ballot where nothing is guaranteed and taking a longer time?? :s22:

jerichoo

Yeah, have heard of some people wanting to see how they "score in the lottery" like it is some kind of game for them :s11:

Then end up drop out because never liked the project anyway. Sigh

Bo pian man, This is the kinda system 70% loves and endorsee

Those kpkb are usually those who votee for it, then when it happens to them ask why like that.

Sinkies.

tuanehji

bro you have to think long term...

pros of low floor:

- can walk up stairs, no need squeeze in lift during peak hours
- can use lobby area dry clothes, shoes

cons of low floor:

- a lot of cockroach, insects, especially if near central refuse.
- got rubbish dump smell if the door spoil
- got strangers lurking, foreign worker chat loudly at void deck
- new design means house is easily exposed to people..need to spend money on curtains and aircon otherwise you close curtain, will be very warm
- got siao lang who can stalk your toilet from above floors so you cannot use HDB stock toilet window...
- low resale demand

zidmosby

bro you have to think long term...

pros of low floor:

- can walk up stairs, no need squeeze in lift during peak hours
- can use lobby area dry clothes, shoes

cons of low floor:

- a lot of cockroach, insects, especially if near central refuse.
- got rubbish dump smell if the door spoil
- got strangers lurking, foreign worker chat loudly at void deck
- new design means house is easily exposed to people..need to spend money on curtains and aircon otherwise you close curtain, will be very warm
- got siao lang who can stalk your toilet from above floors so you cannot use HDB stock toilet window...
- low resale demand

I live 2nd floor myself right now and none of the cons exist lol.

I won't say for sure on the central refuse as I am not located there but walking past, the smell has never been noticeable. Like of course got natural odour that comes from being a refuse but it's nothing that cannot be fixed by closing your own door.

I would agree the first floor of old HDBs will face the problem of foreign workers loitering around but not the second floor onwards. The only ones walking past is the occasional stray cat lol. No cockroach issue as well in all my 24 years living here.

I also not sure what you mean by new design and the toilet issue so cannot comment but I am sure that curtains don't cost much and instead of air con, use fan lor.

So.. just curious. If you are married and wife pregnant or maybe already have kids, and you need a house since your parents house is not as comfortable or getting cramped. You will keep trying SBF until you get your ideal unit? Let's just say resale is out of the question as well.

Ichimatsu

Looking at so many of us didnt even get a number , i am start hesitating should i give up my number in SOBF Nov 2017...
Got a relatively big 2 digit number and till date most of my fav unit gone.
If i don't compromise and give up this chance , there may be no number given in the next few round also. its all about odds game....
sigh ...

Some other forum said 1st time housing buyer are always the most picky 1 and unrealistically looking for a perfect flat ( but who doesnt want ? )
Perhaps i should dig the list again and adjust my expectation too.

i have the same mindset as you, almost want to drop out for SBF Nov17 because most of the better units are taken. end up I had a discussion with my SO and we decided to go ahead... took an unit on the 4th storey. we fear that our next ballot no. for May18 might not be in range. we are quite unlucky one haha

tuanehji

I won't say for sure on the central refuse as I am not located there but walking past, the smell has never been noticeable. Like of course got natural odour that comes from being a refuse but it's nothing that cannot be fixed by closing your own door.

I would agree the first floor of old HDBs will face the problem of foreign workers loitering around but not the second floor onwards. The only ones walking past is the occasional stray cat lol. No cockroach issue as well in all my 24 years living here.

I also not sure what you mean by new design and the toilet issue so cannot comment but I am sure that curtains don't cost much and instead of air con, use fan lor.

So.. just curious. If you are married and wife pregnant or maybe already have kids, and you need a house since your parents house is not as comfortable or getting cramped. You will keep trying SBF until you get your ideal unit? Let's just say resale is out of the question as well.

I can tell you it depends on the wife mostly because nowadays guys very gu niang, everything listen to girlfriend/wife. If they say NO, you also can't get the unit alone. That's why LLST.

Anyway you must be very lucky stay 2nd floor no cockroach. My uncle stay at Bishan low floor area and we go his house always can spot ka zhua running pass the common area...

Aries89

Ah, now I see why others lack of interest in 2nd floor baffles you haha..

Need to realise that what you experience might not be the same for everyone else. Guess you got lucky to not experience most of the associated problems of low floor.

However as someone else mentioned, low floor will have lower resale value and lower demand due to the perceived cons (justified or not justified).

zidmosby

Ah, now I see why others lack of interest in 2nd floor baffles you haha..

Need to realise that what you experience might not be the same for everyone else. Guess you got lucky to not experience most of the associated problems of low floor.

However as someone else mentioned, low floor will have lower resale value and lower demand due to the perceived cons (justified or not justified).

Actually right, my SO and late grandparents also live first floor before. Both no pest issue and sell off well with profit (despite less than 60 years lease) so these definitely add up to why I am surprised with the low floor stigma. They even quoted buyers were very keen to have the extra space in front to grow their own garden :s13:

zidmosby

I can tell you it depends on the wife mostly because nowadays guys very gu niang, everything listen to girlfriend/wife. If they say NO, you also can't get the unit alone. That's why LLST.

Anyway you must be very lucky stay 2nd floor no cockroach. My uncle stay at Bishan low floor area and we go his house always can spot ka zhua running pass the common area...

First floor I admit will have these problems la. Cannot deny with high human traffic and there will be occasional pests.

So far really second floor where I live no issue. I have been walking past my neighbour who lives near the bin (bcs of this forum so I can check out all the supposed cons) but like no issue leh.. Can some more open door most of the time and hear them play mahjong :s13:

I got a few neighbours selling house on 2nd floor but got good amount of buyers interested. Not sure if low level old flat more in demand (larger space+balcony) compared to low level new flats?

Dream catcher

We have lived on level #02 facing a basketball court and playground for 15 yrs. Never had any adverse experiences , other than children playing during the evening hours, which is not even an issue in my opinion. Selling wasn’t even a issue despite it being an original condition unit. On the contrary, our high floor level #12, fully renovated unit, sold at a loss, and had difficulty securing a buyer coz of west sun facing.

Actually right, my SO and late grandparents also live first floor before. Both no pest issue and sell off well with profit (despite less than 60 years lease) so these definitely add up to why I am surprised with the low floor stigma. They even quoted buyers were very keen to have the extra space in front to grow their own garden :s13:

Aries89

First floor I admit will have these problems la. Cannot deny with high human traffic and there will be occasional pests.

So far really second floor where I live no issue. I have been walking past my neighbour who lives near the bin (bcs of this forum so I can check out all the supposed cons) but like no issue leh.. Can some more open door most of the time and hear them play mahjong :s13:

I got a few neighbours selling house on 2nd floor but got good amount of buyers interested. Not sure if low level old flat more in demand (larger space+balcony) compared to low level new flats?

Is it at a good location? Surprised at there being many interested buyers though.. However, I can only wonder how many more interested buyers there were for the higher floors 😅

Dream catcher

Location was gd , plenty amenities, both were in Tampines. Many viewers but no offers, many liked the reno & location, but afternoon sun fm living room all the way to bedrooms. While we were living there, we had to have aircon on perpetually, electricity bill was always high. Eventually we moved after 12 yrs.

Is it at a good location? Surprised at there being many interested buyers though.. However, I can only wonder how many more interested buyers there were for the higher floors 😅

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.