Seniors really have issues

Ethan_

Big difference, those are uneducated and unculture
Not really. If go observed those around. Many the temperament tend change when they get older. Some last time quite gently will criticise and frown when see other use vulgarity one. When become old also no holds barred liao anyhow chin chye also can triggered them scold others, use vulgarity. They have become more sensitive and temperamental. They don't care as much anymore as they going to mati, so no need care about what formalities or others feeling. As others cannot do much to them.

formula

you can't reason with them coz they don't see you as equal. If they are right, you shall be punished. If they are wrong, then you are disrespecting elderly if you point them out. They see it as a threat and will wanna fight to than giving others a chance.

They are just so bad at social discourse.

This!! (y)

👏👏👏

TehOPengSiuDai

you can't reason with them coz they don't see you as equal. If they are right, you shall be punished. If they are wrong, then you are disrespecting elderly if you point them out. They see it as a threat and will wanna fight to than giving others a chance.

They are just so bad at social discourse.

Some people condone the boomers when they make mistakes just because they think it’s a form of respect for the elderly. I think it’s so wrong. If they really made a mistake, I see nothing wrong with pointing it out or telling them. Better than letting them think they are right in everything they do and let them continue down this wayward path and offend more people or let people laugh and jeer at them. Even for my own parents, if they did something wrong, I will definitely tell them.

haveyourcake

moi got a few boomer stories. some are my own, but quite abit from friends and corlicks. In general, most of us agree to just let them 自导自演 their own ch8 drama and dont acknowledge them until they start to stalk you or touch/ hit you. at this point, call out to MRT/bus station staff/ police to intervene.

be compassionate, some of them are experiencing early stages of dementia. So you argue with them today, 2 weeks later they might be being pushed around in a wheelchair 🤭

To be fair though, I think most of them are quite reasonable people. it's just the bad eggs that stand out alot more. worked with many elderly people in my previous job, and my experience is generally OK.

3G SAINT

Not really. If go observed those around. Many the temperament tend change when they get older. Some last time quite gently will criticise and frown when see other use vulgarity one. When become old also no holds barred liao anyhow chin chye also can triggered them scold others, use vulgarity. They have become more sensitive and temperamental. They don't care as much anymore as they going to mati, so no need care about what formalities or others feeling. As others cannot do much to them.
Not really my temper soften when getting older:D

Ethan_

Not really my temper soften when getting older:D
Of course not all. There will be some on either side. So cannot say there isn't. Not everyone can grow old gracefully.

But if got observed, middle age mellow is much different from older age. Alot when much older they become more temperamental. Not say got temper, but more 情绪化, any little thing also can triggered them nagging, jjww and such. More easy to speak their mind (scold) due to seniority. Not to the extend of flare up temper, but alot of 小脾气 here and there.

JonWeak

Don’t know what’s the issues with boomers. They always have many things to say or react very big or nag and nag and nag. 2 incidences today.

1) old man riding on escalator and 3 lao aunties in a group either in front of directly behind the old man, appeared to have accidentally run over his foot with their trolley or stepped on his foot. Old man shouted loudly with all the Hokkien vulgarities and scolded the 3 aunties non-stop for a solid 5 min. The 3 of them looked dumbfounded. Not sure if they even realised that they “injured” the old man. Old man continued scolding and pointing and even threatened to call police, tell them not to leave because he is going to call police. So drama. Pity the police too, have to entertain this kind of people.

2) was queuing to buy something then old lady went in front of me to park her trolley and proceed to stand behind me. Didn’t know she already was queuing up behind me so told her nicely, “auntie, the Q starts from there”, pointing to the start of the Q. Auntie stared at me and face black black and told me “I know, I already queued up. “ I said “oh ok” went back to look at my phone. Then auntie still buay song, continue talking “you just continue look at the phone, don’t need to care about me. You think I dunno how to queue up? You think I what ah” Fed up, I turned back to her and told her “auntie, I only telling you nicely because I don’t want you to tio beaten up”. After that, auntie then diam diam.

Why such simple incidents but the boomer got so many things to say and react so big?? :s11:
Maybe long time no exercise so become angry lor. Tiagong if you exercise sure will feel more song and relax

Lemonpeach

The pattern maybe like this:

Gen Alpha : GenZ really got issue
Gen Z : Gen Y really got issue
Gen Y : Gen X really got issue
Gen X : Millennial really got issue
Millennial : Boomer really got issue
Boomer : Mederka Gen really got issue
Mederka Gen : Pioneer Gen really got issue
Pioneer Gen : The indigeneous tribes really got issue
Indigeneous Tribes : Ask the Ape man

All are correct. Inter-generational issues. Changing values, shifting habits, dynamic mindset.

cpuer

As a boomer myself, firstly I apologise on behalf for these bad boomers, if i have chance I will 開導他們一下。 年輕人,shileh lah.

4Dluckystrike

If you got elderly at home also will have same experience one.
they sort of revert to child like behaviour , throw tantrum , forget this and that.. and end up angry with themselves also..
I just hope i would not be so when i am a boomer..

cpuer

The pattern maybe like this:

Gen Alpha : GenZ really got issue
Gen Z : Gen Y really got issue
Gen Y : Gen X really got issue
Gen X : Millennial really got issue
Millennial : Boomer really got issue
Boomer : Mederka Gen really got issue
Mederka Gen : Pioneer Gen really got issue
Pioneer Gen : The indigeneous tribes really got issue
Indigeneous Tribes : Ask the Ape man

All are correct. Inter-generational issues. Changing values, shifting habits, dynamic mindset.
anything got todo with the current 改朝换代吗? People are animals of habit, the chnage to some old folks are actually very traumatic thus affecting their mental state.

Kanko San

I am a low ses boomer

Hot temper n will scold youngsters if they are wrong.

Those Gi-na-pi kwai lan, kan ee chia chia lath

mrBooBoo

Some people condone the boomers when they make mistakes just because they think it’s a form of respect for the elderly. I think it’s so wrong. If they really made a mistake, I see nothing wrong with pointing it out or telling them. Better than letting them think they are right in everything they do and let them continue down this wayward path and offend more people or let people laugh and jeer at them. Even for my own parents, if they did something wrong, I will definitely tell them.

i don't even wanna hear some of these privileged people farting their virtue and moral signals. They are clueless, or deny conveniently that some of these boomers can be very violent and sadistic. They can assault their kids, and blame them when they are in a bad mood but when facing outsiders pretending that they are the victim.

Of course there are bad actors on both side, but our culture is unfairly tilted towards the elderly.

hawkwind

It's called the generation gap. Happens with every generation. Gen Z or mills who complain now dun thing you are immune to it when you get old.

TehOPengSiuDai

a trolley on escalator ...

https://media.tenor.com/GbcrawkNLUgAAAAM/old-lady.gif

https://au.news.yahoo.com/runaway-shopping-trolley-kills-woman-010400508.html
A shocking video has emerged of a woman being killed by a runaway supermarket trolley in China. According to London's Daily Mail, the accident happened last week at Lianhua supermarket in Shanghai.
https://i.imgur.com/KkENHLS.gif
Not this kind of trolley lah :s13: It’s those cloth type two-wheeler that aunties love bringing around everywhere

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.