Seriously, is BYD good?

TheDarkKnight

even before our green rebate grant, BYD priced M6 at SGD220k. take away the paper, it is at SGD120k which is RMB660k (which I dont understand why they have the courage to set that price level). The didi drivers in china probably paid only RMB100k which is probably around SGD18k.

The maths is pretty straight forward. Anything that comes to our shores will auto mark up multiple times cause Sgreans can pay.
Bruh, taxes to gahmen in a car is more than just COE. U need to subtract more than just that

shawnsterz

The sealion 6 is PHEV.... so comes with 60L tank and 18kWh batt for around 80-90km... I also cannot accept full EV thats why get the 6 instead of 7....

That being said, it is a bit more chonky than the sealion 7 which is full EV.... haha was behind a harrier that day during test drive and realized I can look past it... :s13:
BYD China just launch a new replacement model of the SL6. Just hope local AD don’t bring it in, in the next 2-3 years if not value tank.

Those Xpeng G6 buyers are facing this problem now. 1 year old car and AD bring in newer model.

cet87

Chery still doing well in china btw..... just too cheap to survive in sg back then.... :s13:

But QQ was a rubbish car lah.... hit pedestrians, driver more likely to die.... their recent models does seem much improved according to online reviews.... :s13:

Last time ppl also say KR cars are rubbish....

someone once said ppl buyed KR cars because they cannot afford a proper JP cars.

Forever84

So u are sure 100% BYD battery won't catch fire lol
I thought you’re battery expert. What’s the difference with LFP?

U expert u should know Ma, else just google LFP battery fire lo, your answer is there

hachi

In SG when you are paying this kind of prices... Trust me... Is good... Even it is made of paper.... Oh.... Hungry ghost...

harbinger255

Not in an X, GL or Q series.

And the facts you haven't buy a byd yet. If we buy den is sunset liao. Like downgrade to hdb from landed.
Rubbish.... GLA, X1/2 also damn sad one...

And I bought a sealion 6 liao.... Next month getting it. :s12:

I always believe in value for money in my purchases.... That's why I bought the stinger gt.... And now this....

harbinger255

BYD China just launch a new replacement model of the SL6. Just hope local AD don’t bring it in, in the next 2-3 years if not value tank.

Those Xpeng G6 buyers are facing this problem now. 1 year old car and AD bring in newer model.
Yeah I know.... This current model is actually 2-3yo already... But tbh I prefer this one... Hate hate hate those flushed/pop out door handles... :s13:

Car value always gonna tank one lah.... It's not an investment, not going view it as such or care.

rabies79

Nothing is 100% is about the risk level. EV are generally lower fire risk. Just look at SG

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...e-than-double-in-last-5-years-no-evs-involved

Yes cause I am sure certain mitigation are in place to reduce fire risk but once it starts it's hard to stop.
I thought you’re battery expert. What’s the difference with LFP?

U expert u should know Ma, else just google LFP battery fire lo, your answer is there

Lesser chance doesn't mean won't. U still need a good set of possible fire spread mitigation methods within itself. We are using much bigger LFP Batteries in marine electrification but when u open them up inside is filled with chilled water pipes running through them.

st0rm5cap3

If you ask any BYD owner they will sing until skies high praise until 天上有低下无

But if you offer to buy them a merc or bmw, they will be gladly to give away their BYD.

So you guess is BYD good or bad?
Conti cars good in tropical weather meh? I thought conti cars keep breaking down after a few years? Repairs, spare parts also very expensive... MLMLWML.. Keep breaking down jin ma huan...

tokong

My lao pok chia going to uplorry soon. Sigh.
Aiya, why bother convert to byd when you can afford mercedes or bmw.

when you buy a car, you must always buy a higher status one than the last one. my office the senior manager he can afford bmw but he always change between toyota and honda. i said the car is depreciating asset anyway, why not pamper yourself buy a better bigger car. your wife and kids or parents can sit more comfy what.

Forever84

Yes cause I am sure certain mitigation are in place to reduce fire risk but once it starts it's hard to stop.

Lesser chance doesn't mean won't. U still need a good set of possible fire spread mitigation methods within itself. We are using much bigger LFP Batteries in marine electrification but when u open them up inside is filled with chilled water pipes running through them.
I ask you la, any electronic equipment won’t have chance to catch fire bo?

the question is whether it is safer right? In fact petrol car has been showing to have higher incidence rate than EVs

rabies79

I ask you la, any electronic equipment won’t have chance to catch fire bo?

the question is whether it is safer right? In fact petrol car has been showing to have higher incidence rate than EVs

So what advanced in battery technology does BYD have that you have mentioned in earlier post?

Forever84

Aiya, why bother convert to byd when you can afford mercedes or bmw.

when you buy a car, you must always buy a higher status one than the last one. my office the senior manager he can afford bmw but he always change between toyota and honda. i said the car is depreciating asset anyway, why not pamper yourself buy a better bigger car. your wife and kids or parents can sit more comfy what.
That’s the thing. Everyone has different needs, a Toyota is not necessarily less comfortable than a Merc

imagine he need 6 seats, an Alphard is better than a merc sedan or GLB

mistersatki_

That’s the thing. Everyone has different needs, a Toyota is not necessarily less comfortable than a Merc

Because the badge is nicer
But of course if you can afford alphard, price range not the same as a GLB or lower range sedan

tokong

Yep, just an opinion only. I prefer the interior of a mercedes and bmw.

rabies79

I’m not the expert. U tell me lo.

Nah, here you have it. Below is one of the specification of a containerized 2MWh energy storage with LFP Batteries. I have more but I think below is suffice to close case.

High safety:
− Lithium iron phosphate single battery, with its design of cell materials, structure and performance, boasts ultra-high safety.
− Design of thermal runaway suppression for battery pack cells in grouping, and the strictest thermal runaway design standards.
− Three-level BMS + PLC battery management system with multi-level linkage control.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.