SIMBA Fibre Broadband

twosix

Why are people getting this Simba 2.5gbps ?

Most device now are capped at 1gbps. Even a slight incompatibility will cap the whole home network to 1gbps.
Why? Go ask the govt. they r pushing 10gbps. They are targeting 50% adoption rates in 2 yrs time if I remember correctly from the news. actually 500mbps is enough for a family.

xiaofan

But there are some clauses which users who want to subscribe to the 2.5Gbps plan now and then upgrade to 10Gbps plan should take note.

https://simba.sg/static/media/CISBroadband.bb9bbd66.pdf

4. Conversion of 2.5Gbps Customer(s) to 10Gbps
4.1. Every SIMBA 2.5Gbps Customer shall, during the term of their Minimum Contract Period, be
given the option to enrol into SIMBA 10Gbps Services PROVIDED ALWAYS that SIMBA
10Gbps Services is already available at the Customer’s Service Address; and such enrolment
by conversion shall be subject to SIMBA’s unilateral discretion to accept the Customer’s

request or to impose any further requirements prior to such conversion.

4.2. In the event that the Customer enrols into SIMBA 10Gbps Services, SIMBA shall waive the
cost of providing the Customer a replacement ONT required for the 10Gbps Services. For
avoidance of doubt, SIMBA shall not waive any NLT service activation fees if the Customer
relocates their subscription of SIMBA 2.5Gbps Services to a Service Address which only offers
SIMBA 10Gbps Services.

4.3. The Customer agrees and acknowledges that the Services may be disrupted, with prior notice
by SIMBA to the Customer, in the event that the Customer is converted from 2.5Gbps Services
to 10Gbps Services.

4.4. In the event that the Customer does not agree to convert from their existing 2.5Gbps to
SIMBA’s 10Gbps Services upon the conclusion of their Minimum Contract Period, the
Customer’s 2.5Gbps Services shall be terminated and this clause shall represent requisite
notice to the Customer vis-à-vis termination.

xiaofan

Why? Go ask the govt. they r pushing 10gbps. They are targeting 50% adoption rates in 2 yrs time if I remember correctly from the news. actually 500mbps is enough for a family.

In 4 years time (2028), not 2026.
https://www.straitstimes.com/tech/p...lion-homes-ready-for-10gbps-broadband-by-2028

SINGAPORE - All major internet service providers (ISPs) in Singapore have accelerated plans to upgrade their networks to offer 10 gigabits per second (Gbps) fixed broadband services to at least half a million homes by 2028.
M1 said that it is participating in the Government’s grant programme and that it is on track to launch its 10Gbps plan.

twosix

In 4 years time (2028), not 2026.
https://www.straitstimes.com/tech/p...lion-homes-ready-for-10gbps-broadband-by-2028

SINGAPORE - All major internet service providers (ISPs) in Singapore have accelerated plans to upgrade their networks to offer 10 gigabits per second (Gbps) fixed broadband services to at least half a million homes by 2028.
M1 said that it is participating in the Government’s grant programme and that it is on track to launch its 10Gbps plan.
Thanks. Do u know why they r driving 10gbps to homes when no one actually need that type of speed?

xiaofan

Thanks. Do u know why they r driving 10gbps to homes when no one actually need that type of speed?

Just my personal opinion below.
I think the government is right in this case. Countries need to prepare the infrastrures earlier in this new era. Singapore has already the good Fibre infrasture which is ready for 10Gbps and higher Fibre internet plans. Then the government only needs to spend a bit of money for the ISPs to enhance their backend equipment. I think 100 million is money well spent in this case.

For example, ISPs in mainland China have started 10Gbps trial now after deploying 2Gbps plans, using 50G PON technology (which can reach higher than 10Gbps in theory). Then the ISPs there are pushing for FTTR as well. The recommended renovation from Chinese Youtubers is already mentioning to lay Fibre along with CAT6 Ethernet cables, in preparations of FTTR.

Reference for Chinese ISP's trial 10Gbps plans (9.383Gbps download, 9.1656Gbps upload, 4.2Gbps download speed of Steam Cyperpunk 2077 game)
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-simba-and-vq.6930337/page-189#post-153167388

I tend to think future HDB BTO flats will have Fibre cables along with CAT 6 cables.

ISPs in US are also pushing for higher tier plans like Google Fibre 8Gbps (as well as 10Gbps from other ISPs). Google has also 20Gbps trial in selected locations, using 25G PON and 50G PON technology.
https://telecomreviewamericas.com/a...on-trial-sets-stage-for-multi-gigabit-future/

Nefalrin

Because Singapore is adopting Artificial intelligence so making 10gbps as a target

twosix

Just my personal opinion below.
I think the government is right in this case. Countries need to prepare the infrastrures earlier in this new era. Singapore has already the good Fibre infrasture which is ready for 10Gbps and higher Fibre internet plans. Then the government only needs to spend a bit of money for the ISPs to enhance their backend equipment. I think 100 million is money well spent in this case.

For example, ISPs in mainland China have started 10Gbps trial now after deploying 2Gbps plans, using 50G PON technology (which can reach higher than 10Gbps in theory). Then the ISPs there are pushing for FTTR as well. The recommended renovation from Chinese Youtubers is already mentioning to lay Fibre along with CAT6 Ethernet cables, in preparations of FTTR.

Reference for Chinese ISP's trial 10Gbps plans (9.383Gbps download, 9.1656Gbps upload, 4.2Gbps download speed of Steam Cyperpunk 2077 game)
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-simba-and-vq.6930337/page-189#post-153167388

I tend to think future HDB BTO flats will have Fibre cables along with CAT 6 cables.

ISPs in US are also pushing for higher tier plans like Google Fibre 8Gbps (as well as 10Gbps from other ISPs). Google has also 20Gbps trial in selected locations, using 25G PON and 50G PON technology.
https://telecomreviewamericas.com/a...on-trial-sets-stage-for-multi-gigabit-future/
10gbps ready and pushing home high adoption rates are 2 different things.
Maybe companies will benefit but how does a family benefit?

Nefalrin

Oh, dun know I need 10gbps for my phone to do AI stuff leh.
https://aceperipherals.com/blogs/ne...i-fi-7-accelerating-the-ai-and-digital-future

Singapore's 10Gbps Broadband and Wi-Fi 7: Accelerating the AI and Digital Future​

SpeedYear IntroducedYear Becoming a NormSignificance
10 MbpsEarly 1990sEarly 2000sMarked the era of Ethernet technology, enabling faster office networks.
100 MbpsMid-1990sMid 2000sBrought high-speed internet to larger networks, enhancing data transmission.
1 GbpsEarly 2000sMid 2010sGigabit Ethernet became standard for enterprise networks and advanced users.
10 Gbps2010sLate 2020sIntroduced ultra-high-speed internet, paving the way for future innovations.

Singapore's commitment to a 10Gbps broadband network and the integration of Wi-Fi 7 technology lays the groundwork for a transformative digital future. This forward-thinking approach ensures Singapore remains at the forefront of global technological advancements, ready to harness the full potential of AI, immersive media, and beyond.

twosix

https://aceperipherals.com/blogs/ne...i-fi-7-accelerating-the-ai-and-digital-future

Singapore's 10Gbps Broadband and Wi-Fi 7: Accelerating the AI and Digital Future​

SpeedYear IntroducedYear Becoming a NormSignificance
10 MbpsEarly 1990sEarly 2000sMarked the era of Ethernet technology, enabling faster office networks.
100 MbpsMid-1990sMid 2000sBrought high-speed internet to larger networks, enhancing data transmission.
1 GbpsEarly 2000sMid 2010sGigabit Ethernet became standard for enterprise networks and advanced users.
10 Gbps2010sLate 2020sIntroduced ultra-high-speed internet, paving the way for future innovations.

Singapore's commitment to a 10Gbps broadband network and the integration of Wi-Fi 7 technology lays the groundwork for a transformative digital future. This forward-thinking approach ensures Singapore remains at the forefront of global technological advancements, ready to harness the full potential of AI, immersive media, and beyond.
Why quote me this information? How does a family benefit from 10gbps is what I dun comprehend.

Nefalrin

I think M1 is going to come out with the 10gbps plan soon

M1 500mbps plan might phase out.

Then the M1 1gbps plan will be $30 instead

cyberprokia

I think M1 is going to come out with the 10gbps plan soon

M1 500mbps plan might phase out.

Then the M1 1gbps plan will be $30 instead
:/ im still using the out of contract starhub phased out 500mbps plan at $30. i just need the lowest cost. wanted to switch to simba 2.5g $20 but always not available in my area, now no more.

Tom Sawyer

Simba is "encouraging" 2.5Gbps people to take up 10Gbps ultimately after their contracts end as they are phasing out 2.5Gbps. But, I would guess that they will be having lower tiered plans as well... Maybe 5Gbps or 3Gbps ?

Since, I am not really hungry for speed and the cost of wifi 7 routers are still not palatable.. coupled with other ISPs' hunger for people to take up 10Gbps (probably to get incentives from IMDA)... I shall sit on the fence and wait for other ISPs to show hands first... Simba has made some illogical and confusing moves lately and I do not want to be their guinea pig as I am sure that they are also confused.... Pricing of 2.5Gbps to be the same as 10Gbps and phasing out 2.5Gbps later...???

Fronsac

The push is to solve the chicken and egg issue, if there is no infrastructure, the business will not develop application to utilize this, subsidizing the business usually lead to nothing so going through the consumer is a better shot at the problem.
Some of the upcoming usecase are very beneficial for an aging population, imagine old people who need medical care, instead of running a large fleet of vehicle to ship them to hospital, they can run diagnostic remotely with the help of some local physical support by volunteers or medical staff nearby.
Moving towards a work from home nation would require big bandwidth that allow anyone to work remotely as if they are at home in theory.
VR with remote GPU is also only possible with fat pipes like this.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.