Solution to reverse the rapidly aging population!!

Will this solution work?

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

coyote

$100k/18 years

Per month $463

Food alone say $3 x 3 meals/day x 30 days already $270

$100k for 18 years is really conservative

I meant $100k is too little and grossly underestimated... though they do not need $100k all at once. Also, the government gave more than $100k for each kids already...

KosmoKramer

I viewed a video from BBC on fertility and birth rates suddenly realised a solution for Singapore to tackle our fertility issues and rapidly aging population! People below 40 now need to have much more children than their parent’s generation and grandparents’ generation and that will reverse the trend!!

There is a solution, buy sperms from male and pay female to use their eggs to produce test tube babies, government then raise the children as their own until working adults, this way they will get unlimited workforce and loyal citizens.

Shion

Senior Mentor
reversal is not possible now as costs r too high

serangoon1

I meant $100k is too little and grossly underestimated... though they do not need $100k all at once. Also, the government gave more than $100k for each kids already...
Anyone who has children here,you must be very very fortunate and rich. The govt gave your child more than $100k😬

eboy

Ageing is not a bad thing

It's the chronic diseases in old age that's the problem

yoongf

Just need to amend Womens Charter and remove all this nonsense abt illegitimate child etc.

If anybody does a cost benefit analysis of having a kid, confirm will not hv kids.

Last time ppl all YOLO chiong without thinking so much .. no problem having kids.

4Dluckystrike

actually govt tried their best liao lah
it is the parents who wanna 卷 and make life difficult for themselves
milk u have BM
childcare u have PCF half day
pri and sec education is almost free
healthcare is heavily subsidized for Singaporeans, some of the baby jabs are free till 18 months, etc etc

u see a lot of free stuffs that govt supplied for everyone in Singapore, but most of the time the FT parents are the ones enjoying
e.g. playground vs indoor playground
PCF vs brand name preschool
vaccinations in polyclinic vs in PD clinics
normal wards vs single wards for delivery also

unfortunately due to the stop at 2 policy, that forced people to give birth to fewer, in turn makes people think, only have 1 or 2 kids, must spend on the kid, give them the best, since already so rare... LPPL
You forgot want kids mean 3 room and above . Car , maid , enrichment and tuition . This is 99 percent setup of married with kids around me..
During gathering , there are at least 4 maids from different families gathered at 1 corner ..
Going Budget family setup for working parents nowadays with no car no maid is a rare occurrence ..

sk0065

To reduce the aging population quickly

Just change the definition lo

no 80 years not call old
Then immediately - our work force will be majority
79 years old and below

vangug

this is not a solution... the modern singaporean parent cannot accept not being able to provide the privacy and agency for their kids... having their own room by the time they are in secondary school is a basic necessity now... so 3 kids and above is no longer a goal for parents...

jadedRomeo

The gov have to be really serious about it if they want to reverse the trend.
Free education / childcare not sustainable but it should be HEAVILY subsidised for ALL Singaporeans.
Try to revert back to single income sustainability <--- this one very hard.

I feel the gov is stil doing a balancing act towards getting new citizens and workers.
There is NO balance already. It's already an existential crisis.
All that money for "rainy days"? It's pouring now.

tuxguy

Don't talk so far ahead like free education/childcare, free this and that....the first thing already cannot do properly -> Housing for young couples...the BTO process for young couples is crazy, pre BTO times couples could get their houses much easier and now with falling TFR, they making it more difficult

Housing is the very first thing before you can even talk abt starting a family

pushtopen

just invent immortality

even extending lifespans by 50 years would change things drastically

Unic0rn

Then when you grow old, get rid of you also? You don't have kids to take care?
Indeed, surely, why? For sure! The current younger generation is less selfish and way bigger heart ♥️ Is natural for the old tree 🌳 that enjoyed for 60 years to give way for the young to grow and thrive generation after generation?
There are still low SES families with poor family planning, relying on social welfare.

If there are more unplanned pregnancies among the higher SES families, we may be able to grow our population. We can start by banning condoms and birth control pills.

For more drastic measure, we will need to roll back gender equality. As the BBC programme said, many women are unmarried because they have high expectation of marriage; they want to marry up. A corollary is that lower SES males are unmarried too.
There will always be better males that are the top 1% earners for these highly educated, strong and independent women to marry up?
$100k/18 years

Per month $463

Food alone say $3 x 3 meals/day x 30 days already $270

$100k for 18 years is really conservative
At least for me
Food alone is $20 x3 meals x 30 days is $1800
Pocket money $50 x 30 days is $1500
Transport? Estimated $300 per month
Per month is easily $3600
For 25 years till university graduate is $1,080,000

coyote

Indeed, surely, why? For sure! The current younger generation is less selfish and way bigger heart ♥️ Is natural for the old tree 🌳 that enjoyed for 60 years to give way for the young to grow and thrive generation after generation?

There will always be better males that are the top 1% earners for these highly educated, strong and independent women to marry up?

At least for me
Food alone is $20 x3 meals x 30 days is $1800
Pocket money $50 x 30 days is $1500
Transport? Estimated $300 per month
Per month is easily $3600
For 25 years till university graduate is $1,080,000

If you think of it another way, why would the magnanimous young generations not grow up on their own and carve their own niche? Why must it be the older gen to give way to the young gen? I do not understand.

I believed if the young gen is as solid as you said, they would have flourished without even displacing the seniors. The new economies do not include the older generations regardless... Digita marketing, trading bitcoin, selling houses, selling insurance, engineers in manufacturing, the young have so much more advantages than the young. So, I buy this notion that the old must give way for the young to flourish... It simply means those young talents are no talents after all, they can't even beat the seniors in their work... despite they proclaimed being smarter and can work more efficient and longer hours than the older folks...

codemasterguy

The solution is to get females back to home when married, and avoid career.
They should also get subsidy/allowance when having kids on education, basic cost of living.
Hard truth.

PikaPika33

just mandate la
30 no merry must sign up for match making
no sign up no bto
yearly go 2 times like go ns

than no kids also
yearly no kid than tio 30k, or some punishment

maybe cdc voucher give less $10

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.