Talking Point : Retrenchment

Nefalrin

Everyone in the world knows that if worked in a company for many many years and a termination for poor performance is equal to a straight lie out of the box.

Tony.Manero

03ec97cc53cb4026fb5e893fa1d9f535.jpg

have mah. Gotch chiobu somemore. :(
Hired models lah

hardwriter

Sinkies jobs lost to MYS / foreigners. With RTS coming, prepare for more job losses. Anyone can lose his job no matter how good one is.
Need to reduce quotas and increase higher levies. Foreigners are becoming more expensive to hire than sinkies.
Sinkies should all be replaced by FT. :o

congster2

Sinkies jobs lost to MYS / foreigners. With RTS coming, prepare for more job losses. Anyone can lose his job no matter how good one is.
Need to reduce quotas and increase higher levies. Foreigners are becoming more expensive to hire than sinkies.
No need to wait for rts. Since covid, sinkies all love to wfh and complain when they have to go back office.

Guess what, it proves that companies just need virtual workers, and since that is the case, just hire a cheaper one from another country.

Shion

Senior Mentor
I guess in the future, coys will only maintain a presence in SG only merely for international tax planning purpose, though not sure if that will change after BEPS 2.0

I suppose Singaporeans are truly doomed then. Companies leaving, job opportunities dwindling, foreigners still keep swarming into SG taking and fighting for whatever jobs remaining.

Meanwhile our world class mgmt everyday scream and shout "reskill retrain upskill upgrade e2i wsg skillsfuture"...

Shion

Senior Mentor
I guess in the future, coys will only maintain a presence in SG only merely for international tax planning purpose, though not sure if that will change after BEPS 2.0

I suppose Singaporeans are truly doomed then. Companies leaving, job opportunities dwindling, foreigners still keep swarming into SG taking and fighting for whatever jobs remaining.

Meanwhile our world class mgmt everyday scream and shout "reskill retrain upskill upgrade e2i wsg skillsfuture"...

wickedpuppy

You sound like nothing can be done to avoid that future ...

Lchlch

How to protect ourselves?
It's beyond our control isn't it?
The only way is save n save for such day to happen.

Masaharu

How to protect ourselves?
It's beyond our control isn't it?
The only way is save n save for such day to happen.

It's very simple. What do many bosses want?

You just need to be cheaper than the cheapest ft (based in sg or overseas)

If you are cheaper than the cheapest ft overseas highly unlikely you will be retrenched

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.