[Temperature] CPU & GPU idle & load running temp - Please share here!!

ryouma

Unmount the cooler. Check of the thermal paste have been dried up? If not check your pump whether is it running.

not confident in unmounting lol
there are 2 connecting large cables (only one of them felt hot to the touch), is that the norm? But I could still feel some vibrating 'current' on both, just that one is cool and another is hot

If the liquid cooler is working fine, the next likely scenario is the drying up of the thermal compound which needs to be replaced?

Thanks!

i1magic

Yes bro it does get dust-clogged after some time that's why I take out and use vacuum cleaner on it every 3 months or so. You can see from here:

20130209_112307_zpscc6ebaa7.jpg

Yes, my GPUs have non-ref coolers (as below) that's why they expel hot air into the case instead of outside it. Your GPU pic is using the reference "blower" cooler, its a more "enclosed" design so blowing air towards its side probably couldn't help much.

DSC_0458_zps55415fd4.jpg

I do vacuum my rig every now and then to "suck away" whatever dust that I can reached.

Yes. My current gfx card design expel hot air outside the casing, so adding fans will not help as much as yours. But I did add fans to blow at my 2 x WD Black 4TB harddisk, it lowers the running temperature by about 12degC.

You should get another table same as the one your have now and put it on top of your current one. Then you can put your casing on top liao.

Mine is something like this :

ndsy6u.jpg

Oh yah, washing the CPF heatsink is most xiong one liao.

i1magic

Hi guys

a day ago CPU overheating issue arised:

When it is in idle state, the temp is at 60-70 deg
with a game on (Diablo 3) , it can go up to 98deg
gpu temp is good at 30-40 deg

Using the Asus Maximus IV Gene Z+ i5 2500k @ 3.3 ghz , overclocked to 4.2ghz
Corsair H80i High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

no issue for the past half year.. has my liquid cooler gone dead? Anyway to confirm this?

thanks!

Looks like got some problem ... somewhere.

haylui

Guys, I was wondering are these temperature alright for idling?

DHnuH24.png

Nowadays my PC keeps on crashing so I thought it might be a overheating issue even when idle.

For your Athlon II x4 idle should be around 40 C (if you're using heatpipe cooler, not stock cooler).
Maybe you can describe how the crash of your PC was and from there maybe could narrow down the cause.

artyboy

I do vacuum my rig every now and then to "suck away" whatever dust that I can reached.

Yes. My current gfx card design expel hot air outside the casing, so adding fans will not help as much as yours. But I did add fans to blow at my 2 x WD Black 4TB harddisk, it lowers the running temperature by about 12degC.

You should get another table same as the one your have now and put it on top of your current one. Then you can put your casing on top liao.

ndsy6u.jpg

The clogged dust is not as bad as it seems. Yes same concept for fans blowing at GPUs or HDDs. The idea of putting side fans to blow at GPUs originated from the time I was using the ATI 4870X2 (the "dustbuster") - it was a hot & noisy sucker! But the fans stayed on after I moved to GTX580s and now the GTX780s. Wah serious bro the bottom table can take the weight of the 2nd table + all the devices? Not usable for my case as my Cosmos S case is really huge and heavy :eek: I have yet to clean my CPU Cooler, never did for my old CM V6 and don't think i'll bother for the current Noctua :D

artyboy

Yes. Get a decent chair .... really seat liao got difference.

Yeah will get a proper chair, this ikea one "no meat", as though stuffing more cheap foam into the backrest is too much to ask from ikea :mad:

royfrosty

not confident in unmounting lol
there are 2 connecting large cables (only one of them felt hot to the touch), is that the norm? But I could still feel some vibrating 'current' on both, just that one is cool and another is hot

If the liquid cooler is working fine, the next likely scenario is the drying up of the thermal compound which needs to be replaced?

Thanks!

Ic. you can feel your pump one tube is hot and the other is normal means it is working. Something else does not allow it to cool well. Could be either the thermal paste dried up. Or possible that your fans are faulty or fans arent running on full speed to cool the radiator.

allhomme

mqQoxu5.png

100% load on GPU & CPU in aircon @ 26deg c. idle temps are <10deg from ambient

4770K - 46x @ 1.45VID, Delidded & lapped
GTX770 - 1306MHz @ 1.212V
Dual custom loop

allhomme

Wow, 1.4v sia... so dangerous...

Nein... 1,451VID + a little bit of PCH & Sys agent.

I trying to see how far I can push this crap piece of 4770K. It survived a near death experience when I left AIDA64 running on adaptive voltage.

So far 48x un-postable no matter the voltage.

i1magic

ndsy6u.jpg

The clogged dust is not as bad as it seems. Yes same concept for fans blowing at GPUs or HDDs. The idea of putting side fans to blow at GPUs originated from the time I was using the ATI 4870X2 (the "dustbuster") - it was a hot & noisy sucker! But the fans stayed on after I moved to GTX580s and now the GTX780s. Wah serious bro the bottom table can take the weight of the 2nd table + all the devices? Not usable for my case as my Cosmos S case is really huge and heavy :eek: I have yet to clean my CPU Cooler, never did for my old CM V6 and don't think i'll bother for the current Noctua :D

Yah. I even tie a fan with those plastic strings and hang it in the air blowing my harddisk.

Yes as long as the wood is about 1 inch thick, can take up to 30kg. But of course, for the heavier stuffs, place it nearer to the edge lah. My rig alone is about 10kg+ liao (my estimate).

So far I've wash my HSF ones only.

artyboy

Yah. I even tie a fan with those plastic strings and hang it in the air blowing my harddisk.

Yes as long as the wood is about 1 inch thick, can take up to 30kg. But of course, for the heavier stuffs, place it nearer to the edge lah. My rig alone is about 10kg+ liao (my estimate).

So far I've wash my HSF ones only.

My rig is definitely more than 10 kg. I used to put it on top of a studier desk but after shifting it's on the floor. Fans itself not much dust, it's the case grilles, but I think it's not as bad as expected.

i1magic

My rig is definitely more than 10 kg. I used to put it on top of a studier desk but after shifting it's on the floor. Fans itself not much dust, it's the case grilles, but I think it's not as bad as expected.

Yes. My rig is also >10kg. Got the standard motherboard, gfx card, big HSF and 4 harddisk and 1 SSD.

After I put the PC on top, I find that it is the best spot if you have space constraint.

artyboy

Yes. My rig is also >10kg. Got the standard motherboard, gfx card, big HSF and 4 harddisk and 1 SSD.

After I put the PC on top, I find that it is the best spot if you have space constraint.

Just saw your idle CPU temps @ 33C at ambient of 29C non-aircon. Not bad for a non-aircon room. No OC for yr Xeon?

crazycow

Guys I need help. Just built a new PC. CPU is i5 4570, on idle the temps are too high. I reseated the HSF and applied thermal paste but temps still the same. i.imgur.com/1XCEFib.png?1[/url]

A2yincor

Guys I need help. Just built a new PC. CPU is i5 4570, on idle the temps are too high. I reseated the HSF and applied thermal paste but temps still the same. i.imgur.com/1XCEFib.png?1[/url]

What case are you using? Have you turned the legs of the stock cooler back 90 degrees after u remove it? can you run a stress test like prime 95 and tell us the tem[?

crazycow

I'm using a Deepcool Tesseract with 2 stock 120mm fans. I have no graphics card as of yet, waiting for it to arrive. I connect my DVI to my mobo, so Im using the i5 graphics processor.

Yes I turned them back 90 deg I followed the instructions on the intel booklet.

I scared to run stresstest as idle temp already high it might be pushed too much

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.