The M - Mixed Development

1993newbie

Based on January 2020 rental caveat.

Marina one 1 bedder rental close to $3.9k on average.

Duo around $3.5k
gRDfoEP.jpg

Uk5OwXp.jpg

Asy1um

Based on January 2020 rental caveat.

Marina one 1 bedder rental close to $3.9k on average.

Duo around $3.5k
gRDfoEP.jpg

Uk5OwXp.jpg

Yes you right, but the thing is both these development have bigger space.
The M 1br, start from 409sqft++, even the highest size is still lower size than Duo/ Marina One.
Not sure, but would a tenant pay the same price for much smaller size?

Looking at the cost of 1br for Marina One and Duo, I confirm chop the owner still need to topup quite abit to breakeven monthly with rental. (Maint fees as well)

daheigou999

Yes you right, but the thing is both these development have bigger space.
The M 1br, start from 409sqft++, even the highest size is still lower size than Duo/ Marina One.
Not sure, but would a tenant pay the same price for much smaller size?

Looking at the cost of 1br for Marina One and Duo, I confirm chop the owner still need to topup quite abit to breakeven monthly with rental. (Maint fees as well)

I agree — As a renter in one of these units, I’ll definitely pay lesser to “downgrade” into M. It is newer yes, but less luxurious with so many units and smelly alleys around

husky.

The location of this condo is really good, went down to showroom to take a look also. But after some consideration, decided not to go ahead as it is still quite pricey 2400+ psf for the studio units and there are a lot of downward pressure in recent months

Im curious, alot of post saying its good for investment, but i tried calculating the rental, definitely it will be lower than Marina One (current listing i see is 3800$ at 689sqft).
So likely these days, you cant break even with the rental (mortgage and maint fees)

If for appreciation, i estimate that if 1br is at 2400$ psf, give or take a 200$psf increase would be breakeven if sell in future, 300$ psf increase would likely ensure profit.
But can it go higher than 2600$? I find it risky, ccr does not seems to have enough room to go with depressed rental rates these days.

So is there any good catch on this condo that i failed to see?

Location is superb indeed.

Not trying to convince u to buy, but just to share my thoughts..anyway u r not buying thru me oso..

The recent transacted prices in Midtown Bay for the 1 bdrm is around $29xx - 33xxpsf( source from 99.co) so even if u enter The M at $25xxpsf, whats your risk level?

Having said tat, due to the recent economic uncertainties pls do ur own due diligence and buy within ur means..

Passerboy

The location of this condo is really good, went down to showroom to take a look also. But after some consideration, decided not to go ahead as it is still quite pricey 2400+ psf for the studio units and there are a lot of downward pressure in recent months

If you are looking to buy the M for investment purpose and rent, it should be a v good buy, as highlighted by many, the psf and quantum terms for a D7 project, the M is v reasonably priced. If you are buying for own stay, it may not be the best option, other projects like Duo residences seems to be better.

Eraval

Location superb, prices low, obviously is buy to rent de, rent until u need cash then sell off. Or even for a young couple with no plans to have kids, this is a good entry price leh

If got money to buy, feels like this is a no lose decision sia.

By the way ah, can ask, why some agents put instant 400k profit? Means what?

Passerboy

I believe this is taking into consideration the comparison made in psf terms to other projects nearby in D7 and the overall quantum for the same unit size. But I doubt it is accurate, since we do not consider other factors like the overall premium of the project.

For example, you won’t expect South Beach Residences to sell at the same price as the M, though they are very near each other.

Eraval

I believe this is taking into consideration the comparison made in psf terms to other projects nearby in D7 and the overall quantum for the same unit size. But I doubt it is accurate, since we do not consider other factors like the overall premium of the project.

For example, you won’t expect South Beach Residences to sell at the same price as the M, though they are very near each other.

Ahhh, understood. Normally would shoot agents for mouthing this kind of things but this one might just be close liao. The projects nearby all considered premium projects with premium pricing de, South Beach, Duo all atas high level de but this M also unlikely to be too far away in terms of quality and stuff. Maybe its exact location abit shady feel but still, literally 2-3 minutes walk to Suntec or Bugis Junction, how bad can it be.

1993newbie

Possibly comparing same unit size between The M and recently launch Midtown Bay.

Starting price for the 409sqft at midtown was $1.388mil while The M 409sqft studio starts from $9xxk/ $1mil for the 1 bedder.

That’s a whopping difference of close to $400k! Furthermore midtown Bay maintenance fee are way way higher as well. But The M maintenance excludes carpark fees. That’s the trade off.

2pRNIAX.jpg

Passerboy

Possibly comparing same unit size between The M and recently launch Midtown Bay.

Starting price for the 409sqft at midtown was $1.388mil while The M 409sqft studio starts from $9xxk/ $1mil for the 1 bedder.

That’s a whopping difference of close to $400k! Furthermore midtown Bay maintenance fee are way way higher as well. But The M maintenance excludes carpark fees. That’s the trade off.

2pRNIAX.jpg

I believe Midtown bay is also a different product from the M, found this review from stacked homes on Midtown Bay, but yes, the price diff is huge too.

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/midtown-bay-review/

1993newbie

Great article! Yea 2 diff product at same location with close to $400k diff. That’s really big diff.

The 409sqft 1 bedder for the M is ideal enough for singles like myself honestly. Corner stack somemore.

Arab st where all the halal cafes/restaurant so near too. Can lepak and walk home. :s13:

I believe Midtown bay is also a different product from the M, found this review from stacked homes on Midtown Bay, but yes, the price diff is huge too.

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/midtown-bay-review/

daheigou999

Great article! Yea 2 diff product at same location with close to $400k diff. That’s really big diff.

The 409sqft 1 bedder for the M is ideal enough for singles like myself honestly. Corner stack somemore.

Arab st where all the halal cafes/restaurant so near too. Can lepak and walk home. :s13:

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/the-m-condo-review-incredible-location-and-rental-potential/

92% siol

Passerboy

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/the-m-condo-review-incredible-location-and-rental-potential/

92% siol

Not surprised, but it also constantly drives to the point for rentability and invest-ability. It is apparent with the lack of carpark lots only 50% of total units.

drummex

don't think the space saving furniture is that good.. if everyday you have to pack that table sure spoil quite fast. other than that its a useful review

daheigou999

don't think the space saving furniture is that good.. if everyday you have to pack that table sure spoil quite fast. other than that its a useful review

I was stopped from shifting the wardrobe in the studio :( was told that it may spoil if everyone else did the same :(

Passerboy

92% siol

There was a comment by the stacked homes to say that reviews of their property rarely go above 90%, and guess what, the other property that stands at 90% is.... Sengkang Grand Residences 90%

So it can be very subjective when it comes to reviews. I personally won’t think the M or SKG is a 90% review, 80-85% in terms of their evaluation criteria maybe.

Doc Madatay

I still wonder and is my main reservation

Those surrounding buildings/shophouse with the same 4.2 plot ratio as the M
If and when they build to 18 stories... the whole project will be like Super squeezed by them on 4 sides.. imagine next building is just 20m away?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.