The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

qhong61

I ended up visiting Optometrist's shop since its more convenient for me. He is very experienced and cleared lots of misconceptions i have had about progressive lens and uncovered things that i should know as well. Probably most shops can prescribe progressive glasses but u definately need someone who is skillful enough to get u the right pair else u may end up with lots of issues like what i experienced b4.
So how much u paid

Full Time Lurker

Hi Specs Vets here,

Am looking for a pair of specs with progressive lens. Would prefer the lens to be durable and scratch-proof as I have only bought my current specs from a year ago and it has many scratches despite caring it to a certain degree. May look into UV protection coating as well. Looking for a specs that can last preferably 5 years. Do not have a preference for specific brand of lens as long it can last, but prefer a cheaper one, don’t mind spending more for better quality though.
Would prefer buying from capitaland mall as I have some vouchers from there. Living at east side. Thanks da lao for the advices in advance.
Hi @GANGSTERKIA @Optometrist any tips or suggestion to where to go?

Modification

Has anyone experienced being unable to adapt to a certain frame design/shape? I have several pairs of spectacles with the exact same prescription but somehow I feel uncomfortable looking at far objects >10m (feels hard to maintain focus and stare at the distant object) or downwards (glancing downwards at the floor while keeping head straight) with 1 specific pair. Have been to the shop several times to adjust the frame but still unable to feel comfortable wearing it (have been trying it for around 3 months without switching).

The bottom most pair is the one that is giving me the mentioned issues, the other 2 are perfectly comfortable and all 3 have the exact same prescription.

First time encountering this issue with at least 5-6 different pairs of glasses from owndays and leskart. Could it be due to nose pad arms positioning? It feels abit more comfortable when I adjust it slightly...

qhong61

Has anyone experienced being unable to adapt to a certain frame design/shape? I have several pairs of spectacles with the exact same prescription but somehow I feel uncomfortable looking at far objects >10m (feels hard to maintain focus and stare at the distant object) or downwards (glancing downwards at the floor while keeping head straight) with 1 specific pair. Have been to the shop several times to adjust the frame but still unable to feel comfortable wearing it (have been trying it for around 3 months without switching).

The bottom most pair is the one that is giving me the mentioned issues, the other 2 are perfectly comfortable and all 3 have the exact same prescription.

First time encountering this issue with at least 5-6 different pairs of glasses from owndays and leskart. Could it be due to nose pad arms positioning? It feels abit more comfortable when I adjust it slightly...

Go for better brand.

Modification

Go for better brand.
Is there any decent brand for around 300? Or it usually starts at 500 or more?

Also is blue light lenses recommended? I use the computer alot (work and games), but I read an article recently that say blue light is not actually harmful for the eyes

qhong61

Is there any decent brand for around 300? Or it usually starts at 500 or more?

Also is blue light lenses recommended? I use the computer alot (work and games), but I read an article recently that say blue light is not actually harmful for the eyes
$300 for just frame?

cyberac

Any bros here tried doing anti fatigue lenses before? Would love to hear your experience after using them and any recommended brands? Any reviewe of Zeiss Smartlife Digital lens, Hoya Sync and Essilor Eyezen?

noinimod

Go to a proper optical shop with qualified optometrists and share your concern. It may be the frame shape and size not matching your eye's position on the face properly. The comfort you're describing is not physical discomfort but your eyes feeling uncomfortable.

For the best optics, the eye should be more or less close to center of the frame. But this is often neglected at the expense of fashion/appearance

Owndays and lenskart in-house lens are bad but it shouldn't be bad to the extent you're describing.

There's too many other possibilities, so it's best to go to another optometrist, bring all the spectacles there and share your concerns

bluecloud

Maybe try Zoff at Orchard Central. Good service. I bought a new pair of glasses at Zoff and also asked them to do the lenses for my Owndays frame. So far so good. My cousin had a similar experience to yours with the lenses at Owndays. Felt dizzy after collecting her glasses (she was ok with her old pair) They tried to rectify it but it was not a great experience for her. She sticks to her neighbourhood optical shop now.

calvinhan

Hi, i got a oakley crosslink fit fitted with varilux Stylist progressive lens recommended by the shop i went to due to the curvature of the lens.

Now when i wear the specs, things look slanted like the phone, laptop etc ( top of the phone look wider than the bottom of the phone). I went to the oakley shop and they told me that it was better to use their progressive lens as their lens are develop accoriding to the curvature of the frame. Is this correct, or is it the fitting of the lens was wrong?

Are there any other brands of lens that will work on my oakley frame?

Seannie

The new Hoya myself profile is out. Anyone knows the difference between this new progressive design versus Hoya mystyle profile?

eedwinn

Hi everyone, I recently bought an Oakley frame and want to fit a pair of prescriptive lenses on it.

When I went to an optical shop, they recommended me to get sports specific lenses that are curved and not the normal “stock” lenses as they said it might bend the frame.
To my horror, the price differential is almost double from what I’ve plan to spend!

I did some research online and some of the sports lenses are:

Zeiss Superb Sport
Hoya Sportive
Crizal Stylistic

Can anyone tell me if the above is true? Should I set my expectation to have a budget of $500 or so for this and any recommended place to get such lenses?

I have a power of ~-6.00 and with astig ~100, and don’t really require blue light nor transitions.

Thanks in advance for all advices!

curiosity_20

Sgd is more resilient than Myr, will slowly strengthen more in years to come. 1-2 years time will be 1SGD = MYR2.70. In a few years time, 1:3

Things are cheap for a reason, usually its inferior quality, old stocks clearance, mass production to bring down costs, use of lower material quality etc. Things are ex also for a reason, superior quality, better QC, warranty, branding or advertising costs etc. But its always better to invest in better quality products with established branding to ensure lasting usage and minimum hassle. For example, u look at brands with long history like kdk fan, they are established since 1909 and are fans specialist; their fans never spoil even after 20 years.

Long established brand like zeiss produces better quality lenses. Where do u think owndays get their Cheap lenses from?

Do not go for eye checks when your eyes are tired. U are going to waste yur $.
One decade Later...

Wow, your prediction is accurate. It's really 1:3 now.

Seannie

One decade Later...

Wow, your prediction is accurate. It's really 1:3 now.

Wa zhun boh. You go and dig my one decade post. Sorry la, maybe i am still young at that time. If i say anything wrong or offend anyone, pls accept my apologies hor.... by the way im not a trollz. Im an old boy now, got bad eyesight nowadays.

Seannie

The higher the level of skills of the optometrist/optician, the better the overall comfort you will experience.
Unfortunately, many new practitioners are selling based on brands/design directly without understanding what clients need or even what they are selling (Just point to the most expensive ones 🫣 & when clients have issues, just point at brand and say brand not good)

Boss, sorry, no chance to visit your shop yet. Hopefully got chance to visit you before yiu retire. Paiseh to say, shops like yours can still survive amidst the numerous fast fashion chains like glimpse, owndays, lenskart etc. Everywhere i go these shops sprout all over the palce and dominate the optical scene in the past few years. Youngsters seem to support them. Thats why can survive. Are they compromising their eyesight? Do these chain shops have the high level skilled optometrists like you mentioned?

Dyvedyve

Hi to all,

Looking for lens with progressive + transition + blue light. For everyday normal use. Been wearing Owndays ones, looking to upgrade.

Just got a Nike 7262, frame is curve. That shop made the Add to +2 instead of Add +1.75, which I found out later. I can't see the steps edges and risk falling. So the lens is wasted, 400 bucks gone.

Kind of short list to Zeiss. As I prefer not to have yellow tint. Shop quoted Zeiss 1.5 lens for $1390, its on their Zeiss catalogue.

Are there any other comparable ones with lower cost? Don't mind getting Zeiss, just looking for your opinions 😉. Many thanks!

R: Sph -1.50, Cyl -1.75, Axis 75, Add +1.75.
L: Sph -1.75, Cyl -1.50, Axis 75, Add +1.75.

leongheng70

Looking for recommendation and advise, am looking for lens with progressive + transition + blue light, for everyday use.
Currently using Hoya progressive lenses, similar to Hoya Dynamic premium .
Last time i spend about $1200 for both frame and glasses, due to budget, looking at ard $700 + frame.

Any recommendation for both shop and lenses , i stay in the north.

jfunkie

I made a pair of progressive specs just about a month ago at a shop near my place. First time wearer of progressives. It was an in-house lens. Have a few questions though:

1) Image on the left with the glasses on is not fully sharp. Originally, I thought that it was me getting used to wearing glasses, but it hasn’t really improved.
2) in the last few days, my left eye seems more tired than the right. I’ve noticed a floater too.
3) what’s the general idea of going back to the same optometrist? Do they fix lenses if it isn’t exactly suitable? Or is it just another charge to make new a new lens? Hindsight (hurhur) says that they weren’t very friendly.
4) I’m off to Japan in a few weeks. Should I think of making a pair with jap branded lenses? Like Hoya or Nikon?

thanks!

qhong61

I made a pair of progressive specs just about a month ago at a shop near my place. First time wearer of progressives. It was an in-house lens. Have a few questions though:

1) Image on the left with the glasses on is not fully sharp. Originally, I thought that it was me getting used to wearing glasses, but it hasn’t really improved.
2) in the last few days, my left eye seems more tired than the right. I’ve noticed a floater too.
3) what’s the general idea of going back to the same optometrist? Do they fix lenses if it isn’t exactly suitable? Or is it just another charge to make new a new lens? Hindsight (hurhur) says that they weren’t very friendly.
4) I’m off to Japan in a few weeks. Should I think of making a pair with jap branded lenses? Like Hoya or Nikon?

thanks!
How much u paid

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.