The Wallet Thread

iV3RsOn

both wallets are nice man imho. not too flashy & all. (simple man like me can't pull off monogram designs)

LV Taiga would prolly last longer, my LV Damier built like a fuggin' tank/built for battle lol. Can't really comment on the Taiga since I don't have one, but personally, I would feel that for a more solid, perhaps 'longer' lasting wallet with more milage and a sturdy feel go for the LV.

On the other hand, BV for the 'leathery' feel/touch. I've bought the BV Signature Intrecciato Weave Calfskin Leather with coins compartment (same as Mr. Fabian's but brack color lol, i'm a coins guy. MEH), so far so good, lovin' the touch & all, quite shiok. (2 days using the BV lol - thanks guys for the kind recommendations, comments & all, appreciate it). Pretty solid, sturdy wallet I would say, but personally, I don't think that the BV would give 'more milage' & handle wear & tear better than the Taiga, since the entire exterior is woven. I've seen this dude's BV entire exterior peeling off after 5 years of usage, but then again, you prolly wouldn't be using the same wallet for a good 5 year, so fug it, just hoot it. If fuggin' BV leather exterior peels off, and you like the BV, just hoot another 1.

Personally, I don't think that the BV could 'tahan/tank' damage better than the Taiga, but all in all, I would still say that it's a pretty solid & decent wallet. The nappa/lambskin BV though, would have a softer feel & most probably thinner & lighter than the calfskin BV.

netz

Npnt lah!!!!

chromehead

yup.

there are also custom options or stuff that might not haven been updated onto the site, just contact Phil Kalas through email.
very helpful and nice guy.

their stuff are machine stitched though, if it matters to you

The 3rd wallet which looks abit maroon is attracting me....
They use toughened calf leather??? Or horseskin???

Happen to come across their "Johnny the fox -Limited Edition"
Their red n blue... OMG :eek:

shell cordovan is specifically horse's ass leather from the horween factory. usually stuff made from these will have that chop on the flesh side or a hot stamp as signature

cordovan in broad sense can refer to general horse leather, or the umbiquous #8 shell cordovan colour

proper 1 piece shell belts are expensive because they hardly come processed in a single piece, typically 2 separate butt cheeks without the connecting center strip. if they are 'reasonably' priced, they could have been glued/cemented together somewhere in between.
those long shell nato straps vs the normal 2 pc shell straps is typically pricey also because of that reason.

this page here can see a seasoned iirc, #2 ruby shell
Dark Green Shell Cordovan Wallet / Genuine Horween Products

for seasoned #8 shell you can easily browse through tons of them in the form of shoes from AE, Aldens etc.

i would describe #8 as very deep burgundy purple with reddish-brown undertones. it looks matte when fresh out of box, with use it will pick up a subtle sheen. i suppose most shells have this subtle 'depth' of colours akin to Urushi (multi-layered lacquering) pens in Heki-tamenuri color. but definitely not that glossy!

according to their FB, they are doing black friday promo too. wahahha sounds like im promoting them too much

Seannie

775021_10151912973902935_417423431_o.jpg

all for less than 500 lol

Wah v glossy leh! For partying use? I dont dare use scared tio robbed.

cybercom8

Wah ketupat wallet so popular here...I must get 1 after my current wallet gives way...

cybercom8

this wallet nice and simple...got 8 cc slots...but waiting for a nicer darker colour

065694CAAA.jpg

cybercom8

Hermes reh...of coz naise.

:( :o :(

yeah, but in front no brand stated...plain and inconspicuous :o

065694CAAA.jpg

if only they have black or a darker shade of this...anyone who happens to see other colours on their website, please sic

netzach

the hermes wallet looks hell good man. but price also gao lat gao lat. :s22::s22:

cybercom8

the hermes wallet looks hell good man. but price also gao lat gao lat. :s22::s22:

yeah but just a few hundreds $ more than some of the other wallets featured here so might be a worthwhile buy. my last prata wallet lasted many years before it gave way...

netzach

yeah but just a few hundreds $ more than some of the other wallets featured here so might be a worthwhile buy. my last prata wallet lasted many years before it gave way...

how much would that Hermes wallet cost btw? :o:o

Tudo88

How much is ketaput retailing in SG now ah?my lv damier last for 2 years plus,still going strong.but see the ketaput,feel damm gian @@

netzach

US$820 from hermes usa. maybe less from other countries due to forex rates.

icic. that's a cool 1 grand excluding taxes/shipping fees.
hmm. can consider as next purchase after ketupat but really kinda plain though the Hermes wallet, gotta check out the quality too. :o:o

patryn33

there are also custom options or stuff that might not haven been updated onto the site, just contact Phil Kalas through email.
very helpful and nice guy.

their stuff are machine stitched though, if it matters to you

I often visit Chicago but he doesn't have a place to show case his stuff have to stores which carries his products

No issue with machine stitch, ppl here buy Burberry, Prada, Hermes all machine stitch and need to pay 2-4x the price for a quality leather.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.