The Watch Thread - Part 10

gaoxing84

LOL! but if she really not into watches then 勉强是不会有“幸福”的...:s13:

don't need her to go siao like us, but appreciate it i am happy liao.

hey at least she wore the watches i got for her.

swatch, orient disk and now this.

slowly. i am happy that she now can differentiate between most of the rolex sports model. :s13:

Lurker_13

don't need her to go siao like us, but appreciate it i am happy liao.

hey at least she wore the watches i got for her.

swatch, orient disk and now this.

slowly. i am happy that she now can differentiate between most of the rolex sports model. :s13:

wah! 名师出高徒 wor! Goodo!:D

slow_mo

Nomos Club Datum - surprise gift for my gf as this will suit her lifestyle more than a rolex can.
i myself tempted already. buttery smooth winding and awesome sapphire caseback to feature the in-house movement. sweet sweet cordovan leather strap!
IMG_9645_zpst4lttyda.jpg

IMG_9649_zpslgdg30bd.jpg

Such a sexciting gift!!!

cichlid

The few watches that I have, minus the OS300 which hopefully have reached Japan for servicing.
27773411074_b4c42b52fe_k.jpg

Henabi

depends on what is being offered
box and papers in?

to be honest, you can't put a price on a vintage piece.
it can only be valued at what you're looking for.

you want a 6263 full box and papers - prepare to pay 6 figure.

you want glit printed sub - 5 figure anytime to 6 figure

really depends what you're looking for.

the condition of them looks good but beware, some dial or hands might be serviced dial and hands.

because usually put in the dark and kept it mint for too long, patina would have formed considering the age of the watch.

for instance,
$100,000 for big crown sub (such condition)
are you willing to pay? because this don't come easily.
http://www.lunaroyster.com/watches/1958-rolex-submariner-5510-big-crown
IMG_1396.jpg

debate? how?

like is it worth spending that kind of money or?

:s11:

Not familiar with vintage rolexes.

Are these chop carrot prices?

gGXdr

Gx listed down a few very good points when it comes to vintage watches.

people understand and appreciate vintage watches would wait for that ONE vintage watch whereby to them, it's worth paying 20k, 50k, 100k or more for it...

But to some watch lovers here who don't understand it... might think "That's crazy! This fellow just spent 100k on this thing?!"

There are other vintage rolex watches which command crazy prices, example: Rolex comex submariner, Rolex Red Submariner, Rolex submariner 5513... it's very normal for these to command 50k in the vintage watcheck market, even if it's just the watch

Maybe you have not come across a vintage watch which makes you tick... once you do, there's no way to stop it.

Same for me, I'm not too really into vintage watches and many a times I can't comprehend why an old watch can command such a high premium...

Maybe one day I will... maybe I may not

But I do know that I have a thing for Tudor sub and mini sub. I did once came acRoss a tudor mini sub in bencoolen but the watch was in a pretty bad condition

After doing more research on the possible cost to restore it to workable condition... I feel it's not worth it at all...

Henabi

Nomos Club Datum - surprise gift for my gf as this will suit her lifestyle more than a rolex can.
i myself tempted already. buttery smooth winding and awesome sapphire caseback to feature the in-house movement. sweet sweet cordovan leather strap!

IMG_9645_zpst4lttyda.jpg

IMG_9649_zpslgdg30bd.jpg

Ahhhhh... I'm sure she will cherish this very much :) and create loads of wonderful memories

gaoxing84

Very easy - no money no talk....
But you got money, so also very easy... Hoot hoot hoot

where's your oris 65? lol

Ah! Ok la, Club is not that uncommon.. Of course less common than the more signature pieces. Still nice though! Great price too, grats. :) Your gf will definitely enjoy the piece I'm sure.

yea, some people say its high end timex. jin sad hahaha
thank you!

Henabi

Doesn't matter... sometimes being a less popular model also means one thing:
It will be rare to see another piece in Singapore. So in a way it's unique

gaoxing84

Gx listed down a few very good points when it comes to vintage watches.

people understand and appreciate vintage watches would wait for that ONE vintage watch whereby to them, it's worth paying 20k, 50k, 100k or more for it...

But to some watch lovers here who don't understand it... might think "That's crazy! This fellow just spent 100k on this thing?!"

There are other vintage rolex watches which command crazy prices, example: Rolex comex submariner, Rolex Red Submariner, Rolex submariner 5513... it's very normal for these to command 50k in the vintage watcheck market, even if it's just the watch

Maybe you have not come across a vintage watch which makes you tick... once you do, there's no way to stop it.

Same for me, I'm not too really into vintage watches and many a times I can't comprehend why an old watch can command such a high premium...

Maybe one day I will... maybe I may not

But I do know that I have a thing for Tudor sub and mini sub. I did once came acRoss a tudor mini sub in bencoolen but the watch was in a pretty bad condition

After doing more research on the possible cost to restore it to workable condition... I feel it's not worth it at all...

don't ever rework a vintage piece cosmetically, it will remove the entire feel for it.

service internals ok. the rest keep it as it is.

some people can't comprehend that's fine. hell there are people who can't comprehend spending more than $100 for a watch. but its definitely a conversation starter for those who are into it

like today go deal someone, he say wah swee that sub. he's wearing a deepsea himself.

;)

Ahhhhh... I'm sure she will cherish this very much :) and create loads of wonderful memories

thank you ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.