The Watch Thread - Part 5

wwarrior

The seiko skx divers... Creation no have them in oyster bracelets leh :(

jubilee bracelet isn't that bad either :)
worn my skx007 for around 3 weeks now, so far so good. it runs 30 seconds slower than the actual time though... is this good or bad?

yattokame

The watches i have in my winder.
They either have day+date; or have a screw down crown. The others I leave them in the watchbox because they are relatively easier to set.

gaoxing84

so by definition a homage is an authentic watch ? still blurred lines for me after all these years.

Homage and fake is a very fine line.

Homage is having similar design but branded as something else. It can be exactly the same or some differences but it will not bear the same name as the original.

Fake is a exact copy and passing off as a real one. Everything is exactly the same. Even the branding.

kiosai

So after education from our esteemed brothers..

OrientampPPlogo_zps3ac8b67e.jpg

orient_bambinowithVClogo_zpse5dd3580.jpg

R the above replicas/pirated, homages/tributes or mods leh?

no wonder someone is confused.. whahaha..

The above was juz an internal joke a few weeks back at the height of the Bambino poison..

Modding to FFFs, BBs or PMMMs, is toeing the line, some may find it offensive.

But as long as it is not meant to confuse or cheat ppl to part with $20K for a Seiko that has Five more fathoms, it's not illegal..

On the other hand, Blancpain obviously didn't make $600 watches that they usually sold at $20,000 and a lesser expert could had been cheated of his/her money if not careful..

PingJun

Good evening everyone.

I have been reading the watch thread (from part 1 since don't how many years ago until today's part 5).

I like the discussion here, and would like to join in as well (but my watches are not the expensive types as compared in here.

kwaychapy

Good evening everyone.

I have been reading the watch thread (from part 1 since don't how many years ago until today's part 5).

I like the discussion here, and would like to join in as well (but my watches are not the expensive types as compared in here.

welcome to the forum - your journey starts here!

yattokame

So after education from our esteemed brothers..

OrientampPPlogo_zps3ac8b67e.jpg

orient_bambinowithVClogo_zpse5dd3580.jpg

R the above replicas/pirated, homages/tributes or mods leh?

no wonder someone is confused.. whahaha..

The above was juz an internal joke a few weeks back at the height of the Bambino poison..

Modding to FFFs, BBs or PMMMs, is toeing the line, some may find it offensive.

But as long as it is not meant to confuse or cheat ppl to part with $20K for a Seiko that has Five more fathoms, it's not illegal..

Ya man that was hilarious!
Especially after posting on FB and all the likes and comments we got were classic!

kwaychapy

seeking advice from seiko bros,

For Seiko SNZF17, is it better to get the jubilee version (got MIJ and non MIJ version) or the usual J version?

from skywatches site, i see the difference is in the bracelet. pricing wise is couple of dollars for the MIJ version.

Your views, pls. Thank you.

yattokame

Good evening everyone.

We dont care about the price lah. We have an entire spectrum. I also kena poisoned by casio and seiko and orient deep deep here hahahaha.....

Just no fakes pls. :)

Denieru82

Homage = can be same design but not trying to bluff people..

Fake = highly look alike and out to cheat people..

No money buy real thing is OK, we understand u still love the design of the particular watch that's why u buy a homage.. But in no means trying to cheat people or act rich with it..

Fake on the other hand is trying to bluff people and most of the times or trying to act rich when u r not..

A bit straight forward so we dun go in circle with the discussion..

My 2cents.. Hehe.. :D

rachdanon

We dont care about the price lah. We have an entire spectrum. I also kena poisoned by casio and seiko and orient deep deep here hahahaha.....

I don't care about price too but somehow the watches that I like are getting more and more expensive :s22: but I still console myself that I am brand-impartial and put design and quality first :D

yattokame

I don't care about price too but somehow the watches that I like are getting more and more expensive :s22: but I still console myself that I am brand-impartial and put design and quality first :D

Oh what I meant was we dun care if u have a cheap or exp watch. Like watches, chat here can liao.
Yes watches are getting more exp. sigh.

Oceania

Yatto-san! Didn't expect a brand ***** to take an alternate path :s13::D=:p

Denieru82

So true.. I started off the forum by getting very inspired by dai kor dai, dai dai kor and underwear.. So into expensive watches.. And then awhile more kanna poison by modded Seiko.. It just some how feels like u have customised the watch to your own liking.. It feels as if u made the watch yourself..

Conclusion, really is not about the price rather, the bonding u build up with your love watch (like a 2nd wife).. :D

slow_mo

Good evening everyone.

Just enjoy yourself here. We are all here cos we love watches!

Denieru82

Good evening everyone.

Welcome and just an advice from the start of your joining..

Please do not think that people r ignoring your question just because they do this PIC below whenever u ask a question:

DRTrHlp.jpg

:D

PingJun

Now I have some problems.

1. I have looked at previous posts on Orient Bambino and must admit that have started to like the white face with rose gold version. Got the poison from here.

2. Now I am also hooked on Seiko skx watch, both skx 007 and 009.

I keep thinking whether should I buy the watch or don't buy the watch.

Before you all post the " hoot 1st talk later " pictures , I must say that I have bought orient bambino black face with rose gold version and Seiko skx 011 in January 2013. So unsure whether to buy same watch but in different colour. Sigh.....

slow_mo

Now I have some problems.

1. I have looked at previous posts on Orient Bambino and must admit that have started to like the white face with rose gold version. Got the poison from here.

2. Now I am also hooked on Seiko skx watch, both skx 007 and 009.

I keep thinking whether should I buy the watch or don't buy the watch.

Before you all post the " hoot 1st talk later " pictures , I must say that I have bought orient bambino black face with rose gold version and Seiko skx 011 in January 2013. So unsure whether to buy same watch but in different colour. Sigh.....

Well, if you really like the design and you have the $$$, why not?! Unless you have something else in mind and need to save up.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.