The Watch Thread - Part 8

likehotbutter

Going to purchase 3777, seem like here quite less ppl own iwc... Dunno why?

Hmmm IWC...

If you're a buyer concerned about resale/Value retention, then its not optimal

If you're a movement freak, then nothing to shout about. Typical modified ETA/Valjoux stuff. In-house stuff nothing technical to get excited about, also based off the usual same same.

If you're a heritage/provenance person, then its pretty messed up. No heed paid by the owners in order to drive sales with "new" models. Good example is the Pilot range. Big Pilot is a Frankenwatch in terms of design provenance, a crude, monstrosity of what was their heritage RAF MK V and Luftwaffe Flieger A models. All disregarded all for the sake of "modernity".

But well, there's the swag/bling factor going for it. And of course people who like the Brand because IWC.

P.S Just my humble opinions. YMMV.

coern

29w7mt4.jpg

Speedy and reduced? Which do you prefer?

Donten

I was at Seiko JEM yesterday just browsing (and fell in love with the Sumo :( ) and I noticed that the mm300 is not on display, but the limited ed SBDX012 is. At first I was surprised but then I released that the SBDX001 has been phased out while they probably haven't had stock for SBDX017 yet.

Although I'm not planning to get a mm300, but just a thought experiment: Will it be better to get the SBDX001 now (maybe cheaper if shops are trying to clear stock now) or will you wait for the SBDX017 to be in stock and for the price to hit a more reasonable street price rather than pay MSRP for it?
Wait. Diashield plus I'm a sucker for lume which the 17 version have a improved version of.

xuan87

Wait. Diashield plus I'm a sucker for lume which the 17 version have a improved version of.

I would prefer the case to be made entirely out of Diashield instead of just Diashield plated but that will undoubtedly drive the price up.

The 17 does have a few notable improvements, besides the Diashield plating and better lume, the movement parts have undergone the MEMS treatment similar to GS.

All in all, it will be interesting to see where the street price of the 017 ends up at.

DaBenDan

Hmmm IWC...

If you're a movement freak, then nothing to shout about. Typical modified ETA/Valjoux stuff. In-house stuff nothing technical to get excited about, also based off the usual same same.

If you're a heritage/provenance person, then its pretty messed up. No heed paid by the owners in order to drive sales with "new" models. Good example is the Pilot range. Big Pilot is a Frankenwatch in terms of design provenance, a crude, monstrosity of what was their heritage RAF MK V and Luftwaffe Flieger A models. All disregarded all for the sake of "modernity".

But well, there's the swag/bling factor going for it. And of course people who like the Brand because IWC.

For IWC, you pay for the brand and in way, exclusivity and "hand-made" factor, since their production numbers are way smaller compared to brands like Rolex, Omega, whose production lines are basically fully automated, aka mass production.

Watches appeal differently to different people, that's all.

chows99

Speedy and reduced? Which do you prefer?

Hi all. Anyone heard of the global elady store selling pre owned omega watches? It's also on eBay. Thot of buying the newer gen omega speedmaster reduced 3539.50. If anyone can share their views, I will be happy to listen. Thanks.

hwaa

mai stir. your company how many lorries already?
PSA your di pan.

all above is say song. is aim/wish list.
no aim no direction in life leh.

and you see the list go downwards in price

Rolex > mm300 > BBB > u1

lol 5 to 4 figure.

if only i lich, can hoot all. but too bad buay sai. :(:(

hmm. mm300 holds the value more den the U1.

likehotbutter

Precisely the point. That is why there is a minimum of four perspectives in my post. :s13:

Like many have reiterated and elsewhere, the simple steps that one only has to decide when buying a watch to justify a certain Brand.

Is it for time keeping?

Is it for a connoisseur's collection/appreciation and thus reflective of some technical or historical provenance?

Or is it as a piece of Jewellery, where bling and where the layman's recognition is of the utmost priority.

However....

For IWC, you pay for the brand

100% agree

exclusivity and "hand-made" factor

Not so much.

hwaa

Still prefer Bencoolen.

Prices in mustafa are so called gst absorbed but cannot reduce further, cannot bargain.

Go bencoolen can bargain for better price

but mustafa price u can pay in all sorts of payment, including 12, 24, 36 mths installment. :s13::s13:

bencoolen negotiated down usually best price pay by cash.

chickenbackside

For IWC, you pay for the brand and in way, exclusivity and "hand-made" factor, since their production numbers are way smaller compared to brands like Rolex, Omega, whose production lines are basically fully automated, aka mass production.

I highly doubt an IWC is any more "hand made" than Rolex or Omega.

Personally, I find IWC a boring uninspiring brand. Mediocre all the way through.

But that's just me...

DaBenDan

Precisely the point. That is why there is a minimum of four perspectives in my post. :s13:

Like many have reiterated and elsewhere, the simple steps that one only has to decide when buying a watch to justify a certain Brand.

Is it for time keeping?

Is it for a connoisseur's collection/appreciation and thus reflective of some technical or historical provenance?

Or is it as a piece of Jewellery, where bling and where the layman's recognition is of the utmost priority.

However....

100% agree

Not so much.

Well, at least, the definition of exclusiveness by production numbers work for me. AP, PP, VC, JLC and IWC have similar numbers. Numbers for Rolex and Omega are in the likes of Breitling and Tissot. Go figure.

estrangable

real story: when chinese revealed their tourbillion at an international watch show, the swiss were shocked. they even tried getting an injunction but failed, because the chinese tourbillion had some original design elements.

I got the flying tourbillion 7 years ago for 400 USD...the "real" swiss starts at 10K USD. It's a lovely watch esp the movement. See below

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNVIy6V4sPs

HOWEVER.... it isn't really accurate after a couple of years... it loses 5 to 10 mins per day.

Any idea where I can bring it to servicing...reasonable charges?

Henabi

but mustafa price u can pay in all sorts of payment, including 12, 24, 36 mths installment. :s13::s13:

bencoolen negotiated down usually best price pay by cash.

hwaa gor gor... $300 only :s22: bencoolen better. plus, iirc use NETS can get 2% rebate :D

a562140

I got the flying tourbillion 7 years ago for 400 USD...the "real" swiss starts at 10K USD. It's a lovely watch esp the movement. See below

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNVIy6V4sPs

HOWEVER.... it isn't really accurate after a couple of years... it loses 5 to 10 mins per day.

Any idea where I can bring it to servicing...reasonable charges?

yeah i think the swiss were pissed off by how cheap the chinese can make the tourbillions. so its not real technology and advancement that the swiss claim.

as far as I know for regulation it needs to go back to its maker :( Do you know where the movement is from ?

a562140

Hmmm IWC...

But thats IWC - it started out as a microbrand, founder was American but moved operations to Switzerland...its a case study of enterprise and innovation.

AP ROOs distinctive sport watches are also not AP but more a contract designer piece of work - Gerald Genta who could have sold that design to the higher bidder. Only the manufacturing/assembly truly has historical roots.

Panerai - dead brand revived... and the list goes on.

Not saying that you are wrong about Provenance and history for IWC, but the whole watch industry is rife with exotic folklore and marketing, than real honest craftsmanship these days.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.