The Watch Thread - Part 8

likehotbutter

AP, PP, VC, JLC and IWC have similar numbers. Numbers for Rolex and Omega are in the likes of Breitling and Tissot. Go figure.

No offence but comparing IWC to JLC, VC, AP, PP:)eek:) merely on the merit of serial numbers....

Seems like exclusivity for exclusivity's sake if you don't mind me saying.

xuan87

Like this what brand would you recommend within this price range?
I have Longines hydroconquest, looking to buy one more watch for daily exchange.

Nothing like a Seiko for a daily beater.... but that's just me ;)

furryballs

That means my Seiko 5 which I bought for 180 can be sold for more than 200?!?!?!

Joking right?!

I don't agree with your theory solely based on selling just 3 watches...

If the sumo you sold was JDM and not easily available anywhere elsewhere, then it's logical that the buyer may pay more for something which was exclusively meant for Japan market.

Similarly... if the omega SMPO or Rolex SD was a model exclusively sold in certain areas. Or example the SG50 jlc reverso, it would probably fetch a much higher price in America or Europe with diehard JLC watch collectors

Plus... people flip for gains not lost.
Haha dun get me wrong. I was sharing how my experience was counter-intuitive of many buyers' believes that rolex is good for investment. My view is simple, dun mix hobbies with money making, it doesn't work out most of the time. Even if you want to minimize loss, rolex isn't a silver bullet - you gotta look at how rare the watch is, and how cheap you can get it at... for my case Seiko made more money sense than rolex.

Shyn85

Even if you want to minimize loss, rolex isn't a silver bullet - you gotta look at how rare the watch is, and how cheap you can get it at...

Totally agree. That's why I'm not looking for the resale value, just trying to find pay same amount which one is better and worth it

likehotbutter

But thats IWC - it started out as a microbrand, founder was American but moved operations to Switzerland...its a case study of enterprise and innovation.

Well they were mostly contract/instrument makers. Alot like Panerai.

Thing is,you cant really compare the IWC of now and the IWC of then, both in purpose and direction.

IWC had heritage handed to them. Aside from the Portuguese (also a contract), they were the few select original makers of British and German military Aviator watches. Significant enough that they still proclaim their aviator heritage as a major marketing point.

However, it's how one builds on and appreciates their heritage that really sets the big league lads apart from the boy toys. IWC really tossed that one out of the window with how they decided to greedily leverage off both heritage by mashing both aesthetics into a franken-watch.

The Aviator Watch company with a "modern" Pilot that has little to nothing in common to whatever design elements that made the originals so famous. :s22:

Panerai - dead brand revived... and the list goes on.

Tbh same same, another House awarded an iconic contract, who got bought over and trying to break into the Haute world. Technical wise also same same.

But I'll give it to Panerai for sticking to the basic design aesthetics that made them so distinctive. And their basic line is not too bad and pretty in line with their heritage. Its really mostly their attempts at Higher-end offerings that get people's knickers in a knot. :s13:

P.S My Humble Opinion. YMMV

Shyn85

IMO look at Nomos

Nomos too dressy. But may I know why you recommend Nomos? Just want know how you analyze this brand. From what I know Nomos is Germany brand except movement polish style, movement base is modified by ETA base. And the movement tech. is difference story compare to Glashutte Original, to me slightly over price.

xuan87

Seiko is not my cup of tea... Paiseh

I'm looking to get a UHR early next year, low priced swiss movement watch.

I find Steinhart watches to offer very good value but nothing affordable from them really jumped out at me right now. Maybe a OVM in DLC will......

estrangable

buy the watch you like and "speaks" to you...not because of its resale value. You wont make any money from watches, at least not in the short, medium term....you need to wait for decades. Unless of cos you get your watches at a really special price. For instance, LVMH staff can get their watches at 60% off in year end...same as richemont staff or luxury retail stores. These purchases come with a clause that you cannot sell it away and its only for personal use.

estrangable

yeah i think the swiss were pissed off by how cheap the chinese can make the tourbillions. so its not real technology and advancement that the swiss claim.

as far as I know for regulation it needs to go back to its maker :( Do you know where the movement is from ?

absolutely no idea where the movement is from... no way I can just send it to any watch shop for maintenance?

Ed.YEO

I'm looking to get a UHR early next year, low priced swiss movement watch.

I find Steinhart watches to offer very good value but nothing affordable from them really jumped out at me right now. Maybe a OVM in DLC will......
除了UHR与STEINHART之外,你也可看看ROLAND KEMMNER的产品。。。你可知道TimeFactors的一些表款是由Kemmner代工的?
要买UHR的表,打铁要趁热。自欧元与瑞士法郎停止挂钩之后,机芯涨价。STEINHART,KEMMNER的表就涨了大概两次,而UHR只是上了一次。
还有。。。你就要有心理准备随时会“撞表”。

Ed.YEO

absolutely no idea where the movement is from... no way I can just send it to any watch shop for maintenance?
别费心机了,师兄。
你那陀飞轮表的机芯不是海鸥制的,甚至也不是海鸥工程设计,别厂代工。
像这样平价的陀飞轮,如果不是杭州芯,就是香港PTS公司,大陆制造的产品。本地是很~~~难,找到能够整修的师傅的。。。

likehotbutter

Nomos too dressy. But may I know why you recommend Nomos? Just want know how you analyze this brand. From what I know Nomos is Germany brand except movement polish style, movement base is modified by ETA base. And the movement tech. is difference story compare to Glashutte Original, to me slightly over price.

In my opinion.

Movement innovation wise pretty much average. (Everyone works off the basic ETA/Valjoux design anyway). However, their technical excellence comes from been able build almost everything in-house even though they are such a small company which is no small feat.

IIRC, they even now produce their own hair-spring! Which is a serious serious technical feat. Most people (inlc IWC) buy from Nivarox. Mostly it is the industrial giants like Seiko/Rolex who are able to have the technical R&D to do this in-house. Nomos partnered with a University to do this.

Finish wise is beautiful. They have a clear direction, with clear goals and a very defined aesthetic (Bauhaus).

All at a price that is remarkably low (relative to comparable offerings elsewhere).

You will find it hard to find someone (knowing watches) who does not have a good thing to say about Nomos. Even Dufour praises them :s13:

P.S The Club, Metro, Minimatik on a Nato is pretty sporty imo

mozzozo

TYTV2MZl.jpg

At the gardens!

Sent from dark side of the moon using GAGT

estrangable

别费心机了,师兄。
你那陀飞轮表的机芯不是海鸥制的,甚至也不是海鸥工程设计,别厂代工。
像这样平价的陀飞轮,如果不是杭州芯,就是香港PTS公司,大陆制造的产品。本地是很~~~难,找到能够整修的师傅的。。。

damn....so it means I can just dump it liao... 400 USD amortized over a period of 7 years.

estrangable

How much is a nomos watch BTW? I saw it in paragon once...pretty sweet looking

Ed.YEO

先别气馁。。。别丢掉先。
除了大陆之外,平价陀飞轮市场最大的,也就只有香港了。
将你的陀飞轮照片放上WUS中国表版论坛,再向那里的会员询问香港,大陆两地哪里有得修,记下地址,下次公干再带去修就行了。或者等。。。

Ed.YEO

Totally agree. That's why I'm not looking for the resale value, just trying to find pay same amount which one is better and worth it
如果不是专注在转手价的话,把钱花在工艺上吧!
像浪琴就有两款值得买来收,买来用,买来玩。

1,单钮计时机芯。
Longines-Pulsometer-Chronograph-1.jpg

2,Retrograde Moonphase
20556_l27384716_5.jpg

这两样机芯是你在市场上极少看见的,由于不是高量制造,别的品牌完全是没机会用的。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.