Abang, no need to paiseh lah. Stride in like you own the place. Learn some watch knowledge so you're savvy to a salesman's bullsh!t.
Why ask price? To know if cheap enough to pull the trigger. Also to bargain lah! If you already know what you want, the first thing you ask will be the price. No need to waste yours or the salesman time.
Fact 1.
You are the potential customer. Whether a sale is made is up to the salesman, not you. If you don't like his attitude, remind him that he earns on commission & bring your biz elsewhere. What more with the choice of online shopping now. Buy also must song mah!
Fact 2.
Most customers earn more than the average salesman. Those with the jacket & tie, branded belt, wallet, shoes & watch may be so maxed out servicing their credit card debt that their branded wallets are always empty. All show. No go.
Fact 3.
The most shabby customer is usually loaded enough without dressing to impress. Others around dress to impress them instead. Towkays in slippers buy Merc on the spot, no loan needed. Abramovich with his white coffeeshop ah pek T-shirt, jeans ... and a Richard Mille on his wrist, lol!
Hahaha good point.. I'm scouting around for a replacement of my 7yr old seamaster.. The search continues....