The Watch Thread - Part 8

shahir

Abang, no need to paiseh lah. Stride in like you own the place. Learn some watch knowledge so you're savvy to a salesman's bullsh!t.

Why ask price? To know if cheap enough to pull the trigger. Also to bargain lah! If you already know what you want, the first thing you ask will be the price. No need to waste yours or the salesman time.

Fact 1.
You are the potential customer. Whether a sale is made is up to the salesman, not you. If you don't like his attitude, remind him that he earns on commission & bring your biz elsewhere. What more with the choice of online shopping now. Buy also must song mah!

Fact 2.
Most customers earn more than the average salesman. Those with the jacket & tie, branded belt, wallet, shoes & watch may be so maxed out servicing their credit card debt that their branded wallets are always empty. All show. No go.

Fact 3.
The most shabby customer is usually loaded enough without dressing to impress. Others around dress to impress them instead. Towkays in slippers buy Merc on the spot, no loan needed. Abramovich with his white coffeeshop ah pek T-shirt, jeans ... and a Richard Mille on his wrist, lol!

Hahaha good point.. I'm scouting around for a replacement of my 7yr old seamaster.. The search continues....

patryn33

there are quite a few watch shops in bencoolen, selling brand new watches, 2nd-hand watches, vintage watches...
No one says anything about getting current omega watches at 600.
key word: VINTAGE.

Not many young ppl wears vintage watch as a beater.
Vintage omega generally smaller at 34mm, today it's kinda small with ladies in the 20s
http://lu-ann.com/product-category/watches/vintage/?orderby=price&doing_wp_cron=1439946522.5448040962219238281250

Henabi

Not many young ppl wears vintage watch as a beater.
Vintage omega generally smaller at 34mm, today it's kinda small with ladies in the 20s
http://lu-ann.com/product-category/watches/vintage/?orderby=price&doing_wp_cron=1439946522.5448040962219238281250

I remembered that i once saw an omega vintage deville quartz ladies 18k gold at bencoolen... it was going for only 500. I didn't buy it cuz my lady don't like it

Not sure of the shop name. It was a small corner shop tugged between two jewellery shops.

But I rememberer the shop has alot of vintage seikos, citizens. Other vintage watches and also the rare tudor submariner

Henabi

guys..i don't normally enter a watch boutique not knowing the price.. a bit paiseh lah asking for price and then decided not to buy coz I don't have enough cash.. so am asking if anyone knows the price of "TISSOT T-RACE MOTOGP 2015 Automatic Chronograph" http://www.tissot.ch/en-US/products/tissot-t-race-motogp-2015/T0924272706100.html

thanks in advance guys..

That's one futuristic looking watch!

Don't worry about walking in to ask pricing.
In retail line, it's normal for 8 outta customers to ask pricing without buying.

Sometimes discounts are only revealed to you if you ask ^.^

slow_mo

I will ask the price of the watch if I intend to buy. I may try other watches even if I have no intention to buy. The job of the sales person is to entice you to buy. If you don't try, you won't buy. If you try it, there's a chance that you will love it and buy it!!!

Here's my watch (my wife's actually) for the day.

Donten

ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Hotdogs bought and candle lit, with this chant I summon Yatto ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ

ultragt

Hi all!

I just want find out from any of you experts out there to help me identify this particular watch?

Sorry for the small pic :o

1znpnk3.jpg

ultragt

Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Offshore

Wow, thanks!!

I'm not really into watches myself and have been looking around. But this one caught did my eye and is something that I have in mind, looks tough and rugged kind...but most probably not within my budget lol.

What would be the typical price range?

greatpoke

Wow, thanks!!

I'm not really into watches myself and have been looking around. But this one caught did my eye and is something that I have in mind, looks tough and rugged kind...but most probably not within my budget lol.

There was once I saw 15k. But that was only once, not sure about condition. Should be 18k and up.

Novelty77

Wow, thanks!!

Looks like Shaq special edition ROO.

Just my 2 cents and this is what I usually do. There are quite a few local pre-own watch shop that has their own website that features their products & price. Sometimes there are also BNIB as well. That can be a good gauge on the prices of these watch and boutiques prices are abt 20% more.

If u're not sure whether u're getting ripped off, u can always google and see what other overseas shops are offering. Don't be lazy and do your homework on the watch you're intending to buy esp. if you feel that its an expensive buy.

There are many watches that looks tough and rugged at a fraction of the price. Just refer to past watch thread part 1-7 for inspirations.

Novelty77

Seems not that far off in price other than time factor. Thanks for sharing. May be an alternative if i send in my Calatrava one day.

Truth be told, there are many watch masters our there but who could blame us peasants for being apprehensive other than the obvious of sending to authorised service centre :)

As long as you are still under warranty, I suggest just go back to Patek Philippe Singapore Customer Service Centre. When I went there to purchase a new strap for my 5035, they even gave me a Patek travel leather pouch.

The main reason why I didn't let them service is because of the down time. And the price Horolab charge is not pegged to what the authorise service center are charging. Their charges are according to the complication and the labour hours. One of the owners told me that for people who want to service their rolex ie. Daytona, they would recommend them to go to the authorise service as it is cheaper, 800+ compared to theirs 900+.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.