The Watch Thread - Part 8

jonleelk

Orient star EL05003W or WZ0241EL
http://www.creationwatches.com/prod...star-classic-power-reserve-el05003w-3964.html
SEL05003W_LRG.jpg

http://www.christopherward.com/mobile/watches/dress/c5-q-sws-mk2.html

As the requester is a lady, this might suit her more.

y1p1zP88Op08tZWbAStefXP9Bet23weoQuuvnK2twMgeW2IvM4qdmVv6sgWDkJf3tMn

reikizi

i prefer the combat sub but golden eyes version

Will pick the Glycine. The Squale looks too much like a Submariner Date..

Glycine, but choose the other version with nicer font markers
Squale has too much homage thing going on

Chiming in with my opinion too - Chalk 1 more up for the Glycine. :)

i like the sub lookalike too. glycine proportion off. gap between crown and crown guard looks big. lug with the squared off area looks weird too.

thank you for all input !!! kam sia :s12::s12::s12::s12:
shld be moving towards glycine

TeenTitan01

More accurate than Seiko's 9F Quartz!

Bro slow_mo, imho it's still Citizen Chronomaster ultra accuracy quartz FTW at +/- 5 secs per friggin' year!!!

Why?

It doesn't require any external intervention to ensure its accuracy - it's self-contained, all-in-one, honest-to-goodness self-reliance!!!

So you know it's that accurate even when you're stuck on some deserted island on some atoll in south pacific ... or until its battery runs out. :D

But no sweeping second hands though...

:s12:

TeenTitan01

No Doxa Professional...
Here's sharing a Doxa Shark Ceramica.

Hmmm... I believe this watch isn't in the current DOXA line-up.

Anyway:

Doxa's dive watches adhere to the following naming conventions.

Professional refers to an orange faced dive watch

Sharkhunter refers to a black faced dive watch

Searambler refers to a silver (metallic) faced dive watch

Caribbean refers to a blue faced dive watch

Divingstar refers to a yellow faced dive watch

Conquistador refers to a watch with a helium release valve

Henabi

i'm a lady who knows nuts about watches :s13: but thanks for the seiko heads up!

Nice ^.^ another lady watch lover!!!

What's your budget for your new watch?
Prefer leather strap or metal bracelet?
What kind of functions? Date? Day?
Automatic or quartz (battery operated)?

slow_mo

i'm a lady who knows nuts about watches :s13: but thanks for the seiko heads up!

Once in a blue moon (pun intended) a lady comes into the watch thread...

Here's my recommendation... an old shot.

http://yeomanseiko.com/2014/06/04/orient-ladies-watch-once-in-a-blue-moon-db0a009d/

slow_mo

Hmmm... I believe this watch isn't in the current DOXA line-up.

Anyway:

Doxa's dive watches adhere to the following naming conventions.

Professional refers to an orange faced dive watch

Sharkhunter refers to a black faced dive watch

Searambler refers to a silver (metallic) faced dive watch

Caribbean refers to a blue faced dive watch

Divingstar refers to a yellow faced dive watch

Conquistador refers to a watch with a helium release valve

Yes. This is an old Shark (black face).

cichlid

Hi

Having some thoughts on the Pebble Steel, the previous model. Where to get ah?

xuan87

pledge the amount asked, once deadline end they will ship out the stuff.

To elaborate on this:

Each drop often has a few tiers, and you hit each tier based on how many people join the drop. The more tier you hit, the cheaper the price is. You need to hit at least the first tier for the drop to go through.

Sometimes, you might only want to get the drop at ONLY the last tier. Instead of pledging, you can choose to "commit to the drop". What that means is that you will only pay for the item if the last tier is hit. So you either pay the cheapest for it or don't pay for it.

Of course, sometimes, you will find that even paying the first tier for it is already the best deal you can find, in that case, you should pledge instead of commit. There are many cases where drops do not reach the last tier yet go through.

Lastly, if you see that there is a drop that you are interested in but has already ended, you can also click the "request for it" button. If 200 people request for it, Massdrop will attempt to make the drop available again. Don't worry, if you request for it, it doesn't mean that you will have to buy it if the drop becomes available. A good example is the Seiko SNZH "Fifty Fathoms" homage drop. I missed it out previously and requested it. Now 212 people have requested it so Massdrop should be in the process of talking with Seiko to make it happen again. However, I don't think I'll get it from Massdrop in the end as K2 Watches quoted me a really good price previously.

Aside: A good way of trying to get your watch become a drop is to go to the voting page. You can start a poll and put your watch as an option. If enough people vote for it, Massdrop will turn it into a drop. I believe that's how the Orient Bambino became a drop. I'm now trying to turn the Orient Flight into a drop.

Bro xuan87, the 4R36 movement is windable.

Give the stem a good full 40 plus or more windings to charge it up to full, then use your a stop watch/timer on your handphone to time it. It should last 40 hours or thereabouts.

If necessary, send it back to Thong Sia if yours is an agent set still under warranty, or your retailer if it's not.

All the best. :s12:

Thanks bro! I read in another thread too that about 40-50 turns are required to charge it up fully. Now, I'm trying to calculate the best time to do this experiment so I'll be around when the watch stops.

Share the site, please! :D

Click this link for the site!

slow_mo

Bro slow_mo, imho it's still Citizen Chronomaster ultra accuracy quartz FTW at +/- 5 secs per friggin' year!!!

Why?

It doesn't require any external intervention to ensure its accuracy - it's self-contained, all-in-one, honest-to-goodness self-reliance!!!

So you know it's that accurate even when you're stuck on some deserted island on some atoll in south pacific ... or until its battery runs out. :D

But no sweeping second hands though...

:s12:

Cos I prefer Seiko to Citizen. :D

slow_mo

Hi

Having some thoughts on the Pebble Steel, the previous model. Where to get ah?

The Pebble website only has Pebble, Pebble Time and Pebble Time Steel listed. There are shops in Singapore that sells it at 300++ (over price). Try getting it from Amazon.

DXMachina

No lah, don't say like that.

It's just a really enjoyable watch to wear. And I bought it mainly because it really suits my casual lifestyle. It just fits in 90% of the time.

I also wanna learn. Casual until can wear PP. :D

For my case now, I casual "PP" also - Poor peasant. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.