The Xiaomi Redmi thread

yixiang1

Maybe demand really too high leh... And always good to have scarcity... People flipping for $200 plus Liao leh...

Skyy

Really don't understand. What is the point of making this phone so popular and limit its supply?
Why don't they step up the production and be number one?

Well every production line has a sweet spot, and maybe xiaomi has already hit that sweet spot so they just stick to that number of sets produced per day

And by sending smaller batches over, they save on warehouse space in SG and logistics staff to man the warehouse... they just send directly to customers or telcos directly from airport.

well i think they are already number one is the super budget smartphone category..

yixiang1

So sian all the cheap cases and accessories from qoo10 a lot sold out or prices are high...

All abt demand and supply and whether one is willing to wait

eddy2099sg

Xiaomi aims to double smartphone production to 40M

Summary: Chinese low-cost smartphone maker says it clocked overall income of US$5.18 billion and shipped 18.7 million handsets last year, and vows to ship 40 million in 2014.

Chinese low-cost smartphone manufacturer, Xiaomi, sold 18.7 million handsets last year, up 160 percent from the year before, and it is looking to more than double this number in 2014.

In an internal e-mail sent Thursday, Xiaomi CEO Lei Jun added that its total 2013 income was 31.6 billion yuan (US$5.18 billion), up 150 percent from the previous year, according to a Sina News report. Users of its Android-based operating system, MIUI, also exceeded 300 million as of end-December 2013, revealed Lei.

The company was under great pressure as it was unable to meet the huge market demand last year, he said.

Mainland Chinese consumers found it hard to book a Xiaomi handset, with the phonemaker claiming to have sold out 10,000 handsets within 36 seconds and 1 minute in December during the company's promotions in Hong Kong and Taiwan, respectively.

Xiaomi's primary goal in 2014 is to increase its production capacity, Lei said in his e-mail, noting that the company is committed to ship at least 40 million units of smartphones within the year.

But market commentators expressed doubt if this ambitious plan could be realized as 40 million shipment units was "a very huge number", noting that LG's G2 handset had only sold 30 million units globally.

They added that while Chinese telecom operators had been actively launching 4G networks in the country, Xiaomi's devices--which currently only support 3G services--were likely to be excluded in the market.

However, a Forbes story published Sunday titled "Why Apple should buy China's Xiaomi", noted that the experience of Google and Apple had helped Xiaomi build a greater brand to challenge Apple in the Chinese market, where its price points have given Xiaomi obvious advantages.

The story suggested the possibility of acquiring Xiaomi, which would enable Apple to eliminate its strong competitors in the world's largest, fastest-growing market, and will help Apple enter the low-cost smartphone market in China's rural area as well as Southeast Asia.

Source Xiaomi aims to double smartphone production to 40M | ZDNet

It looks like they are committed to producing more phones. I doubt you can just say you want to ram up productions and it can be immediately be done. If their current production lines are running at full capacity, it will not be able to push out more phones unless they add more lines which means building more factories, hiring more staffs and acquiring more raw materials and supplies to make their phones. They could outsource but at low margin, they will need to work out the cost elements so that they can still turn a profit no matter how small that is.

I think they chose Singapore probably because it is nearby and that it is small enough to be a test market. If it fails, it is not too expensive an experiment. If their aim is to put a Redmi on every single Singaporeans' hands, it will still be within their production target for 2014.

Since the demands seems to be quite attractive during the first two online sales, hopefully this will increase the confidence level for them and for sinkies to want to buy their phones. Hopefully this results in at least putting the phones in the hands of the local retailers so we can just buy the phones almost as easily as we can buy a prepaid card. A tie-up with 7-11 might not be a bad idea since they did sell some lower priced phones in the past and it is convenience for anyone who needs a phone any time of the day or night. - Buy a packet of chips, a slurpee and a Redmi all at the same time :D

Backlash

Just buy from Taobao. I imported some mercury look alike tpu from there. If u are keen, let me know. I have a space Black and White for sale.

kazuki666

Maybe I have never been an Apple user, I cannot really appreciate how miui os also like to "throw" all the aps on the screen. I find this pretty irritating...
Other than that, I think its quite a smooth backup phone.

kiama

SG ROM (left) & WCDMA (right) ROMs Comparison

jqjers.jpg

2wdzhtu.jpg

70xlrl.jpg

20ur5hg.jpg

155pjdi.jpg

Salapi

those using xiaomi phones.

login to i.xiaomi.com into your cloud storage.

you will get 1gb this month! :) mine is 11gb already.

can store many things, contacts, messsage, gallery. not bad reh.

kazuki666

Don't get it. I see my mi cloud only 5gb leh

dereklim1985

i logged in yesterday, no extra 1GB:(

seanysp

What'sapp message will be display on top left notification on status bar until u read the message. It's actually better than badges display on ios. Cause it's always there even when standby screen.

thanks for the enlightenment

iamlenon

login on computer, they give additional 5gb

go back phone to check, only 5gb reflected on it :s11:

and it says 0 device connect when my phone has already login :s11:
edit: solved.. logout den login again on phone

butterbarter

How is it better? how do we compare?

I have compared them, and decided to go with the Huawei Honor 3C. I just ordered mine online a few days ago.

Pros of 3C over Redmi
1. 3C has 2GB of RAM vs 1GB. This is imho the biggest advantage. More ram allows you to run more apps smoothly. With only 1 GB, the phone is constantly closing apps and trying to free up memory, causing it to stutter when launching apps. Most high end phones launched within the last 1.5 years are 2GB or more. For example, the Galaxy Note 2 also has 2GB of RAM.
2. 8GB of flash vs 4GB. This is significant, although can be mitigated by adding a sdcard. Both phones support microsd up to 32GB.

Pros of Redmi over 3C
1. Slightly faster CPU. Redmi has a 1.5GHz Mediatek CPU compared to 3C's 1.3GHz. Both are pretty fast phones for the price, with a slight edge to the Redmi. But if you run apps that require alot of memory(eg, some games), the 3C can load up faster. In day to day use, the small diff in CPU speed is not significant.
2. Mini SIM card supported. This gives you the widest range of prepaid SIM cards anywhere in the world. 3C supports dual micro SIM cards.
3. Price. Redmi is only S$169. 3C is only available online for about US$210 for the 2GB version.

There are other minor differences like the camera, but these aren't important to me.

Comparison on youtube here : Huawei Honor 3C VS Xiaomi Red Rice - YouTube

geckoSG

Really wonder why they didn't use both sims as wcdma, it shld b backward compatible, kinda waste I can only use HSPA on 1 sim

jefflu

I have compared them, and decided to go with the Huawei Honor 3C. I just ordered mine online a few days ago.

Pros of 3C over Redmi
1. 3C has 2GB of RAM vs 1GB. This is imho the biggest advantage. More ram allows you to run more apps smoothly. With only 1 GB, the phone is constantly closing apps and trying to free up memory, causing it to stutter when launching apps. Most high end phones launched within the last 1.5 years are 2GB or more. For example, the Galaxy Note 2 also has 2GB of RAM.
2. 8GB of flash vs 4GB. This is significant, although can be mitigated by adding a sdcard. Both phones support microsd up to 32GB.

Pros of Redmi over 3C
1. Slightly faster CPU. Redmi has a 1.5GHz Mediatek CPU compared to 3C's 1.3GHz. Both are pretty fast phones for the price, with a slight edge to the Redmi. But if you run apps that require alot of memory(eg, some games), the 3C can load up faster. In day to day use, the small diff in CPU speed is not significant.
2. Mini SIM card supported. This gives you the widest range of prepaid SIM cards anywhere in the world. 3C supports dual micro SIM cards.
3. Price. Redmi is only S$169. 3C is only available online for about US$210 for the 2GB version.

There are other minor differences like the camera, but these aren't important to me.

Comparison on youtube here : Huawei Honor 3C VS Xiaomi Red Rice - YouTube

Where you order your Honor 3C? Looking to get 2 units for overseas use. 2G ram is the pro over 1G Redmi. Those phones still have 1G ram won't handle too many apps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.