Those DINKs can pawn future Generations

JustForFun

Our PM has set a good example cos he is DINK as well and the more he encourages more babies, the more people will not believe him.

Sometimes, it is good to be DINK if you think that you are not a good example to your kids...so-called being socially responsible... I have witnessed countless time parents who switch on their handphone loudly for their children to play on the public bus, letting their children running wildly inside a restaurant and etc.

Words are fake, hypocritical and sweet talking ? No difference from scammers ?

shine0204

yeap.... it takes on average 2-3k a month including enrichment, outings presents etc etc and all that to raise a kid from 0-12 years old. which is 24k a year.

After 12 years of investing $24,000 per year into an index fund earning 7% annually, you would have approximately $429,323

sorry, this little bundle of joy isnt worth 400k to me
Agree with u, & don't stop calculations age12. Sgp boys/girls finish Uni age22-25. Parents raise a kid TWENTY-THREE YEARS for ah-boy/ah-girl 1st pay-cheque. Dont blame kids, blame Sgp edu system+NS delay. So $429K can become $850K raise 1-2kid 20-25yrs. Case2) Wat if raise 2-3 kids? Case3) What if wife stops work few years /or full-time into part-time work for infant/child-care? Opportunity costs for Case2)+ Case3) can b
$1-2MillionPlus raise 1-2kids when add-in wife's forgone earnings+ infant/child care +teens Uni-fees.

Tom Sawyer

Words are fake, hypocritical and sweet talking ? No difference from scammers ?
Nope. He is just an unconvincing politician, no difference to those from other countries which don't pay such high salary. Why LKY was successful was because he set a good example as a leader to his party and to his people.... but I don't see that in many leaders we have today.

JustForFun

Nope. He is just an unconvincing politician, no difference to those from other countries which don't pay such high salary. Why LKY was successful was because he set a good example as a leader to his party and to his people.... but I don't see that in many leader we have today.

What we have is bunch of useless leaders ? Into wrong hands since LHL took over and seems to continue under sweet talkers ?

Need dedicated leaders who produce real good results and give citizen prosperity, happiness stated in our pledge ?

Eliwood

Agree with u, & don't stop calculations age12. Sgp boys/girls finish Uni age22-25. Parents raise a kid TWENTY-THREE YEARS for ah-boy/ah-girl 1st pay-cheque. Dont blame kids, blame Sgp edu system+NS delay. So $429K can become $850K raise 1-2kid 20-25yrs. Case2) Wat if raise 2-3 kids? Case3) What if wife stops work few years /or full-time into part-time work for infant/child-care? Opportunity costs for Case2)+ Case3) can b
$1-2MillionPlus raise 1-2kids when add-in wife's forgone earnings+ infant/child care +teens Uni-fees.

Ya if cannot afford best to not have kids.

Leave kids to those who can afford it.

Tom Sawyer

Hahaha .. we have a self-centred young generation... Have they calculated the money spent on their luxurious cars and houses? I think most of them are thinking of carrying all those luxurious items into their graves. I really pity their parents as one thing is for sure, they will think that it is a waste of money taking care of their old parents... as the money can be spent on new cars. Another proof that something is wrong in Singapore... No culture? Soul-less?

ShinnAsuka

Simple maths.

If say full 300k in no loan. 3yrs build. 5yrs mop. +50k reno. Say 1yr for reno and sell in market and find new place. Assuming new place is at no cost, transport of assets negligible cost.

86% in 9yrs, about 7%pa compound.

Quite good. But if vested in sp500 index. 2015 around 2000 levels. Today 6000. 350k would be 1.05mio. He effectively lost 750k.

li9ht5peed

It is not because of that. Those who married late will find it difficult to have kids. As they tried and failed, they eventually gave up and make up an excuse to say they don't want kids.

You must know the underlying truth behind what people say. A normal couple will never get married and have a bto without wanting a kid in mind, but we don't 说破 that's all.
exactly. dinks didn't have a choice. buay kan, impotent, not fertile, ivf also failed. so no choice have to change their story to something more satki coz they know they will die alone, rot & be infested with maggots

Foetid

Simple maths.

If say full 300k in no loan. 3yrs build. 5yrs mop. +50k reno. Say 1yr for reno and sell in market and find new place. Assuming new place is at no cost, transport of assets negligible cost.

Quite good. But if vested in sp500 index. 2015 around 2000 levels. Today 6000. 350k would be 1.05mio. He effectively lost 750k.
Now still can invest sp500??

jumpthepig

Today my cousin brought his wife to come my house and bai nian... he told me that his BTO let him earn chao chao $300K... and he intends to go for a second BTO again after his windfall... I said wah now next generation jialat... but he just tell me... not my problem because they dont have kids... they only care about milking more and more money and go enjoy during older age...

I think he is correct....
Maybe his parents also did the same…. 2 - 3 generations of sinkies pushing up property prices… they get what they deserve.. :ROFLMAO:

RouK3ziLa

BTO build and MOP and sell, around 8-10 years.

Come to think of it .. BTO then mop and sell typically take 8 - 10 years ish but how many people relationship can last this long ??? and no .. op's cousin didnt "profit" 300k ... more like 150k .. cause couple most likely split the CPF mortgage .. also not easy to bto 2nd time .. only recently its easier to bto first time.

RouK3ziLa

Simple maths.

Asean mind set .. they want to play with things that they can see and touch .. even down to detail math they lost abit of money .. they will still go around tell people they earn xxx% .. cause in the end need to sell and buy another one .. even the new one is BTO .. after 10 years the base price will also be up already..

RouK3ziLa

they cant do that lol, its political suicide

They dont need to ban .. just let the hit rate to be super low .. when people go see mp to kb why rate so low .. mp also can reply to them that ... people bto 2nd time and the first time they sold right after mop.. can slap thier face with facts.

Unic0rn

the nation need to look after these married couples with no children, they will be alone in their old elderly years, should setup a fund for their wellbeing after 60 years old example from 61 onwards every month get $2500 allowance from the nation because they have no children to support them?

ShinnAsuka

Now still can invest sp500??
Well, 2004 at 1200
2014 at 2000 (66%)
2024 at 6000 (300%)

Say suay buy in 2008 at 1500 or covid high at 4700 (late 2021). That 400% and 27% respectively.

Annualised without compounding, 25pct pa if enter 2008, 9pct for 2021. If dca, will still be more than 9.

House cannot dca.

Buffett also say not many funds can beat sp500. But invest your spare money as this is long term. Also think some sp500 funds give dividends. Pick the right sp500 fund also important.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.