Toyota Wish 1.8 Engine Assembly Replace

superman

Hi, maybe I am not specific enough. The engine stomping sound only occur when I travel for some distance and stop my car stationary. And it doesn't always happen when I stop the car with my engine on. Throughout one full week, it only happened twice.

I just uploaded it to youtube, you all can view it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lj0Pz_eMlLQ

When engine idle, did you switch off air-con. When the noise appear, did you notice the car vibrate and the rpm goes down? When Driving no noise?

sporeknight76

That’s the thing, no warning signal or light from my dashboard. Only that sound from the engine lol but that sound alone is scary enough.
Really loud n scary. Lik tat u still can drv ah? 😬 If u don mind abt the diagnostic costs, send bk agent chk. Mayb they wont even chg u cos preliminary chk can tell wat is the prob liao. Yr engine sound so freaking loud!

No pt ask here there, some say tis tat. Agent best. If nd to pay a fee to chk, ask hw much b4 pay...To them ur car shld b v "ez" to tell. Extreme case is engine: chg, overhaul or scrap.

Really loud n scary. Lik tat u still can drv ah? 😬 If u don mind abt the diagnostic costs, send bk agent chk. Mayb they wont even chg u cos preliminary chk can tell wat is the prob liao. Yr engine sound so freaking loud!

No pt ask here there, some say tis tat. Agent best. If nd to pay a fee to chk, ask hw much b4 pay...To them ur car shld b v "ez" to tell. Extreme case is engine: chg, overhaul or scrap.

I went ahead with the second workshop quotation as his price is quite competitive compared to other workshop.

Anyways, just a rant. I went ahead with the second workshop quotation after he test-driven and checked the car. He initially 'mentioned' that the price should be around low 2k so i asked him to go ahead with the work.

Come yesterday, when i suppose to collect the car, he tell me total 3.5k. I got a shock. I asked if he replaced the engine or smth thus the price but he said no, engine is fine. He only replace parts that supposed to repair the stomping sound.

Basket, in the end, compare to first workshop, not much difference, in fact first workshop told me they will replace the engine for me.

Feel like kanna carrot headed lol. This is typical gian peng kanna owned lol

liquidh

But how can the workshop charge you so much more without informing you what else they discovered has to be changed and getting your consent?

Anyways, just a rant. I went ahead with the second workshop quotation after he test-driven and checked the car. He initially 'mentioned' that the price should be around low 2k so i asked him to go ahead with the work.

Come yesterday, when i suppose to collect the car, he tell me total 3.5k. I got a shock. I asked if he replaced the engine or smth thus the price but he said no, engine is fine. He only replace parts that supposed to repair the stomping sound.

Basket, in the end, compare to first workshop, not much difference, in fact first workshop told me they will replace the engine for me.

Feel like kanna carrot headed lol.

DreadLord52

from 2k to 3.5k without informing and getting consent from the owner is a big red flag if you ask me.

stylechap

:o engine no problem
So the excavator sound is probably some leakage in the intake/exhaust
I don't know how you actually solve any differences with the workshop, sounds like you just drop the car to them and go off which is a totally bad decision

xiaozhi86

can you post what parts the workshop replace? i see the clip you you post the sound is loud but sound like misfire or there should be some air leak?

next time should open the bonnet and record the sound will be better

xhlee87

Feel like kanna carrot headed lol. This is typical gian peng kanna owned lol

U should post the items he changed. $3.5k is ridiculous for those items u mentioned previously.

Usually tactic used by workshops that are not honest. Should have agreed the items to change and price before starting the work. Not the other way round.
I will usually stay to watch unless u know the workshop well. Some will charge u but never change the item.

U should not have told them the previous workshop prices.

sporeknight76

No wat. S agreed low 2k, wkshop shld honour the deal. TS y u still pay when they suddenly say 3.5k?

S for wat parts they repaired, they can huntam tis tat la...

Can share shop details? EDMWs here will seek justice 4u. 😁

But how can the workshop charge you so much more without informing you what else they discovered has to be changed and getting your consent?

so initially he said engine was fine... no need do those unnecessary changes just some minor tweak will do. so 2k is for under carriage work i.e front rear absorber and the arms.. + minor tweak to engine parts.

turn out upon collection, he mentioned much more parts from the engine side has to be repaired.

i’m sorry if i can’t explain clearly the part terms because i’m not very studied in the mechanic aspect of car.

U should post the items he changed. $3.5k is ridiculous for those items u mentioned previously.

Usually tactic used by workshops that are not honest. Should have agreed the items to change and price before starting the work. Not the other way round.
I will usually stay to watch unless u know the workshop well. Some will charge u but never change the item.

U should not have told them the previous workshop prices.

i showed him the quotation with only the items stated, all cost removed.

yes my bad for being too trusting but also partly angry he went ahead with the work without informing me of the additional costs.

No wat. S agreed low 2k, wkshop shld honour the deal. TS y u still pay when they suddenly say 3.5k?

S for wat parts they repaired, they can huntam tis tat la...

Can share shop details? EDMWs here will seek justice 4u. 😁

it’s not actually a deal when he quoted me. he only verbally tell me it will cost around that price range.

myviowner

it’s not actually a deal when he quoted me. he only verbally tell me it will cost around that price range.

I see an assumptions on both parties bah. Pay and move on. TS feels injustice? Can ask more more discount? Personally i would lor.... the verbal quote is so far away from the actual bill.
Be it SG or MY workshops, they would call the owner to get consensus of the price before proceed with the repairs.

TS learnt your lesson oredi:s22::s22:

Aaron_soh80

Hi, I want to ask if anyone knows what's the price range for replacing the whole engine assembly for Toyota Wish 1.8?? my engine is vibrating with loud noises when it is stationary. I was quoted a fee of around 3.5k for replacing the entire engine assembly, being a know-nothing about car, I am hoping for some clarification or guidance.

isit ur engine mounting loose? 3.5k overhual or new one engine?

I see an assumptions on both parties bah. Pay and move on. TS feels injustice? Can ask more more discount? Personally i would lor.... the verbal quote is so far away from the actual bill.
Be it SG or MY workshops, they would call the owner to get consensus of the price before proceed with the repairs.

TS learnt your lesson oredi:s22::s22:

yes bro i did, partly my fault also because should get black and white quotation instead of verbal agreement. most important, i pray the car wouldn’t break down because of engine related issue for the next few years lol

xhlee87

so initially he said engine was fine... no need do those unnecessary changes just some minor tweak will do. so 2k is for under carriage work i.e front rear absorber and the arms.. + minor tweak to engine parts.

turn out upon collection, he mentioned much more parts from the engine side has to be repaired.

i’m sorry if i can’t explain clearly the part terms because i’m not very studied in the mechanic aspect of car.

At least the tax invoice will stated what parts and it prices. Dun need to understand any mechanics, just write what stated in the tax invoice.

If the tax invoice is just a general heading like engine repair and 1 lump sum.

Then likely u got chop. Take it as a lesson and next time u dont pay when u dun know what parts are replaced or serviced.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.