Understanding NS liability for PRs

Savantrainmaker

I am weighing the pros and cons of the option of accepting. I do not KNOW if we will renounce PR. I only want to see the whole picture before deciding. No need to make assumptions.

As i've said before this. I am asking the question to understand the liabilities. It is not my intention to renege/default on my liabilities.

If, as someone else has said here, age 16 is the maximum age before which you can give up PR without the NS liability then, it would NOT be illegal and fraudulent to have renounced PR before this age.

I understand your viewpoint. I have two comments.

One: This question is not for me, it is for my baby. Right now he is not of an age at which he can understand that I am accepting PR for him on his behalf. Therefore I want to fully understand what liabilities I AM PLACING ON HIM.

If the SG government were to tell me, for instance, that my accepting PR would mean I have to serve NS then as an adult I can make that decision. But for my baby it would be HIS TIME AND FREEDOMS that I have forsaken. So I must ask the question. To not ask is stupid!

Two: To live in a country and pay taxes sounds fair and right to me. I have no problems doing this. However NS is one step further. It is to defend that country with your life - presumably against some foreign power. Now there are two issues here:

a. A citizen would NATURALLY WANT to defend his or her country against foreign invaders as said country would probably comprise his family, his properties, his livelihood. NS for citizens makes sense because it is a collective approach to the individual natural want. But would a PR have that same natural want? A PR may have much of his family still in his natural land. What incentive does he have to defend, with his life, a foreign land?

b. If foreign invaders were from the same country as a PR then would a PR do his best to defend his country from the foreign invader?

Taking up PR-ship in Singapore has its responsibilities and obligations.....

For the job security, public health-care subsidies, public housing privileges that PRs will be enjoying, PRs and their families will need to contribute to our nation-building.

If you had indeed taken up PR-ship and allowed the same for your baby son, you have essentially made the decision for him.

It's a package deal - you cannot have the good stuff and not want to pay your dues. Your son already has the genuine 'privilege' of deciding whether to even serve NS or not. Please be grateful.

Pleading ignorance otherwise in a forum is plain irresponsible parenthood. Or were you just blinded by the goodies dangled before you at the point of decision?

darknezx

I understand your viewpoint. I have two comments.

One: This question is not for me, it is for my baby. Right now he is not of an age at which he can understand that I am accepting PR for him on his behalf. Therefore I want to fully understand what liabilities I AM PLACING ON HIM.

If the SG government were to tell me, for instance, that my accepting PR would mean I have to serve NS then as an adult I can make that decision. But for my baby it would be HIS TIME AND FREEDOMS that I have forsaken. So I must ask the question. To not ask is stupid!

Two: To live in a country and pay taxes sounds fair and right to me. I have no problems doing this. However NS is one step further. It is to defend that country with your life - presumably against some foreign power. Now there are two issues here:

a. A citizen would NATURALLY WANT to defend his or her country against foreign invaders as said country would probably comprise his family, his properties, his livelihood. NS for citizens makes sense because it is a collective approach to the individual natural want. But would a PR have that same natural want? A PR may have much of his family still in his natural land. What incentive does he have to defend, with his life, a foreign land?

b. If foreign invaders were from the same country as a PR then would a PR do his best to defend his country from the foreign invader?
You want to live here, enjoy peace and security, enjoy the benefits of rich economy, but don't want to help protect it.

Please go home then.

Savantrainmaker

why blame TS?

our current PAP govt is the one who allowed loopholes

Yes, TS and his types are the type of FTs that constantly reminds Singaporeans of the many follies and continuing mistakes that the PAP Government under the LHL's administration has been committing in the last decade since he came into power.....

Some-one

Looks like this thread is gonna reach 20 pages. wanbao may even come in....:s13:

Scared-Stiff

the legal way is, your child must keep own country citizenship all the way.
inform ica and mindef your kid is renouncing pr by 11. so immigration may switch to dependent pass, or deny living in sg. yes got ppl kid live in johor but everyday go sg study.
technically 13 is the cutoff age, but you must not collect any benefits (i.e. school/healthcare/etc subsidies) from 11.
renounce liao then go apply study pass or work permit when kid grow up and want to hang around sg.

the not-so-legal way is, keep pr all the way, but when kid kanna ns, make noise about immigrating and renouncing citizenship. not so good chance of getting released (though i saw a couple of cases ppl serve 2-3 months then immigrated out). not good chances getting any sg work visa in the future, but can return for holiday.

the illegal way, is keep pr all the way. send kid to overseas uni at 16. ns letter come act blur ignore. can also forget about coming back sg for anything, unless you're a pianist or something.

learn from expatforums one. they got all sort of story there.

wait... why are you getting pr in the 1st place if you don't want pr in the 1st place? :s22:

Thanks. May I please know if it is explicitly stated anywhere that the cutoff age is 13?

To answer your question. My wife and I are already PRs. I personally have been a PR for 11 years - lived in SG for 15 years. This decision is for our baby.

Ohayo!

Thanks. May I please know if it is explicitly stated anywhere that the cutoff age is 13?

To answer your question. My wife and I are already PRs. I personally have been a PR for 11 years - lived in SG for 15 years. This decision is for our baby.

Just dont take PR. so simple. dont need headache ok?

Some-one

why no one post this thread on LHL facebook? Entitled: free-loading PRs...:s13:

Wolfaro

If u made decision for your son to take up PR then let him serve

If not u and your son should freak off now

Crooni

Pls stop giving advice to this prick who only knows how to take from Singapore but not give back to Singapore.

actually i'm just showing him/her the way to the door. since he/her doesn't really want pr anyway, and it's difficult for parents to remain pr while kid is on some ??? status.

nowadays indian ft getting clever liao, they don't even take pr. get ep and dp for family. kid grow up take sp and own ep. they still got some ppl back at indian, can rotate around to take care of kid.

Vitus213

This guy obviously doesn't give a shet about our country. As long as he doesn't break the law he can even stoop that low to reap benefit for himself. :o

SaintPeachie

What TS is asking is what is the maximal age his or her 'baby' can milk the system until the 'baby' renounce the PR status.

The 'baby' can renounce the PR prior to enlistment registration at 16 years of age.

PAP makes the system this way. Suck it up sinkies.

Ohayo!

actually i'm just showing him/her the way to the door. since he/her doesn't really want pr anyway, and it's difficult for parents to remain pr while kid is on some ??? status.

you FT? why are you providing advice which help him to break the law?

greenbubble

Ng eng Heng had said. If your son might not do NS, don't apply for PR. Don't enjoy the privileges of PR, then when call up to serve, he give it up. This is not credit card membership, after giving up PR without serving NS, he can't work, study and stay in SG for long term.

woocheekiat

There are many ways and loopholes but this is the wrong forum for you.

Student Visa

clementiboy

fellas, TS is obviously trying to milk the system.

TS already knew that getting PR for his son would entail him to serve NS. This obligation would have been explained to him at the point of application. And yet he went ahead with the son's PR application. If he was prepared for his son to do NS why is he still asking questions?

TS excuse was:

If the baby could not understand the liabilities now, why bother to apply in the first place? Why not wait until when the son is older?

I like to highlight what savantrainmaker mentioned earlier:
If you had indeed taken up PR-ship and allowed the same for your baby son, you have essentially made the decision for him.

It's a package deal - you cannot have the good stuff and not want to pay your dues. Your son already has the genuine 'privilege' of deciding whether to even serve NS or not. Please be grateful.

So now you know TS agenda lah.:s8:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.