Unreasonable Neighbour

BBClone

Right now the first thing you have to do is install a CCTV, because things will escalate. Let me tell you about my case.

My neighbour (yes, a crazed boomer) was throwing moth balls at my home for some reason. I wanted to capture CCTV evidence of it, turns out he was also the culprit littering all over the place. Submitted multiple videos to NEA for their enforcement actions. Boomer then tried to commit more nasty reprisals around my residence, but was caught on tape. Just nice for me to make more police reports.

In the end, they will get sick of law enforcement officers paying them a visit, or even charged/fined. If you go down this route there’s plenty of fuss, but if you don’t, the bully will continue to overstep the boundaries. Logic no longer applies to such people, you have to adopt a Pavlovian style of training dogs. Every action comes a reaction. If you have the money, feel free to sue for damages. Or you may engage pest control to fumigate their area each time they spray insecticide, on the pretext of “helping them kill mosquitoes”.

ajcc1987

Don’t know why ts is ranting here? To me it seems like a small matter, just shut your window in living room and get an air purifier or fan or air cooler. Can afford landed cannot get an air purifier? :oops:

tinwhistle83

Right now the first thing you have to do is install a CCTV, because things will escalate. What I suspect is the previous owner sold you this house without informing you of the neighbourly harassment. Let me tell you about my case.

My neighbour (yes, a crazed boomer) was throwing moth balls at my home for some reason. I wanted to capture evidence of it, turns out he was also littering all over the place.

Submitted multiple videos to NEA for their enforcement actions. Boomer then tried to commit more nasty reprisals around my residence, but caught on tape. Just nice for me to make more police reports.

In the end, they will get sick of law enforcement officers paying them a visit, or even charged/fined. If you go down this route there’s plenty of fuss, but if you don’t, the bully will continue to overstep the boundaries. Logic no longer applies to such people, you have to adopt a Pavlovian style of training dogs. Every action comes a reaction. If you have the money, feel free to sue for damages.
throw physical items is good evidence. actually its only these 2 months they started spraying. previously didnt.

i dont think they are the super siao kind.

BBClone

throw physical items is good evidence. actually its only these 2 months they started spraying. previously didnt.

i dont think they are the super siao kind.

Just hire pest control to fumigate their home, do it enough times they will learn.

But you need to install a CCTV now.

grevq80o

Can tell me how to deal with unreasonable neighbour?

As last 2 months there was an increase of mosquito, my neighbour started to spray insecticide every day or other day within his house compound, however the area he sprayed is quite near to my living room window and everytime they spray, the smell will drift to my living room. however when they spray, they will know when they spray so they can quickly escape back to their own house and close their door while we have to breathe in their insecticide. its quite bad that sometimes it drifted all the way to my dining area.

so they started spraying somewhere in dec, then we tolerated till feb and we felt its like going on forever. so last week i tried to be nice and gave the owner's sister (who is staying there too) those electrical mosquito device that can zap mosquito and suggested to them to use. so this week they started spraying again, and i tried to speak to them but they were very hostile. the owner said he has been staying 40 years + and no issue until we came. cos when we first moved, their tree was infringing to our side so my husband asked him to trim it as legally we had every right to do so. this was only 2-3 months, after we moved in as the tree branches was growing to our side and affecting the fixture we had on our area. also my helper complained the tree had too many leaves and keep dropping to our compound, and attracting too many birds which fly past and pooed on our laundry. now when we told him about the insecticide thing, he felt we are picking bones at him. he said the behind neighbours also not happy with us cos of the trees. to be fair, in the end the tree that is at the neighbours at the back, we paid people money to trim it down ourselves because after checking with behind neighbours they said its not theirs as it was just nice growing on the fence and public drain area. so this neighbour at our side, just need to pay money to trim his tree because that was obviously growing in his garden. we had 2 young children in the house. and its only now in feb that we brought this up after 2 months cos its been too long of almost daily spraying of insecticide.

its an old uncle and his sister at 80+ years old age. sorry to say, but felt such boomers only think of themselves and not others. and funny thing is they dont pay for waste removal service but they will walk 30m to the public tree and throw their waste there.

how do you think i should go about? my in law felt we should not spoil neighbourly relationships but maybe tolerate and try to pacify them to be on their good side cos she said we have young children so we are always at the losing end.
Why dun u buy chicken dropping from florist and scatter them in front of their window to counter the smell?

106gunner

TLDR, btw 80 plus year old couple still got how many years they can live and enjoy?

Their age can be your parents or grandparents

Just bear with them imo

tinwhistle83

Don’t know why ts is ranting here? To me it seems like a small matter, just shut your window in living room and get an air purifier or fan or air cooler. Can afford landed cannot get an air purifier? :oops:

i have fan and air purifier. we dont on the air con as we prefer natural air.

thats the only window my living room have if dont open will be stuffy. the thing is every time by the time you smell in the living room, the fumes have drifted in and so you have been inhaling toxic. even after you close the windows and doors, theres still remenants of toxic smell so u have to completely leave the living room for 10-15mins.

imagine when i have kids alone in living room.

Alphas

There is one solution. Everyday draw a picture of them on a piece of paper, take a slipper and beat small people. Do this for 10 years or so, they would have uplorry by then. 😯

106gunner

Yup at first I thought HDB so bo bian cos too closed but is landed

Btw TS mention they have been staying there for 40 plus years

I guess they have been doing this all along until TS shifted in

Landed usually have more mozzi due to trees and grasses, unlike in HDB

Why they opt to use spray, probably they find spray kill mozzi faster

Joseph12

do people spray insecticide on an alternate day basis?

maybe the altercation is that usually im based at home while my hub is doing shift so weekday daytime we are usually around so maybe notice they spray
Ignorant dumb arses
Can't imagine smelling that smell all the time will do you any good

Plus , who knows
Maybe spray spray, it will seep into fabrics and it cannot be healthy for sure

And I don't think it works

tinwhistle83

Btw TS mention they have been staying there for 40 plus years

I guess they have been doing this all along until TS shifted in

Landed usually have more mozzi due to trees and grasses, unlike in HDB

Why they opt to use spray, probably they find spray kill mozzi faster
my living room window is only 1metre at most from the common wall so if they spray near there confirm can smell. mine is small landed. even hdb maybe better cos some door to door are quite far

tinwhistle83

imagine this hdb door is the common wall. my living room window is the window nearer to it. thats how close it is.

think people has a misconception when its landed means super big. mine small one.

XCalintz

my yard not big, so its not like very big where some leaves doesnt matter. my yard is pretty small so basically our laundry occupies 80% of the space. so very obvious when theres lot of leaves. actually some leaves came from another back neighbour tree but they are too high and they never infridge into our space so ok. but its this neighbour which tree has always hit into our fixture and causing scratches

Why not juz build wall taller than the trees to fenceup ur entire yard.

Like that the leaves wont drop to your yard anymore.

As for the smell, juz buy power fan and blow bck to ur neighbours.

tinwhistle83

Why not juz build wall taller than the trees to fenceup ur entire yard.

Like that the leaves wont drop to your yard anymore.

As for the smell, juz buy power fan and blow bck to ur neighbours.
haha actually that tree was as high as our roof. they have trees higher than their own roof too but not near our side.

by right the common wall between neighbours for porch and yard cannot exceed a certain height. i think usually about 1.8-2m. cannot rem the exact height but theres limitation.

fan wise, might need to fix on wall cos need to blow higher than the seperating wall

Mecisteus

imagine this hdb door is the common wall. my living room window is the window nearer to it. thats how close it is.

think people has a misconception when its landed means super big. mine small one.

I used to grow up in the same type of flat.

Just close your windows or try to get along with the neighbor.

tinwhistle83

I used to grow up in the same type of flat.

Just close your windows or try to get along with the neighbor.
thats my only window in the whole living room.

i think i will try to. unless they start to go crazy and spray day and night, then i will take e legal route.

in fact i have a super sensitive airway and my throat was a bit scratchy everything i accidentelly took a big whift of spray smell.

Mecisteus

thats my only window in the whole living room.

i think i will try to. unless they start to go crazy and spray day and night, then i will take e legal route.

in fact i have a super sensitive airway and my throat was a bit scratchy everything i accidentelly took a big whift of spray smell.
If you are super sensitive, then you should be closing the windows and door then.

Switch on the aircon or humidifier in the living room.

Or be more careful when selecting a house.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.