USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

Jirachi

I doubt March's CPI will move the markets that much now because market is forward looking due to the tariffs

d5dude

It is relative right? If someone is saving money and buying silver at every fall and keeps accumulating for 40 years, I think will end up with a million dollars worth of silver and they would consider themselves as winners, even though maybe money in safe risk free bonds would have made the same amount of money.

Silver has done poorly since it peaked in the 70s, it is down after adjusting for inflation since it pays no interest.
Bonds have coupons, its impossible to lose money in real terms unless one is stupid enough to buy them when bond yields fall below long run average inflation rate.

This kind of blind belief is what most successful investors have. Their outcomes are much better than flip flopping investors. I put @Dividends Warrior in this category, because he has his style and blind faith in his style and he might end up with 2 million in REIT ETFs even with 5% gains and still he is winner because he stuck to it and didn't sell it at panick lows.

But how do you know his reits will return 5% p.a from here on? Blind faith isnt going to guarantee that, his reits could go nowhere in the next 20 years (on a real return basis).

aurvandil

Fed restarting QE without announcing it beforehand would just crash the dollar. I dun think long bonds were dumping due to China, they only hold less than 10% of the outstanding debt held by foriegners. The rest of the world has a much greater impact on US treasury yields and US equity prices, this is why it never made any sense to wage a trade war on the entire world, it was suicide.

I didn't find the rumors particularly credible. The FED could have easily handled such a move in any case. They have the tools and the monitoring capability to detect and shut down such an attack.

aurvandil

90 day pause was a nothing more than a face saving move lah. He said on TV that he saw what was going on in the bond market (treasuries were tanking when they should be rising) and people were "queasy".

China was the only country that retaliated against the reciprocal tariffs (EU and Canada only reacted to earlier tariffs) so he couldnt have paused the tariffs.

Long story short is he started some **** that went out of control quickly and he got scared, there is no 4D chess being played here.

The historians will be debating this for years.

Was Trump America's smartest president who pretended to be a fool? Or was he America's dumbest president that defeated all his enemies by luck?

DevilPlate

The historians will be debating this for years.

Was Trump America's smartest president who pretended to be a fool? Or was he America's dumbest president that defeated all his enemies by luck?
Yeah say all u want but the fact is that he was re-elected despite his past reputation :s13:

DevilPlate

Blind faith implies that the investment isnt based on any rational reason, I think thats a bad idea.

The average person has about 40 years to accumulate assets before retirement, the consequences of betting on the wrong horse e.g silver can be dire.
U are completely missing my point.
u already said ASSETS with the S

Some huat huat via hodl BTC, Tesla, Amazon etc…..ofc there are winners and losers who concentrate their bets.
I am not one of them…..i diversify and stick with them through ups and downs and also focus on my family well being as well. ;)
So turns out my condos turns out great, Gold not too bad and now accumulating BTC.

homer123

1 must conveniently "forget" where the sell button is. I never panic sell.
I survived 2020, 2022, aug 2024, and now this.
Each time, I emerge stronger and more buff.

But to be frank, this one rattled me a bit.
Losing 800-900k gain in 2 weeks and unable to buy the dip. Bad deal.
Not out of the wood yet.

Now...confession time. who panic sold?
Didn't know you so jialat

elvintay07

1 must conveniently "forget" where the sell button is. I never panic sell.
I survived 2020, 2022, aug 2024, and now this.
Each time, I emerge stronger and more buff.

But to be frank, this one rattled me a bit.
Losing 800-900k gain in 2 weeks and unable to buy the dip. Bad deal.
Not out of the wood yet.

Now...confession time. who panic sold?
No more bullets?

revhappy

Beri jialat. Just look at the drop from Feb 25.
1y chart.

The things thats got you to 400% could be the very things that take you to 0. I hope you are taking profits and keeping your capital aside when you take such insane risks.

homer123

Beri jialat. Just look at the drop from Feb 25.
1y chart.

Like dat ok lah... I thot you are like this bro .. He said he got no cash and has to cut back on eating as he has no sell button also

3dc6a12401e88efbea10cda119e24be0c9d9d6be.png

elvintay07

Master Leong said US may give us additional tax on stocks. Like capital gain tax etc. my balls drop

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.