USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

RedsYWNA

Now...confession time. who panic sold?
I took the chance to roll my QQQ $440 April put options to $385 July put options for a $65 loss. Could have rolled for a credit spread but I was sleeping by the time the announcement came.

Considered as panic loss or not? Decide to lighten my risk exposure a bit.......

d9lives

I took the chance to roll my QQQ $440 April put options to $385 July put options for a $65 loss. Could have rolled for a credit spread but I was sleeping by the time the announcement came.

Considered as panic loss or not? Decide to lighten my risk exposure a bit.......
Hey man, perfectly ok.
I cpuldn't sleep so I closed some itm calls (way too late) and bought more shares.
Other calls...all expired worthless.

I feel so much better.
Maybe I am a panican.

stanlawj

A full-time trader's POV about the recent tariff pivot:

It's too long to repost everything. TLDR:
We remain in a real news driven market. Yesterday's move was impossible to know for sure. Maybe someone guessed it correctly in hindsight, but they didn't know and so it was hard to really invest heavily into the move given the massive overhangs in the market. These overhangs are somewhat lifted in terms of sentiment, but not so in terms of fundamentals. Let's just see now which wins out: sentiment or fundematntals. Probably some choppy supportiveness into opex, but we need to see if the market can stabilise after that ridiculous rally yesterday.

Note one fact that I will leave you with:

Today marked the second largest single day gain in NASDAQ history.

The top three spots?

1/3/2001, +14.17%

4/9/2025, +12%

10/13/2008, +11.81%

In both other instances, the NASDAQ ended up making a new low.

-----------------
In addition, DXY is resuming getting lower again (weaker USD). Strongest: EUR, CHF, JPY :spin:
Looks like USD is being devalued post-tariff pivot.

d5dude

So what now.

China and US market both uninvestible?
STI bestest with stable PAP policies :s13:

How is US uninvestable? US is not an autocracy like China, Trump is not going to be president for life, in fact he could be lame duck after mid terms next year.

STI is best if you like a market that has gone nowhere for nearly 2 decades.

d5dude

This is a trap. Market internals is very bad. Get out (of longs) before the chance disappears. The market will still float a bit higher but be prepared for the crash hereafter.

This is a combination of short squeeze with a combination of the Fed bidding on its own 10 year treasury auctions.

https://www.treasurydirect.gov/instit/annceresult/press/preanre/2025/R_20250409_2.pdf

You have been warned.

This is incorrect. The fed does not buy treasury bonds in primary auctions, its forbidden by law, they are only allowed to do so in "open markets", hence the term "federal reserve open market committee".

https://www.federalreserve.gov/faqs/money_12851.htm

d5dude

My 2 cents worth on what is going on.

The 90 day pause confirms that the policy intent is to contain China. The crazy Liberation Day WWE style antics was to put the world on notice that if you let China use your jurisdiction to evade tariffs, the US will come for you. A lot has been said about the inclusion of Heard and McDonald islands in Trump's tariff list. Many have pointed to it as a mistake and a sign that a generative AI was used to make the chart. My take is that this was intentional. It wa to send the message that no matter how remote the location, the US is watching.

The next step to confirm this hypothesis are the policy demands that the US will make. If these involve safeguards to stop Chinese tariff evasion, it would further confirm the policy intent. For SG, we better be super on the ball. There are 195 countries in the world. Trump chose to highlight 50. Taking away the nonsensical entries like Heard and McDonald islands, it would seem that the chart he was holding up was shortlist of countries that they feel are most involved in the China tariff evasion trade. If we want to avoid being targeted, we better play ball and do what the US wants.

On China, the situation is interesting. Conventional commentary suggests that China will not back down. In another thread before all this happened, I wrote about how there are signs that XJP has lost control of the PLA to ZYX. On the civilian side, most of the factions are looking to the 3 elders for directions. The end game is for XJP to step down and for a new leader to take over after his current term ends. There is now a Game of Thrones being played in Zhongnanhai. In his recent trip, SM Lee met with the 3 elder's preferred chocie.

If XJP is still in charge, chances are against them capitulating to Trump. If however he has become a figurehead, then it becomes likely that they will force him to do it, preferably in a humiliating way.

With the 90 day pause, Trump is signalling he is ready to move on. His comment of the budget is telling. He is signalling he wants his tax cuts next. If this is true, we should prepare for market to go back to ATH.

Never a dull moment ... :ROFLMAO:

90 day pause was a nothing more than a face saving move lah. He said on TV that he saw what was going on in the bond market (treasuries were tanking when they should be rising) and people were "queasy".

China was the only country that retaliated against the reciprocal tariffs (EU and Canada only reacted to earlier tariffs) so he couldnt have paused the tariffs.

Long story short is he started some **** that went out of control quickly and he got scared, there is no 4D chess being played here.

stanlawj

d5dude

d5dude

Where got FED need to bid directly? :ROFLMAO:

I did hear rumors that China side was preparing to dump their stash of Treasuries as part of retaliation against the US. I felt it would super dumb if they did. FED already has established active presence in the secondary from QE. The primary dealers would be able to alert them of a Chinese dump. They would simply step in buy up whatever the Chinese were dumping. To prevent the money supply from spiking, they would lock up whatever excess in RR.

Fed restarting QE without announcing it beforehand would just crash the dollar. I dun think long bonds were dumping due to China, they only hold less than 10% of the outstanding debt held by foriegners. The rest of the world has a much greater impact on US treasury yields and US equity prices, this is why it never made any sense to wage a trade war on the entire world, it was suicide.

d5dude

but but u are looking at short term fluctuations and saying it is difficult for long term investing? :s13:
Leme repeat myself again…..Long term investing requires blind faith in the asset u are investing.

Without blind faith, cannot make it one……keep searching until u find one asset/faith else like what some others are doing……..save cash and CPF and focus on active income and family well being for eg.

Blind faith implies that the investment isnt based on any rational reason, I think thats a bad idea.

The average person has about 40 years to accumulate assets before retirement, the consequences of betting on the wrong horse e.g silver can be dire.

revhappy

Blind faith implies that the investment isnt based on any rational reason, I think thats a bad idea.

The average person has about 40 years to accumulate assets before retirement, the consequences of betting on the wrong horse e.g silver can be dire.
It is relative right? If someone is saving money and buying silver at every fall and keeps accumulating for 40 years, I think will end up with a million dollars worth of silver and they would consider themselves as winners, even though maybe money in safe risk free bonds would have made the same amount of money.

This kind of blind belief is what most successful investors have. Their outcomes are much better than flip flopping investors. I put @Dividends Warrior in this category, because he has his style and blind faith in his style and he might end up with 2 million in REIT ETFs even with 5% gains and still he is winner because he stuck to it and didn't sell it at panick lows.

d5dude

Hey man, perfectly ok.
I cpuldn't sleep so I closed some itm calls (way too late) and bought more shares.
Other calls...all expired worthless.

I feel so much better.
Maybe I am a panican.

Good risk management is a must for anyone doing leveraged short term trading.

Jirachi

US CPI:

Core M/M +0.1% (Core unrounded +0.116% vs +0.227% m/m prior)
Core Y/Y +2.8%

Headline M/M -0.1% (Month-over-month unrounded -0.088% vs 0.216% prior)
Headline Y/Y +2.4%

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.