Vinyl Flooring

agcken12

do you even know what you are talking about? comparing vinyl flooring with those cheapo tiles from HDB?

some of the higher end condos are selling their projects with vinyl flooring.

what's so artificial and boring about vinyl flooring? the cheapo marble look alike tiles don't look artificial and boring?
somehow, i have to agree with u..

iamneverenough

for terrazzo flooring, is it okay to overlay vinyl? heard from others that terrazzo will not pop like tiles but is that true?

hyperfuse

do you even know what you are talking about? comparing vinyl flooring with those cheapo tiles from HDB?

some of the higher end condos are selling their projects with vinyl flooring.

what's so artificial and boring about vinyl flooring? the cheapo marble look alike tiles don't look artificial and boring?
most likely he is old uncle. see his nick. i assume from 1961 haha...

older folks like the traditional tile look..i find it damn old design taste.

Those newer dark tiles still okay, give off the atas look but those white or beige tiles given by HDB...really ugly sia.

I like vinyl flooring because it can simulate wood flooring but without the actual wood material because wood material like parquet is not good for long term usage too... easily dented if u drop things on the floor. easily scratched too. Vinyl wont be so easily scratch like parquet wood flooring.

darcbleu

can i check the connection point between vinyl and tiles, which is better option?

there is 2? one is the common stainless steel strips and the other one my id told me is like a curve connection?

bwaysaikryptonite

can i check the connection point between vinyl and tiles, which is better option?

there is 2? one is the common stainless steel strips and the other one my id told me is like a curve connection?

stainless steel ish always better..but chiu need to pay more. Those curve pvc type ish ugly and damage easily

johnong316

Well, they marketed it as highly scratch resistant due to its thicker wear layer.

My MBR vinyl from a famous Vinyl competitor do not have the same scratch marks and its only 0.5mm wear layer.

Its not how much i expect it to be, its just how a marketed 0.7mm wear layer gets scratched up so easily compared to a 0.5mm wear layer vinyl which doesnt.
Hi Im John from Mori. Wear and scratch resistance are 2 different things. Thicker wear layer is like a thick eraser. The thicker it is, you can rub longer. However the thick eraser can be soft and get scratch easily. Thicker wear layer is meant for higher human food traffic where there are much friction and abrasion on the vinyl floor.
However scratches is a different thing. We have pushed those solid teak wood cabinet without scratching the floor. And tried pushing a very light ikea cabinet and the floor got scratch. All u need is a tiny sand or small wood splinter that is on the cabinet base. In such granite will be scratch too.

Anyway things like this happens all the time. Just contact me via whatapps i get my worker to replace the scratched planks for you. Thanks.

hyperfuse

Hi Im John from Mori. Wear and scratch resistance are 2 different things. Thicker wear layer is like a thick eraser. The thicker it is, you can rub longer. However the thick eraser can be soft and get scratch easily. Thicker wear layer is meant for higher human food traffic where there are much friction and abrasion on the vinyl floor.
However scratches is a different thing. We have pushed those solid teak wood cabinet without scratching the floor. And tried pushing a very light ikea cabinet and the floor got scratch. All u need is a tiny sand or small wood splinter that is on the cabinet base. In such granite will be scratch too.

Anyway things like this happens all the time. Just contact me via whatapps i get my worker to replace the scratched planks for you. Thanks.

But mine was fix on end Dec 2019. Still able meh? .. actually u fix another part of my living room before..

Nakedtoes

Just install lurf quick step vinyl flooring for mine 3 bed rooms.. Old laminated flooring removed by ID. Went to floorxpert and got quoted a more expensive price then ID. Save about 1k in total.. Initially the floorxpert said might need to do self leveling for mine cement screed. However the installer came and see said dun need.. Althought I can feel some part near door entrance abit high... But still ok... Go with made in Belgium to have better peace of mind.

tingsters

i have overlay the existing hdb tiles with vinyl flooring..
there some hollow sound before enter the kitchen or the master room.
is it a sign to tell me the existing hdb tiles going to pop up or
the installation is not done properly ..

daniel_83

i understand that vinyl overlaying is 1 of the last few stages of renovation.

Do you (or the installation guys) ensure the floor is clean before doing the installation?

or they heck care and just overlay?

dilphinus

i understand that vinyl overlaying is 1 of the last few stages of renovation.

Do you (or the installation guys) ensure the floor is clean before doing the installation?

or they heck care and just overlay?
you are not doing carpentry works? not changing the doors?

dilphinus

i have overlay the existing hdb tiles with vinyl flooring..
there some hollow sound before enter the kitchen or the master room.
is it a sign to tell me the existing hdb tiles going to pop up or
the installation is not done properly ..
how is the installation not done properly?

you didn't pay extra to do underlay for the vinyl flooring?

gamerx

What's the market rate for LURF these days? ID quoted me $8+ psf inclusive of skirting. Is that too much?

im planning on overlaying porcelain tiles in an old resale hdb 25yr+ tile flooring, anything i should look out for or if anyone has experience with better options?

googoogaga

Hope you are okay with reduction in floor to ceiling height. HDB ceiling is already very low. You will make it worse by overlaying tiles.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.