Whatsapp on Android

2359_hrs

Need help from all the expert here

Planning to do a complete wipe on my phone and flash a custom rom...

1.Will my whatsapp groupchat be deleted(ie exit from group) when I reinstall? How about groups where I am the admin?

2. If Yes, how do i go about backing up group and group chats?

thunderskain

Need help from all the expert here

Planning to do a complete wipe on my phone and flash a custom rom...

1.Will my whatsapp groupchat be deleted(ie exit from group) when I reinstall? How about groups where I am the admin?

2. If Yes, how do i go about backing up group and group chats?

1. Nope, when u reinstall, an option at your chats will appear "Tap here to refresh groups" and all your groups come back! So no worries even though you are the owner, as long as you never press the delete and exit group, you will never ever leave the group.

2. I guess this qn need not be answered anymore then! But if you want you can do a titanium backup and restore everything of the whatsapp data and it will all come back too!

galapogos

Seems like Titanium Backup and restore doesn't keep whatsapp data anymore. I've tried it after flashing to Cyanogenmod 7.1 on my Desire Z, and I'm still made to verify my phone number.

Does anyone know how to port an account over if I started using whatsapp on an older number and have since changed my number?

thunderskain

Seems like Titanium Backup and restore doesn't keep whatsapp data anymore. I've tried it after flashing to Cyanogenmod 7.1 on my Desire Z, and I'm still made to verify my phone number.

Does anyone know how to port an account over if I started using whatsapp on an older number and have since changed my number?

Its still working bro.

Backup the APP+DATA in the original phone. Copy 3 FILES into the new phone! Restore the app there.. It should work like a charm..

No other way to port, in fact i'm not sure why would you want to port.. if you have a new number then use the new number, just let all your friends know you have changed the number :)

kuro

comparing whatsapp on android and iphone, android losing out a lot.

unable to cancel pic before it get send
unable to see when people update their status
unable to copy status

galapogos

Its still working bro.

Backup the APP+DATA in the original phone. Copy 3 FILES into the new phone! Restore the app there.. It should work like a charm..

No other way to port, in fact i'm not sure why would you want to port.. if you have a new number then use the new number, just let all your friends know you have changed the number :)

It doesn't work for me. All 3 files are copied. There are no special settings in the backup process to backup the app+data - it just backs up everything I think.

kennyboy

comparing whatsapp on android and iphone, android losing out a lot.

unable to cancel pic before it get send
unable to see when people update their status
unable to copy status
1) Don't attempt to send if you don't wanna send. :D
2) Don't so kaypoh, no need realtime updates one lah. :D
3) Copy your own status can leh, unless u mean copy others' statuses then refer back to pt 2. :D

:D

thunderskain

It doesn't work for me. All 3 files are copied. There are no special settings in the backup process to backup the app+data - it just backs up everything I think.

Hmm.. yeah theres no copy APP+DATA but it does copy both. When you restore you can just restore the data only but wipe the old data first, or restore APP+DATA if you haven't installed the APP yet..

If all else fails you can use a new app called data sync to sync the data from one device to another:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/...wxLDEsImNvbS5xdWludHN0b2ZmZXJzLkRhdGFTeW5jIl0.

If you need a guide/tutorial on using datasync, let me know :):):)

kuro

1) Don't attempt to send if you don't wanna send. :D
2) Don't so kaypoh, no need realtime updates one lah. :D
3) Copy your own status can leh, unless u mean copy others' statuses then refer back to pt 2. :D

:D

1) sometimes choose wrong pics
2) sometimes friends update overseas, unable to chat, but you don't know when they actually updated it
3) sometimes friends status in other language, don't understand

thunderskain

2) sometimes friends update overseas, unable to chat, but you don't know when they actually updated it

1) There is a confirmation screen before you upload that show u ur photo b4 u upload, so no reason to choose wrong.
2) Sometimes friends don't change status de... and when they don't reply is cos the off notfication..
3) Google translate XD

kennyboy

1) Sometimes mistakes can make things better! :D
2) Nvm, they will tell you when you try to chat. :D And you lazy to check their current status is not their fault. :D
3) ASK THEM VIA WHATSAPP. :D

ooliemoolie

I have a problem of duplicate messages appearing in Whatsapp, especially in group chats. What will happen is that messages sent a while ago will reappear with the current batch of messages, so sometimes it's hard to differentiate between new and old messages. Plus, the duplicate messages may also appear under another contact.

Anyone else encountering the same issue?

RelaxYou

Having some problems myself. Can't seem to be able to send images to a friend using iPhone.

kyochiro

I got a question..

iPhone whatsapp i paid for it using number A

but i buy the andriod phone with number B.

So if I were to extend my expiry, I will use number A on andriod, download and register, then change my sim card back to number B?

Hinata76

no...all stick to A.

this service is tied to one phone number only.

touchme

Got this message when starting WhatsApp, on ver.2.7.3581 now.
56JzN.jpg

Concerned will remove features/shorten license. Click 'back' can still work. Advisable to upgrade?

irritape

Got this message when starting WhatsApp, on ver.2.7.3581 now.
56JzN.jpg

Concerned will remove features/shorten license. Click 'back' can still work. Advisable to upgrade?

The license is tagged to your phone number. Don't worry

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.