Who regret doing tonsillectomy?

Unicornetto

I done mine many years ago. I faced the same situation as you, tonsils kept re-infected after recovery. No side effects after surgery, i am healthy and fit. The only thing u have to worry is the post ops recovery. After removal u will have 2 big ulcers inside ur throat, Just need to tahan 2 weeks, after that all are good.
Thanks for sharing your experience. You did excision or ablation? I heard now got 2 types. Either cut out or burn off.

Omg . The 2 big ulcers will take 2 weeks to recover? and you also need to be on liquid diet post op?

Mclairs83

I personally don't see it as a good option. You are not tackling the root problem. Inflammation can go other places after you remove tonsils. Calm your immune system is the correct way.

Next time inflammation happens to your stomach, you gonna remove stomach too? Until you remove all organs, inflammation won't stop.

i suggest you read this. your chinese medicine will not help.

https://www.nih.gov/news-events/nih-research-matters/understanding-recurrent-tonsillitis

Omg. You did at which hospital? I seeing subsidised I scared kena one cui doctor . U got kena any complications like excessive bleeding or clots post op?

i also take sips of water throughout the day but night time I sleep I get alot of dry mouth and throat due to auto immune condition so worry the op will make it worse

thanks for sharing your experience . Really appreciate it

TTSH. i think it's heng suay one la.. of course doctor will always tell u the potential "aftermath".. this is their general guidelines to "protect" themselves. personally i would say that your condition is way too serious, mine only kena every month 1 time. yours is 4x.

my youngest one also have the same problem as me, after removed.. no such problem of having fever due to tonsilitis...

if you sleep and always got dry mouth after that, then it means that you use your mouth to breath in. u will need to buy those surgical tape to tape your mouth vertically. this will force your body to breath through the nose.

yokine3a

I don't focus on western medicine, hence I won't use chinese medicine to cure tonsillitis, I probably treat her symptom from tcm pov.

Before western medicine entered china hundred years ago, those chinese solely used tcm to treat all illnesses. Not saying tcm is perfect, be it western or tcm, they both have pros & cons. If we are the patients, we should pick a treatment we most comfortable with.

tyk23

Thanks for sharing your experience. You did excision or ablation? I heard now got 2 types. Either cut out or burn off.

Omg . The 2 big ulcers will take 2 weeks to recover? and you also need to be on liquid diet post op?
I remember mine had 2 big burnt injury which became ulcers. Drink water also pain but i had lots of ice-cream and drank cold water to smoothen and numb pain. So yes, only liquid food need about 2 weeks to recover.

Unicornetto

i suggest you read this. your chinese medicine will not help.

https://www.nih.gov/news-events/nih-research-matters/understanding-recurrent-tonsillitis

TTSH. i think it's heng suay one la.. of course doctor will always tell u the potential "aftermath".. this is their general guidelines to "protect" themselves. personally i would say that your condition is way too serious, mine only kena every month 1 time. yours is 4x.

my youngest one also have the same problem as me, after removed.. no such problem of having fever due to tonsilitis...

if you sleep and always got dry mouth after that, then it means that you use your mouth to breath in. u will need to buy those surgical tape to tape your mouth vertically. this will force your body to breath through the nose.
Ya ya is Heng sway one . For me I always kena the sway part for all surgeries 😅

your surgery is under GA And day surgery? Need to stay overnight ?

Taping mouth very jialat. I will wake up many times breathless. Now I use those xylitol melts slowly dissolve in my mouth every night. Helps somewhat. And also wake up many times drink sips of water

Unicornetto

I remember mine had 2 big burnt injury which became ulcers. Drink water also pain but i had lots of ice-cream and drank cold water to smoothen and numb pain. So yes, only liquid food need about 2 weeks to recover.
Wah thanks for sharing. Sound so jialat.

can still talk after anot? Or throat pain can’t talk 😅

Mclairs83

I don't focus on western medicine, hence I won't use chinese medicine to cure tonsillitis, I probably treat her symptom from tcm pov.

Before western medicine entered china hundred years ago, those chinese solely used tcm to treat all illnesses. Not saying tcm is perfect, be it western or tcm, they both have pros & cons. If we are the patients, we should pick a treatment we most comfortable with.
TS already have recurrent tonsilitis 4 x month. since u so expert with TCM, can u suggest a non intrusive approach? if ur chinese med going to take few months to take effect, then TS worklife or daily lifestyle will be affected, and its not guarantee to work either. as the tonsil is already not doing its job to protect the system but rather harming the body system.

Ya ya is Heng sway one . For me I always kena the sway part for all surgeries 😅

your surgery is under GA And day surgery? Need to stay overnight ?

Taping mouth very jialat. I will wake up many times breathless. Now I use those xylitol melts slowly dissolve in my mouth every night. Helps somewhat. And also wake up many times drink sips of water

take a positive thinking. just make sure that u drink cold water and take painkillers to supress the pain.

for surgery, will be GA.. i can't recall whether did i stay overnight or not as its many years back.

try to consult your ENT/sleep specialist on this. sometimes it's due to your tonsil swollen and result in your breathing through your mouth. after i done my tonsiliectomy, i sleep better with taping my mouth and i don't snore much.

Unicornetto

TS already have recurrent tonsilitis 4 x month. since u so expert with TCM, can u suggest a non intrusive approach? if ur chinese med going to take few months to take effect, then TS worklife or daily lifestyle will be affected, and its not guarantee to work either. as the tonsil is already not doing its job to protect the system but rather harming the body system.

take a positive thinking. just make sure that u drink cold water and take painkillers to supress the pain.

for surgery, will be GA.. i can't recall whether did i stay overnight or not as its many years back.

try to consult your ENT/sleep specialist on this. sometimes it's due to your tonsil swollen and result in your breathing through your mouth. after i done my tonsiliectomy, i sleep better with taping my mouth and i don't snore much.
can talk.. just don't shout. speak less during the 1-2wks
Thanks for the assurance . Will keep those tips in mind. 😊

ya hor maybe that’s why I sleep not refresh one. Cannot sleep continuous. Wake up multiple times at night. 20 years back got do sleep study got mild sleep apnea but never mention about this tonsils . Will ask my ent doctor. Appt next week.

ok lucky can talk . Sometimes tonsillitis jialat I talk also pain

aarontansp

I am planned for one but I scared of complications and long lasting effects after. Heard voice change. Throat more dry and pain.

so who done tonsillectomy liao got any regrets and advice?
Do will regret, cos flow will be affected. U gonna live with it. Good luck

Just change your pillow

ClassyNFabulous

augmentin is a very stronk meds worrr. those of u who needa take loads of it, arent u all worried or concern?

Nefalrin

Is it painful ?
I thought this lump is grown by body as a part of immune system to help fight infection ?

Unicornetto

Is it painful ?
I thought this lump is grown by body as a part of immune system to help fight infection ?
Tonsillitis is painful. I haven done the surgery.

Ya tonsils is part of immune system but remove it doesn’t affect anything. Just that it won’t become swollen and inflame with every infection

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.