• No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

tidess

in sg no point
cus they will set the mimimum wage at 2$ or something similar

and for all of those who say that minimum wage do not work, you dont know anything
the main reason why countries have minimum wage is to prevent coys and employers to take advantage of people who are new to the workforce and minimum wage usually only applies to those people who are in the low income bracket/unskilled/uneducated people. like those people who pump your petrol, waitresses and often part time workers who are children

is it not to give professional workers more $$

tsuyuri

Its called the min wage because thats the lowest rate. But you shouldnt go below.

Pay is likely not going to double but maybe go up by $1-200

If $100 per worker is enough to kill your company something has gone wrong somewhere to let you find so many cheap workers in sg

it's greed lah. it's ****ed up. a company boss earning like 20-30k every month liao but if he were to deduct 2k from this monthly income to give 10 workers $200 more per month....

he wouldn't go with that.

minimum wages is to make things fairer for everyone. and lessen the income gap. really ****ed up how greed destroys people and the world.

tsuyuri

in sg no point
cus they will set the mimimum wage at 2$ or something similar

and for all of those who say that minimum wage do not work, you dont know anything
the main reason why countries have minimum wage is to prevent coys and employers to take advantage of people who are new to the workforce and minimum wage usually only applies to those people who are in the low income bracket/unskilled/uneducated people. like those people who pump your petrol, waitresses and often part time workers who are children

is it not to give professional workers more $$

ya but those pap fuggers use media scam the people. say minimum wage would make companies go away then there would be no job.. knn blatant liars.

really charles cheespies greedy people.

oldbreadstinks

minimum wage is an easy solution to infrastructural problems and being an easy solution, it can backfire.

what do i mean by infrastructural?

if companies are allowed to thrived in Singapore, the economy is thriving and the workforce's skills are rising, do you think we need min wages?

when there is good demand and good supply for employment, do you think we need min wage.

if market forces are working well, min wages are not needed.

if there is an underwage class suffering from extreme low pay, there are other ways to help them beside min wages.

i would rather high tax on high earners for the government to alleviate the poorest, then to have min wages implemented.

But the truth is market forces have already been proven not to work well after the last few crisis.
All it takes is one smart individual to game the system and lehman bros come back again.
Regulation is always a must to prevent extreme situations

oldbreadstinks

looks like we are talking about different things. the minimum wage here i'm talking about is only for low level workers like the cleaners or factory workers or waiters, etc. but some people just want to link them together with highly skilled workers stating that because of such minimum wage, even highly skilled workers will be paid the minimum wage.

the first example you give, that is a highly skilled industry, wages are well above the minimum wage

for the second example, i'd like to highlight to you that the cost of living in USA is lower than that of SG even with minimum wage well above what our low level workers are earning. the problem here in sg is the rent, not the wages.

Factory workers and waiters.can get 2-3 k a month.. no so for cleaners unless you're referring to dish washers, tia gong sushi dish washers do three thousand?:s13:

Most get $5-700. I hope min wage can at least give $7-800
Thats not too much to ask

kel666

omg, we still got ppl thinking min wages is for pmets...facepalm reh.

foreseer

we need minimum wage system. last time recommended was around $3.50?

I think $4.50 - $5 is about right for a start

oldbreadstinks

complete psychological reasons.

you have to think in the shoes of bosses to see where i'm coming from.

right now, there's no min wage ruling, none of that sort.

companies wont know whats the "best" wages to offer to their applicants, and they obtain this information through detailed analysis of their market, their competitors

so to attract people into their company, they differentiate their wages.

now, Boom, you give them a law to legalise min wages.

bosses will take to it like sharks smelling blood.

if all the bosses are giving the same wage, there's no incentives for people to work hard, to be motivated.

so the company's PR loses a lot. profit may start to decline.

Now, seeing their profits are declining, bosses will start to panic. Should they start to keep this min wage law, but differentiate the pay, and start offering higher pay?

Yes, they should.

But, no they will not. Many bosses will choose to relocate to neighbouring countries. There are min wages there too. but their currency is so much lower. RM800 as a min wage law in malaysia. can sg offer min wage of $300?
Why would a factory worker work in malaysia.when.they can cross a bridge everymorning and work here. Lol
Why do you think we still have factories here despite pay being $100usd or less in indonesia ?

If the comfort of the law protecting you here is not enough for you to pay for. You can always go to indonesia and open 3 account books for one company.:s13:

zephyr

If a part tine sec sch student can get 5/hr by working as a stocktaker, salesman, waiter, etc, why cant those old auntie cleaners get AT LEAST 5 per hour. Many are underpaid as they are unaware of wad they shud be getting. Not to mention some are desperate in need of money and will take up any odd jobs. Thats when some employers "scam" them by underpaying them.

oldbreadstinks

Minimum wage is not good.

It is just an artificially imposed floor level.

Price control.

It has no real basis in its fundamentals.
In other words, it is a superficial measure which will fail and will have negative consequences.

Poor people should have access to "means of productions" to really achieve an improvement.

I think we have to look at the choking and suffocating effects of GLCs like Temasek and all those companies.

If there is a more vibrant SME sector, wealth will be better distributed and there will be less rich-poor gap.

they'll never loosen their grip so next best is min wage.
And you need to jail the whole board of directors for any transgressions . Dont allow any fines .
Min wage to ensure employers dont cheat and do what i saw years back. Fine workers for poor work and deduct their pay to like $500 a month....:s22:

If setting it at $700 is too high then surely something is wrong with the way you people think.

Okenba

I really think fines are ridiculous. MBS break rule, fine. SMRT breakdown, fine.
What do you think these companies will do?
FACTOR THE BLEDDY FINES INTO THE COST OF BUSINESS LAH!

Why should they buck up and provide better quality services/not break the law, if they can just factor the cost of being fined into their cost of business?

So next rise in transport costs will be to help SMRT pay the fine to LTA for letting their trains breakdown.

And MBS will adjust the odds in the casino to favour the house a little more to make up for the fines that they have to pay for allowing Sinkies in for free.

Well done.

they'll never loosen their grip so next best is min wage.
And you need to jail the whole board of directors for any transgressions . Dont allow any fines .
Min wage to ensure employers dont cheat and do what i saw years back. Fine workers for poor work and deduct their pay to like $500 a month....:s22:

If setting it at $700 is too high then surely something is wrong with the way you people think.

awayaway

if we do not implement minimum wage, the low income workers pay will only get lesser and lesser as competition increases.

4Dluckystrike

Other developed countries have implrmented min wage for donkey years. What industry failure r we talking abt ?

JetStorm

If they give lower wage, people would not work for them and companies do need human resource. If there is a minimum wage, people who give lower than the minimum wage would have to increase their wages and icnrease their business costs BUT at the same time, companies who have gave more than the minimum wage can reduce it to just the minimum wage since it is deemed by the govt that we can survive with this minimum wage.

Which one do you prefer now? to be much much more than the minimum wage or just the minimum wage?

My two cents.

If such a law is passed, I do not forsee that most companies will reduce the prior salary to the mininum wage. Some appointment holders are paid higher because they take on more responsibility.

If people am going to be paid a minimun wage and with the same normal of stress, whats stopping them from downgrading to those low skilled stress free jobs? Imagine a toilet cleaner being paid ie, 3k a month compared to a everyday stressful client facing role at also the same pay. Which will you prefer?

With a mininum wage law, more singaporeans might be more willing to take on jobs which they previously do not want. As a result, Singapore is able to rely less on foreign talents as well.

I can only see a win win situation.

Kyoji83

If nothing is going to change, I am expecting to see a riots/strikes on the streets at least in 20 years time.

i think right now we are already on the equilibrium, the only time when we are off the charts is when u see riots and strikes on the streets.

Kyoji83

Yes, they can. But if the wage is not competitive, then just like your first scenario, they are forced to raise wages to the point where people will be attracted to work for them.

People are not going to magically think that a low wage is desirable just because there is a minimum wage.

No. Company will recruit those who have lower salary but with experiences (from the same position or 1 lower position from other company) to fill up the replacement position.

If the operation cost is too high, they can shift their operation to other country.

The way I see it, the question should be
Which one do you prefer? To have some workers below and some above minimum wage, or Have some workers at and some above the minimum wage?

As an employee, I choice to have some workers at and some above the minimum wage.

As an employer, I choice to have some workers below and some above minimum wage. To be reasonable, this is the only factor where I will consider fresh graduate for this position for lower wages.

So since we are all employees & not employer, they have the buying power for salary negotiation.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.