• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

fox1

Yeah right, the pricing of food in restaurants is determined by many factors such as competition besides labour costs, the prime factor is usually rent itself which is excessive and it’s funny that the government isn’t curbing this but chooses to undervalue labour instead.
Now you're earning like $1200 so your budget is cai png $3.

When you earn minimum wage become $3200, you will go to eat restaurant once in a while.
Even jio your fellow cleaning crew colleagues for makan session. So you take up table space from those $3500 salary people.
They have to wait for you lor.

If your salary remains at $1200, they don't have to wait for you to leave.

:)

Tremere

This sort of thread once every quarter will have some impact, but every month got some joker throw in a WoT to justify MW just gets boring.

Australia has a minimum wage of S$17.88, and their cost of living in lower than Singapore. Big ticket items such as car and housing are cheaper. Most of their construction workers, are white, btw, so the argument that locals don’t want such jobs is absolute baloney.

People say Australia high tax, pls la, cpf is unofficially a tax also. 37% even though you earn below 18k a year. In Australia is 0% haha.

It’s also funny that our ministers maintain the importance of paying themselves highly, but dismiss totally the need to pay people living wages. Even former Gic chief economist Lam Keong Yeoh thinks it’s ridiculous not to pay people minimum wage in the most expensive city.

:s8:
TS ah TS.
Alot of people in AU work below min wage.

Min Wage leads to unemployment.
Pay your maid SGD18 an hour okay or not?

A third of Australia's foreign workers paid less than half minimum wage – study
https://www.theguardian.com/austral...orkers-paid-less-than-half-minimum-wage-study

Shdwfalcon

If sinkies are willing to pay $10 for ckt and chicken rice at hawker centre then why not:s22:
That is completely bullshat. The biggest portion of expenses is usually rent and overhead and any other add on services they have to pay for. Labour is only a minor portion of the expenses.

Rhinehardt

Now you're earning like $1200 so your budget is cai png $3.

When you earn minimum wage become $3200, you will go to eat restaurant once in a while.
Even jio your fellow cleaning crew colleagues for makan session. So you take up table space from those $3500 salary people.
They have to wait for you lor.

If your salary remains at $1200, they don't have to wait for you to leave.

:)

Totally bs argument. Current situation without minimum wage, all go eat cai png or hawker, thus going by your logic, table space at hawker centre taken up, people have to wait for them Lor. Hello brother, the queue at restaurant also depends on how good the food is la. Idiot spotted.

Btw have you been to Hong Lim food centre? People earning 3k also eat at hawker centre.

kayaloti.club

There are already high minimum wage for EP, S-PASS, PR, MO and Ministers and in between.

Just no minimum wage for sinkies and national service.

Rhinehardt

TS ah TS.
Alot of people in AU work below min wage.

Min Wage leads to unemployment.
Pay your maid SGD18 an hour okay or not?

A third of Australia's foreign workers paid less than half minimum wage – study
https://www.theguardian.com/austral...orkers-paid-less-than-half-minimum-wage-study

That’s because they are stupid enough to accept wage though unofficial means..

By the way who cares about foreigners? If you’re a local citizen most likely earn minimum wage at least.

Singapore on the other hand, no minimum wage but foreigner have EP passes etc, we have NS they don’t, we have CPf they don’t.

Forever84

That’s bs because high rent is causing good and services to be more expensive here instead. Wei you think their Farmers in India or China ah? They have laws to ensure fair compensation.

You talk to Australian farmers before? Cause I have.

There will always be a group in society that is exploited for the benefit of others. Even having minimum wage won't change anything.

That’s because they are stupid enough to accept wage though unofficial means..

By the way who cares about foreigners? If you’re a local citizen most likely earn minimum wage at least.

Singapore on the other hand, no minimum wage but foreigner have EP passes etc, we have NS they don’t, we have CPf they don’t.

“Obey the law and go hungry, or work a cash-in-hand job,”

Not happy go eat left over food in Hawker Centre Okay.

Ubi-Warrior

Just rotate the jobs ....

Everyone do 3yrs and then switch to another job.

High Pay , Low Pay , Median pay.

Give everyone a taste of life

Sent from An Alternative Viewpoint On Life using GAGT

Ubi-Warrior

You talk to Australian farmers before? Cause I have.

There will always be a group in society that is exploited for the benefit of others. Even having minimum wage won't change anything.

Which is why exploitation of the system should be allowed.

A few folk earning some extra cash shouldnt be punished.

Unlikely cost of living gonna go down so the the system has to change

Rhinehardt

“Obey the law and go hungry, or work a cash-in-hand job,”

Not happy go eat left over food in Hawker Centre Okay.

No matter how hungry they are in Australia, it’s definitely worse back in their Home countries. Otherwise they would have packed up and left.

I think this bunch of foreigners you’re referring to in Oz are not international students also.

AyanoWalkenz

As a summary in the long run.
Min wage —> increased biz cost —> biz leaving —> increase unemployment.

Sg model cannot be compared to Australia model. We are heavily reliant on foreign and local business for sustainability; for work, for income. Unlike Australia, we don’t have Any domestic market.

So SG tax has to be so Low to attract business to come whilst Australia doesn’t have to.

What I don’t agree is the high rental cost. The higher the business cost, the lower the cost of labour.

Tremere

Just rotate the jobs ....

Everyone do 3yrs and then switch to another job.

High Pay , Low Pay , Median pay.

Give everyone a taste of life

I'd love to be your surgeon when you need emergency surgery to save your life :D

mp4005 help

Sg model cannot be compared to Australia model. We are heavily reliant on foreign and local business for sustainability; for work, for income. Unlike Australia, we don’t have Any domestic market.

So SG tax has to be so Low to attract business to come whilst Australia doesn’t have to.

What I don’t agree is the high rental cost. The higher the business cost, the lower the cost of labour.

it is because there is no control over the prices of rental. Open market concept.
That is why it is weird that the government want to intervene over cost of masks which companies are selling.
Open market - let market decide. Some policies cannot choose what you want to control and what you want open market to decide. it is either 0 or 1. It is all about being consistent in policies.

Min wage = higher cost of living period. Earn more spend more. Zero sum game. All lose in the long run. All costs will be passed on to consumers. Like what people said, you want chicken rice to cost $10?

It is all about spending power vis a vis the cost of living.

As mentioned, no country can be compared 100%. Demographics, natural resources, land, etc are all different.

I don't need to be a scholar to understand this. It is just common sense. :s8:

AyanoWalkenz

Yes Govt should not intervene the cost of mask! Willing buyer willing seller. But they just have to wayang ..

Rhinehardt

The summary is wrong because the biz cost is already decreased by our having one of the lowest company taxation rates in the world.

Despite having company taxes and living wages, Australia still manages to attract a lot of foreign MNCs.

Lastly, the attracting MNC model is not sustainable in the long run and Singapore has to grow its own SMEs into MNCs instead.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.