i had all along been using from dyndns. Problems all flow in with this fibre broadband.
On the IP Cam software on my computer, i can see and can open to the link and connect.
Other than that, no and sometimes intermittent...all connected using dyndns...
You are right on the URL. Thanks!
I used to be able to see it, can't remember which firmware. Now I am using
the H6837WIP, so I don't bother anymore on the H6837WI.
Now I guess your best bet is that MARIX finds their developer soon to develop the LIVE streaming for the H6837WI community so that sound
can be heard.
Dear All
Our domestic helper is arriving soon & we need to buy new IP Cams. We used to own d-Link 5220cams but sold them away because we were 'maid-less' for a couple of yrs.
Read that you all were recommending Foscam, VStarcam etc...
I am a dummy in all these. Could anybody pls advice if IP Cams nwadays still hv zoom in/out functions?
Wat I need basically is:
- clarity in images/ video views
- can view frm smartphones/ tablets which i believe majority can
- night vision viewing
- pantilt/ zooming
- audio
- recordable
- most important is cheap & gd
Thanks a heap!
Can you answer the below questions before giving you some advice
1) what kind of house are you staying in like HDB 3/4/5 rooms, condo, private house etc
2) what do you want your cameras for
3) how many cameras do you want to install and you want wireless/wired
4) what details you want to see? The white of the eye of the person, the gap between the teeth, just general monitoring will do
5) what broadband are you using like copper or fiber
6) what's your budget
Lastly, cheap and good cannot meet all those requirements you stated
Regards
)1) EA w/ 4 bedrooms. We have fixed spots for the cams already. Study room will not been monitored.
2) monitor helper since my kids (5 & 2) will b w/ her alone at home.
3) we used to have 2 DL-5220 in the hall cos L-shape - one for hall, one for 3 bedrms. Pan/tilt can c blind spots. Kitchen was a fixed set think DL-920. Dun rem giving away bt hb can't find tat set.
4) ha ha ha, no need gap betwn teeth kind of crystal clear lah. Jus tat at times need to zoom in to c something.
5) the usual broadband - not fibre yet
7) Budget - i lost touch w/ the price nwadays. if per set is ard low/mid $200+ still ok, but if it can be cheaper of cos it's better.
I dun expect cheap to the extent of $100 for all the features I need. But bcos one shot need to fork out alot of things - it's better b more cost-consicious. Lots of things spoilt at the same time (pc/ lappy need to be repaired too)
Thks in advance.
I got a vstarcam h6837wip, anyone can advise how to setup wireless connection to my home router?
I try cable no problem, then follow instruction from within webUi to setup wireless network. And the setup show detect my wireless and connect, but once i unplug the lan cable, it does not work. My router also does not seem to capture the ipcamera MAC addr....
Anyone can advise some help, thank
Suggestions
a) Determine your budget i.e. hardware + workmanship costs for a start
b) Set up the entire system using a single manufacturer, if possible i.e. buy everything from a single manufacturer like router/modem, dvr, IP cameras, POI, etc so that troubleshoot and support would be easier. Make sure there's local technical/device replacement support. Unless you're an expert on troubleshooting the mentioned devices from the various manufacturers otherwise follow the aforementioned.
c) Study your house layout and determine the strategic locations in placing your cameras. --> I already have fixed locations as mentioned. Because I used to own a few sets but sold them away.
d) Determine the quantity of fixed/PTZ cameras required to cover the entire house with overlapping need. --> My need is 2 w/ pan/tilt + 1 fixed
e) Buy cameras with wide angles for overlapping need. Long rectangular shape do not require wide angle cameras. Fixed cameras are good for video recording whereas PTZ cameras are NOT suitable for video recording--> My hall is L-shaped, not just long. Hence I need w/ panning feature.f)
g) Do not buy good low light cameras. Go for infra red night vision type instead. Cheaper IR cameras come with 950nm wavelength whereby you can see the annoying red glow in the dark. The more expensive 840nm IR cameras' glow is invisible.
h) Nowadays, the trend is towards HD H.264/MPEG-4 for clear images
i) Make sure you've enough bandwith to handle HD images/recordings
j) Determine whether you want just monitoring or monitoring plus recording
ok, stop for a moment
i have the exact same problem as you with the h6837wip. unplug the ethernet cable and no connection to the ip cam even though my wifi had been preselected earlier.
so much for plug and play
i tried another non plug and play model and managed to get it to work on wifi using the iphone safari browser to view the video...via the url 192.168.1.xxx:8081.
but how to get the supposedly setup idiot proof h6837wip to work on wifi?
experts please help...thanks
Suggestions
f) Fixed cameras are good for video recording whereas PTZ cameras are NOT suitable for video recording
i) Make sure you've enough bandwith to handle HD images/recordings
j) Determine whether you want just monitoring or monitoring plus recording
Like you all were mentioning abt Foscam/ VStarcam - they dun have one tat has zoom in feature right?
How about Aztech - I saw it at Courts, not sure if it's good though. Has anybody tried?
I saw this on a Motherhood forum "IP Cams" - does anybody knows of this?
for Point (f), it doesn't matters at all. PTZ still should be able to do decent recording as well.
for Point (i), I agree on your point. Many did not factor in this portion, ending up blaming the cameras' performances
for Point (j), that's a good valid consideration point.
For point f), it does matters as he's running on copper which max out at about 21Mbps (if I'm not wrong). Small action like a slap on the face might be missed as PTZ cameras don't move in continuous smooth motion in millimeter movement, agree?
Thanks for answering. Ok, basically I would like to know which brand of cameras will have local support, then also w/ pan/ tilt + zoom in feature + night vision type.
Once I have an idea of the brands, we will run thru & select those that best fits ourbudget.
Like you all were mentioning abt Foscam/VStarcam - they dun have one tat has zoom in feature right?
How about Aztech - I saw it at Courts, not sure if it's good though. Has anybody tried?
I saw this on a Motherhood forum "IP Cams" - does anybody knows of this?
Technical Specification:
- Sensor 1/4" CMOS / CCD sensor
- Total of Pixel 300k
- Minimum illumination IR lights on 0 Lux
- Lens f=4.5mm, F=2.0, Fixed Iris
- Pan Coverage 350°
- Tilt Coverage 60°
- Preset Numbers 1
- Lighting Control Auto / Manual control
- Lighting 8pcs 850nm Infrared lights, 5m distant
- Resolution VGA/QVGA/QQVGA
- Compression H.264
- Frame rate 30fps
- Bit rate 128kbps ~ 2.048Mbps
- Image Rotation Mirror /Up-side down
- OSD Support
- Audio Compression G.711
- Basic Protocol TCP/IP, UDP/IP, HTTP, SMTP, FTP, DHCP, DDNS, UPNP, NTP
- Other Protocol WIFI
- Mobile Phone View M-JPEG and H.264 dual streaming, M-JPEG Streaming sent to mobile phone
- Video control Support
- Memory SD Slot
- Memory Snap or video into SD card (32GB max.)
- Weight 358g
- Main body 111mm(L)*107mm(W)*121mm(H)
- Power DC 5V
- Power consumption <6W
- Operating temperature 0°C ~ 45 °C
- Humidity 10% ~ 80% non-condensing
- OS Supported Microsoft Windows 98/2000/XP/Vista, Mac OS
- Browser Internet Explorer6.0 and Above or Compatible Browser, Safari/Firefox etc.
- Application Software Bundle with management software for multiple IP camera view
- Browser SD card View or download from network
- Motion Detection Yes( 4 zone detection )
- Triggered Actions Email/FTP/SD storage/external alarm/send message to alarm server
- User Setting Three levels
- Date/ Time Setting Support
- Upgrade Upgrade from network
- DDNS Support DynDns
- Ethernet 10Base-T/100base-TX
- Alarm In 1 way
- Alarm Out 1 way
- Dual way audio Support
- Audio In Internal mic x 1, audio input interface x 1
- Audio Out Audio output interface x 1
You've 4 bed rooms + a L-shape hall + kitchen + balcony? 2 PTZs + 1 fixed cameras will be adequate to cover the entire house just to monitor your maid?
Just a comparison. I'm staying in a 4-room HDB flat and I've 10 cameras (8 for inside the house and 2 for the main door) and still the coverage is incomplete because some of the earlier models have small FOV. 3 of them have IR capabilities and the remainders are in the process of changing once the right cameras are available. All for the purpose of monitoring my elderly, maid and the security of my house.
Sorry, I've no experience with Aztech/Foscam/ VStarcam cameras. I'm using everything by DLINK i.e. router, modem, dvr and IP cameras. Although you may not get the best of everything from their devices but it simplifies troubleshooting and the support is good so far.
That unknown brand PTZ camera spec you put up looks ok. However, it's best to see for yourself the actual performance at the shop. Does it support iOS or android or what system on your mobile phone? Please check for troubleshooting and technical/replacement support.
Because you're running on copper don't be surprise if the cameras' movement is jerky.
Our old 5220 resolution isn't v clear though we can tell who tat person is. During night time w/ living room lights is still do-able bt not so visible. No light is def out - can't see anything.