Wireless IP Camera thread

pilotsnoopy

Panasonic.

am surprised not much mentioned of Panasonic cams here...is it because of their cost?

Apparatus

RE

My layout is such a way tat main door & hall is an L-shape. So I put at one corner & can c the whole living room. The other PTZ I place outside my mbr - my mbr is standalone on one wall while the other 3 rooms are along the same wall. the one outside mbr can c mbr + 2 other bedrooms - 3/4~4/5 of the rooms. I dun hv cam to monitor the study room. Bt since there is nothing valuable there, I dun really bother. As for the kitchen, I put a fixed cam on the two-tier tray & focus only on stove/ kitchen area. Dun rem the angle bt it's DLink-920 I think.

We were 'studying' the layout prior to renovation to minimise the usage of too many cameras + $$$. We asked ID to put powerpoint inside the false ceiling bt removable cover.

After discussing w/ hb, he actually prefers VStarcam, even though there's no zoom function. Our DLink 5220 has it, though only 4x Optical. He said it's gd to have bt if really makes a big diff then may do away w/o it.

I assume DLink 5230/ 5222 might b $300+ & abv. So it's out of our budget. Lets see if we will strike 4D this weekend. :s13: Our old 5220 resolution isn't v clear though we can tell who tat person is. During night time w/ living room lights is still do-able bt not so visible. No light is def out - can't see anything.

How much did you pay for DLink models - which one did you get? Care to share w/ me an estimate on pricing? It's still hb's fav cos their support is 24/7 bt bcos of budget - we may get a cheaper one. I notice their prices dun really go down leh.. so sad :(

Thks to all for your great help! ;)

Hi!

If your intention of installing the 2 PTZs + 1 fixed cameras is to monitor your maid's activities like abusing your children in your/family members' absence, theft etc then PTZ is not a good solution. It's impossible to monitor/record every corner with just 3 cameras. Ask yourself do you/family members look into the house every second when you all are out to work/study?

Do not save on surveillance systems if you're concern with the safety of your children.

My DLINK cameras are old models like the 6620G(IR)/2100G/2120G (except the recently purchased 2x942L) and are no longer selling so it's no point mentioning their prices. I don't think I can recall their prices either.

However, the 2x942Ls have IR which glow in the dark so they're not suitable to be used inside the house as the red glow is annoyingly RED like the red traffic light. However, I used them to monitor my main door so they're ok.

Dr_ARCHer

well they are certainly not lack of features as well...

Compared to the earlier generations of Dlinks and Linksys, the features are comparable. But newer generations are cheaper and more feature-rich than the Panasonic.

ap_atxr

Hi!

If your intention of installing the 2 PTZs + 1 fixed cameras is to monitor your maid's activities like abusing your children in your/family members' absence, theft etc then PTZ is not a good solution. It's impossible to monitor/record every corner with just 3 cameras. Ask yourself do you/family members look into the house every second when you all are out to work/study?

Do not save on surveillance systems if you're concern with the safety of your children.

My DLINK cameras are old models like the 6620G(IR)/2100G/2120G (except the recently purchased 2x942L) and are no longer selling so it's no point mentioning their prices. I don't think I can recall their prices either.

However, the 2x942Ls have IR which glow in the dark so they're not suitable to be used inside the house as the red glow is annoyingly RED like the red traffic light. However, I used them to monitor my main door so they're ok.

I get wat u mean abt the # of cameras. Bt I dun want to put all over the place, makes my house like a heavily guarded place. Will put only at the main areas. last time while at work, usually I will leave them on, then w/ sound, I can hear wats happening. On/ off I will pan all the 2 cameras to track them down.

Went to c the cctv cameras instead. The cost of the cameras + the recorder is not cheap - ard $500. Bt the installation itself is exp. Foreseen $1k for everything.

I noticed VStarcam 6837WIP, the # model is the same, since it's frm China. Ace Gadget seems to have rebranded w/ their name but retaining the model #.

ap_atxr

Just went to VStarcam to read up on #7839, seems to be more on wat we want & there is a pre-order. But it will come only end Oct. :(

I asked if they have any sets for rental but too bad dun hv. How....

Btw, if it's on HD, does it mean if our broadband is not sstrong/ fast enuff, it wil be slowed down too?

spinoza7

Hi guys,

Are there any ip camera which can play back sound after recording?

Thanks in advance for any advice! :s12:

ap_atxr

I am wondering if anybody out here would be so kind to lend me 2 Pan/Tilt IP Cameras to endure till the new model is out? I can put a deposit to the cameras with you till I return them. I do not mind if it's via the dyndns site cos I sued to do that w/ my DLink.

It's just that I am so near to the new model yet I have to get the old ones when eventually the price is not much of great difference.

Sorry if you think that I am too abrupt to request for this. But I really want to get just the new models since it fits wat I am looking at - it's a PTZ IP Cam & price wise is acceptable.

One question - y will people use IP & not cctv network cams? IP - if computer down, everything is down right? Is cctv the same or it still continues running on its own?

geckoSG

Just went to VStarcam to read up on #7839, seems to be more on wat we want & there is a pre-order. But it will come only end Oct. :(

I asked if they have any sets for rental but too bad dun hv. How....

Btw, if it's on HD, does it mean if our broadband is not sstrong/ fast enuff, it wil be slowed down too?

Be patient. At least you get a much better model than anyone out there who already had an E7839WI on hand. Many of them are KPKB over the bottom placed IR sensor which triggers when the camera is tilted downwards in broad daylight. Somemore, the model we are getting in SG is Plug n Play (WIP).

MARIX makes an effort to bring in and test the camera properly, make sure manufacturer changes the design which benefits the consumer here in the end. Good stuffs takes time.

BTW, Risks are too high and not worth the effort at all to rent an IP camera to anyone.

If on HD, I expect more data flow across my network from the camera to where I am viewing over the web browser.

geckoSG

Hi guys,

Are there any ip camera which can play back sound after recording?

Thanks in advance for any advice! :s12:

VStarcam's E7839WIP. I did a review on it for MARIX, but you need to manage your expectation on sound. Its just like plugging in a mic to your laptop. How clear you hear is how close you are to the mic. But sound from IP cameras will NEVER match the sound from laptops.

This is same for all the rest of those cameras of same price range on the market. So far, I've not came across any cameras that can give crystal clear recording of sound.

Dr_ARCHer

This is same for all the rest of those cameras of same price range on the market. So far, I've not came across any cameras that can give crystal clear recording of sound.

Within my 'arsenal' of IP cameras, the one that give the best sound is the Dlink DCS-5635. I even attached a speaker to it and could have 2-way conversation with my kids.

kannister

Hope the someone can help me, I'm a IT dummy...

These are the set-up:

Starhub maxonline + TPLink Router + Prolink IP PIC1003WP (connected wirelessly).

Viewing is through Prolink apps in iPhone.

When my iphone is hooked onto the same Wifi, it's perfect! But once it's on 3G, the video stops and play intervally, but when phone hooked onto Wifi in office, also the videos will stop and play, stop and play.

Only when phone and the camera are nearby hooking onto same Wifi then will be perfect. Why?

Is it due to the phone download speed on something wrong with my wireless router / Ip camera?

Please help...:(

geckoSG

Hope the someone can help me, I'm a IT dummy...

These are the set-up:

Starhub maxonline + TPLink Router + Prolink IP PIC1003WP (connected wirelessly).

Viewing is through Prolink apps in iPhone.

When my iphone is hooked onto the same Wifi, it's perfect! But once it's on 3G, the video stops and play intervally, but when phone hooked onto Wifi in office, also the videos will stop and play, stop and play.

Only when phone and the camera are nearby hooking onto same Wifi then will be perfect. Why?

Is it due to the phone download speed on something wrong with my wireless router / Ip camera?

Please help...:(

Upload speed @ camera source (internet)

Dr_ARCHer

If your phone is in the same network (wi-fi) as your camera, then the images need only travel locally from the camera to your phone.

However, if your phone is not on the same network, but is connected via 3G, then the images travel out of the home network, onto the internet, then to your phone.

Based on my tests, if your camera is on a different ISP as your phone, there is even a network lag.

kannister

I managed to refund the Prolink cam after several test at the service centre with many sets and same result.

Bought a D-link (without pan/tilt) at $179 and it works perfectly this time.

vampire5

VSTARCAM

Something I really cannot understand, there is a P2PCAM264 application, why do you still want to view via mobile browser at such? What mobile device are you using?

If you want to see non-LIVE Streaming, you can actually download their VStarcam Video Surveillance System and add your camera to it and view.

The safari viewing is possible too, you just need to do port forwarding on your router if you want to view via web browser on mobile. Its the same for all the IP Cameras.

Hi there, Sorry for the late reply. Actually it is for standby , just in my case i have 2 flat batteries for my s2 ( it happens ) but i still have immediate access to computers outside.

By the way, my S2 does not connect very well with the P2PCAM264 ... sometimes , I have to restart the app a fews and wait a long time to get connected to view the VSTARCAM camy.

so if my port forwarding for external viewing is done correctly, so how do I view the camera on another computer outside?
should I go to <myserialnumber.dns.gocam.so> to view my unit? thanks in advance.

geckoSG

so if my port forwarding for external viewing is done correctly, so how do I view the camera on another computer outside?
should I go to <myserialnumber.dns.gocam.so> to view my unit? thanks in advance.

My SII no problem so far. Try downloading the PnPCam H apps from PLAY, it works fine too.

Oh ya... external computer wise, use myserialnumber.gocam.so will do. The myserialnumber.dns.gocam.so is for mobile apps like LIVE CAMS PRO or IP CAM VIEWER PRO setup usage.

marixsupport

Just to share with everyone about the VStarcam H6837WI. There is good news from the developer of IP Camera Viewer Pro and our factory. Soon, we should be able to do LISTEN and SPEAK over Robert Chou's APP. Work is in progress.

Also, shipment are out from factory to SG for the SG Edition of E7839WIP. New APP is also available for the camera instead of the P2PCAM264. We'll invite geckoSG bro to do another review again once the enhanced models arrive.

We thank him for sharing his experience with the community here. Dr_Archer, once stocks for E7839WIP is in, we'll contact you to pop over to our humble office to view it. Sorry for the delay, but we really hope to get a near flawless model here.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.