Working Shoe for Young Exec

aqf

Any recommendation for leather shoes. I have plantar fasciitis(heel pain) due to long wearing of my pedro shoes. Now I need a new pair of shoes that have enough cushioning.

paragon88

Any recommendation for leather shoes. I have plantar fasciitis(heel pain) due to long wearing of my pedro shoes. Now I need a new pair of shoes that have enough cushioning.

you can try zara or beatles

purple

Heel pain? Why not go for Cole Haan - they have some Nike Air technology which is customed for those who need to walk more

TheKid

4ruffd.jpg

hst201

Comparison of various English-made shoes

Hi guys

Am a new-comer to this forum.

Would like to get your views on the look/design, quality and value (quality over price) of the following English shoe brands

1. John Lobb
2. Edward Green
3. Tricker's
4. Crockett & Jones
5. Church's
6. Cheany
7. Foster & Son

I currently own 2 pairs of Church's and 1 pair of Cheany, amongst other Italian-made shoes. Would really like to get a pair of JL as I really like their designs.

Look forward to exchanging views with you guys.

pronxs

Hi guys

Would like to get your views on the look/design, quality and value (quality over price) of the following English shoe brands

1. John Lobb
2. Edward Green
3. Tricker's
4. Crockett & Jones
5. Church's
6. Cheany
7. Foster & Son

I currently own 2 pairs of Church's and 1 pair of Cheany, amongst other Italian-made shoes. Would really like to get a pair of JL as I really like their designs.

in all honesty, you are in the wrong forum, sir. not a lot of people have c&j, church's, moreover john lobb.

try styleforum.com --> men's clothing.

atypical

Hi guys

1. John Lobb
2. Edward Green
3. Tricker's
4. Crockett & Jones
5. Church's
6. Cheany
7. Foster & Son

Seen JLP in HKG. Damn Up. Price also damn up. Haven't seen EG in person, so can't comment much, but from what I've read, it will be my first choice from your list. JLP second, but purely because of styling preference.

Church's belongs to Prada now, I think you know, so imo, it's not worth the price they're asking now. Great shoes, but overpriced.

With PLAL just over the causeway in KL, C&J offers the best value. As a Handgrade owner, I rate it in 3rd. Tricker's very close behind, but that's also because I don't really feel for their styling.

Seen Cheaney online. I think they seem to be quite good also.

I think this list, at the moment, may be a bit too atas for most contributors of this thread. BUT, I hope everyone who come across these makers, spend sometime understanding why they are expensive.

pronxs

hi atypical, for PLAL order we need to go KL or can just call them?
any lead time?

hst201

Seen JLP in HKG. Damn Up. Price also damn up. Haven't seen EG in person, so can't comment much, but from what I've read, it will be my first choice from your list. JLP second, but purely because of styling preference.

Church's belongs to Prada now, I think you know, so imo, it's not worth the price they're asking now. Great shoes, but overpriced.

With PLAL just over the causeway in KL, C&J offers the best value. As a Handgrade owner, I rate it in 3rd. Tricker's very close behind, but that's also because I don't really feel for their styling.

Seen Cheaney online. I think they seem to be quite good also.

I think this list, at the moment, may be a bit too atas for most contributors of this thread. BUT, I hope everyone who come across these makers, spend sometime understanding why they are expensive.

Agree with you totally that we need to understand why they are so expensive. I bought my Church's and Cheany from a factory outlet in UK, at what I thought are very reasonable prices for their quality (Church's for about S$320,and Cheany about S$180). I wear them in rotation with other shoes I have. Certainly holding up very well.

Indeed, JL and EG are very pricey. I am going to HK in Jun - hopefully the shops there would have a sale.

purple

EG, JL, C&J. In that order imho
I'm loving my Grenson Rose shoes.. Do give them a try as well..
Agreed with atypical.. Tricker's shoe shape is too conservative

atypical

EG, JL, C&J. In that order imho
I'm loving my Grenson Rose shoes.. Do give them a try as well..
Agreed with atypical.. Tricker's shoe shape is too conservative

Yes, Grenson, definitely in the list. My Kent is serving me very very well .....

Steer clear of the Feathermaster range.

Masterpiece range is peng excellent, but now I think Grenson only made them for Paul Stuart ..... From what I've seen online, they seem better than C&J Handgrade, but hard to say for sure ..... :)

atypical

Pardon me, but I think Pedro is a waste of time (and money, of course) .... boh jit tiam swee, bad fit, bad construction, lousy leather, terrible worksmanship. Wah lau!

You owe it to your own health. Your feet deserve better, dude.

I'm not sure if the cushioning will be enough for you, but I think ErgoLabs (I know Marina Sq got one) has a pair of derby that is very well styled, peng elegant, well constructed, good leather, and not too heavy.

My colleague bought a 2nd pair of the same model after the first one worn out. He let me tried it for a while, and I must say they're definitely comfy and high value for money. Check it out!

atypical

Heel pain? Why not go for Cole Haan - they have some Nike Air technology which is customed for those who need to walk more

mai lah, bro, S$500+ for a pair of Made in India shoo, boh hua lah ..... Heavy also .... :D

atypical

Agree with you totally that we need to understand why they are so expensive. I bought my Church's and Cheany from a factory outlet in UK, at what I thought are very reasonable prices for their quality (Church's for about S$320,and Cheany about S$180). I wear them in rotation with other shoes I have. Certainly holding up very well.

Indeed, JL and EG are very pricey. I am going to HK in Jun - hopefully the shops there would have a sale.

Bravo! Good cop on the Church's and Cheany. I'm sure they will serve you well. Yes, June/July is definitely a good time to comb Hong Kong. There got EG. All the best! Share with us if you hoot some back hor! Thanks! :s13:

atypical

hi atypical, for PLAL order we need to go KL or can just call them?
any lead time?

Best, of course, is if you can go to KL, but I just emailed Mr. Doshi. He's a great advisor too. He got my Savile spot on! Call him also can.

I think, still, shipping to Singapore for C&J Handgrades are free. The shoes reached me in less than a week after I paid. CC.

What model do you have in mind? :D

cowculator

IMHO no point wearing nice shoes. Take train, let people step. Drive, the right shoe crease more than left ones, unless you go through the hassle of wearing driving mocs. Raining, leather soles kenna wet also LL. People don't take the time to polish also. Buy lousy ones wear liao jus throw. Good shoes in our humidity the leather also LL. No need to pay more than $100 for shoes.

People say better shoes can re-soled so better value but not really true. Don't have expertise here to do that. Sending them back to and fro can buy you a new shoe. Local shops do a F up job, doesn't replace the cork filling, sometimes the welt cut so close already they also don't replace...

BTW, in the last two years, even though the Grenson "Rose" is still made in Britain (actually only assembled, welted and burnished), all the uppers are finished and the leather is even sourced and tanned in India. The rest of their range is made entirely in India. If your Rose collection is more than 2 years ago, then it is still possible that they are made entirely in UK. As far as I know, they still make in Rushden for other brands/ retailers like Tim Little.

kazuki666

Saw an exotic never hear before brand in bata, and it looks quite nice. Kowalski, it claims to made in Spain.
bought at $59, claim to be $249. I doubt that ex lah:s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.