Xiaomi Mi Max

walkofwinners

Then we have to manual flash it to global miui 8 right if we wanna upgrade? Bo OTA for that?

Edit: so bros here flash their rom is because they worry the pre installed rom is fake with malware and not official?

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

Yeah the set I am holding now had some weird rom labelled as global stable and I couldn't update with a new rom via the updater method.

Figured out it should be a rogue rom so I flashed it via mi flash to miui 8 beta. You never know what sorts of crapware they preloaded into the rom. Better to be safe.

i1magic

This is the About Phone.

FwfgQY3.jpg

What ROM is this?

Nakedtoes

Ok. So do I know that this is India set? Anyway to confirm?

So the OTA, should update or don't update?

from the packaging lor.. and indian set if u smell the charging hole got slight curry smell..:D

KingOfSbw

Yeah the set I am holding now had some weird rom labelled as global stable and I couldn't update with a new rom via the updater method.

Figured out it should be a rogue rom so I flashed it via mi flash to miui 8 beta. You never know what sorts of crapware they preloaded into the rom. Better to be safe.

Thanks! will check later when collecting the phone

global... when i got the phone is also 7.5.3.0... now is 7.5.7.0 quick go update.

even India set cant OTA to MIUI 8 beta?

Oinkize

Middle sky selling $292 now. Left 1 set...

http://www.lazada.sg/mi-max-32gb-gold-export-7903294.html

kandinsky

Then we have to manual flash it to global miui 8 right if we wanna upgrade? Bo OTA for that?

From my understanding, those who flash now is cos they don't wanna wait for the official rollout, so they flash to MIUI 8 beta/developer ROM. If not urgent, just wait for official rollout, should have OTA update to MIUI 8.

If not more delays, the latest news is that it's targeted for 23 Aug:

Xiaomi's MIUI 8 release was postponed and now it's confirmed that it will be rolled out for users on August 23, 2016.

On a Facebook Live with News18.com at the Redmi 3S launch event, Jai Mani from Xiaomi confirmed to us that the software update will roll out on 23 August.

http://www.news18.com/news/tech/xiaomi-miui-8-release-on-august-23-is-confimed-1278229.html

i1magic

wow from smartcell? India set??

mine is already at collection point which i just ordered yesterday, will be going down later evening for collection
hope to get the india set :s22:

Yes. From SmartCell. Ordered on 11 Aug, 1am or 2am. Today reached me liao, very fast.

Please it is loaded with official Global ROM liao. Si bei song!

rECKleSSfElla

I dont wanna sound harsh but seriously i dont know what all this fuss on china set, indian set, global rom, tempered rom is about. Regardless what set or what rom your phone is on, the avenue is there for you to just flash it back to global stable or miui 8 beta. And the flashing process is so simple and idiot proof(if you follow the steps) and you dont have to be a rocket scientist to do it yourself. Ok, maybe some people just want a phone that works perfectly out of the box, but knowing how to flash your phone is actually good knowledge to have and it helps in the event your phone runs into problem in the future. The chances of actually hard bricking a SD phone is so much lower compared to mtk phones.

i1magic

Congrats for getting the india set

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

wah congrats indian set... open straight can OTA update:s13: still remember when i received mine i thought i got a fake xiaomi phone.. until i search for indian set packaging. LOL

Start the phone and ask to sign in on Google liao.

I already prepared myself to be on "flashing mode" tonight liao but I guess don't need liao.

But when MIUI 8 is out, to upgrade, will data be wipe?

kandinsky

7.5.7.0 is better? Somebody updated and kana boot loop right?

That one is the owner ownself flash one, maybe that's why kenna boot loop? Dunno, mine was flashed by shop and updated fine leh. Yours is stock from factory, lagi safe, i wouldn't worry.

i1magic

Start the phone and ask to sign in on Google liao.

I already prepared myself to be on "flashing mode" tonight liao but I guess don't need liao.

But when MIUI 8 is out, to upgrade, will data be wipe?

Go straight to MIUI8 Global Beta is the best.... Skip the MIUI7....Kekeke.

However, you must know how to flash...

Now that the set I got is already on Global ROM, I can just download the Recovery file and flash via the "Updater" can liao right?

kelvinti

Yes. Since it is the first day, go MIUI8 beta is the best.

Your Mi Max performs even better and smoother and when the official rom is released, just update it. Simple. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.