Xiaomi MiTV2 help

i1magic

Considering the total cost of: tv, shipping fees, agent fees, gst, insurance and dunno what else

Plus there is a risk of damage along the way, no warranty support, Xiaomi aftersales support sucks in China anyway.

And there seems to be quite a few people complaining of black screen, half-black screen, noisy screen, light leakage, and vertical lines showing up within a few days/weeks after purchase.

So combining all the above, the qoo10 price is not attractive at all, the 65daigou price is borderline attractive, and the price if I bought through a 3 party freighter like HongXun Logistics is quite attractive. Why Xiaomi dun quick sell officially in Singapore? I woould be very willing to pay up to $1100-1200 for the 55 inch TV3, provided the image quality is good and there is full warranty and good aftersales support.

If Xiaomi TV can be officially sold in Singapore, it'll confirm shake the TV market till jialat jialat.

i1magic

it's due to the legality of the content that the xiaomi tv can promise, you don't see xiaomi box officially sold in xiaomi SG for the same reason

Yah. That was what I thought too. When you want to sell a TV in Singapore, must get IDA approval etc correct?

If I am Xiaomi, I'll categorise Mi TV 3's screen / panel as "Monitor" and sell it with a special cable which allow it to be really use as a monitor. If I'm not wrong Mi TV 3 panel only got Mi Port and nothing else, so they must make a special cable with HDMI (Maybe + Display Port) connector with a power adapter.

Then for the soundbar, take out the Android TV box part and make it as a separate module.

If I'm not wrong, by going this way, they will be able to get their TV into more countries and don't have to go thru too much "red tapes".

i1magic

You should consider getting mitv 3 55 or 60 inch model. It is a very high end product at an unbelievable price. The motherboard is external which makes repair fairly easy. should the internal pcb spoilt on main panel, you can buy the spoilt pcb on taobao. The external motherboard can be upgraded every 24months due to technology obsolescence.

Are you sure that the internal PCB of the panels can be bought easily from Taobao? I tried before but couldn't find. Can share link?

i1magic

Considering the total cost of: tv, shipping fees, agent fees, gst, insurance and dunno what else

Plus there is a risk of damage along the way, no warranty support, Xiaomi aftersales support sucks in China anyway.

And there seems to be quite a few people complaining of black screen, half-black screen, noisy screen, light leakage, and vertical lines showing up within a few days/weeks after purchase.

So combining all the above, the qoo10 price is not attractive at all, the 65daigou price is borderline attractive, and the price if I bought through a 3 party freighter like HongXun Logistics is quite attractive. Why Xiaomi dun quick sell officially in Singapore? I woould be very willing to pay up to $1100-1200 for the 55 inch TV3, provided the image quality is good and there is full warranty and good aftersales support.

I personally have tried Xiaomi support in Singapore. Chose English and must wait very long and no reply. So I select Chinese and straight away, I got thru. LOL!

Anyway, they were pretty helpful with and even email me information to help and I could email them back. Not sure about China side but IIRC somebody here got the China Xiaomi customer service to help him over a call made via We Chat!

Could you let us know who or where are the people who are complaining about black screen, half black screen etc? Maybe share the link of the forum that you read from?

Of the few channel, I'll confirm get via the seller on Qoo10. Because most of them will deliver the TV to you, power it up, show that it is working ok and then go. If got problem, they'll bring it back and send replacement. So for them to avoid that, they get people from China to check before sending over. Upon reaching, they check again to make sure all are ok.

For all this "work" they do, I would prefer to paid a little bit more and get via that channel.

crandfs

The complainers can be found on the xiaomi's official shop on tmall. I prefer to look through the 追评, got a scarily high proportion of complaints there, Usually most items in most shops dun have so many. Could be competitors faking bad reviews of course, but they have photos of their screen too

i1magic

The complainers can be found on the xiaomi's official shop on tmall. I prefer to look through the 追评, got a scarily high proportion of complaints there, Usually most items in most shops dun have so many. Could be competitors faking bad reviews of course, but they have photos of their screen too

Oic. Could you just send us the link of those which you have come across? At least people here can be warned here.

If the problem is found in China, they could get Xiaomi to resolve the problem for them right? Did they do that? Because for me, if the item I received got problem but the seller resolve it for me, I'll still leave a good feedback.

But if the seller bo chup me then that's it liao lah.

xenocide

Same here. This is as far as I could get. Can sign in but just couldn't work.

I am on Starhub 200Mbps plan and AFAIR I got no connection issue with TV Plus 2.0. I just recontracted with Starhub and upgrade to 1Gbps too.

They gave me a package :

$88.80/mth for 1Gbps fibre + Cable TV.

Best part is that they waive first 6mths x $88.80 ($532.08) subscription.

So it works out to be about $67/mth for 1Gbps fibre with Cable TV + Digital voice of course.
Hmmm... My TVPlus will load but for a few secs. Then starts buffering non stop. Can't even watch properly... Other apps are ok though...

Sent from LGE LG-H961N using GAGT

badsector

Are you sure that the internal PCB of the panels can be bought easily from Taobao? I tried before but couldn't find. Can share link?

this review said it's in the speaker

source
But with this model, Xiaomi has decoupled the smart TV’s brain from its screen, dropping it into a bar-shaped speaker called the Mi TV Bar that can be connected to any television to turn it into a smart TV running Xiaomi’s MIUI system. The Mi 3 TV doesn’t actually go on sale until November, but any screen – TV, computer monitor, projector – that’s in your home right now could essentially become a Xiaomi smart TV once you buy the bar, which costs RMB 999 ($157).

store link

crandfs

Oic. Could you just send us the link of those which you have come across? At least people here can be warned here.

If the problem is found in China, they could get Xiaomi to resolve the problem for them right? Did they do that? Because for me, if the item I received got problem but the seller resolve it for me, I'll still leave a good feedback.

But if the seller bo chup me then that's it liao lah.

Well, for example
http://bbs.xiaomi.cn/t-11743520-3-o1#comment_top
http://www.tvapk.net/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=334586&extra=page%3D1&page=1&mobile=2

Zomgnoob

DVB-T2 Tuner

My MiTV2 49" is 1 year old this month. Got it direct from china via 65daigou. Really satisfied with their quality, but I have yet to set it up to receive digital TV signals.=:p

I'm really new at this so how do I go about doing it?
the options I have seen in the thread so far

1)MyGica PT360

Uses and powed thru USB port, but need install PadTV HD app to access channels
xiaomi tv do supports otg usb. however for dvbt2, i believe it'll ultimately depends on the device's software/app support.

Previously i bgt the mygica t360 intended for android tablet/mobile use (microusb).

With a usb-microusb adapter, i have tested it to be working good with both my pc (with t230 driver + totalmedia) as well as mitv2 (default app Padtv HD). I didnt explored much with it on mitv though as i dont really watch local tv lol. But iirc, it doesnt auto detect channels with the mitv inbuilt Digital TV app i.e the first menu where u can select HDMI/VGA/Analog/Digital sources.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96386445-post759.html
http://mygica.com/TV-Tuner/DVB-T2-Pad-TV-Tuner-for-android-phone-and-tablet_60.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/97810749-post871.html
b0noZAHl.jpg

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 3 using GAGT

2) Buy a DVB-T2 decoder + antenna

i bought a dvb t2 decoder box with HDMI output

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.20.e4l0kT&id=39812851988&ns=1&abbucket=9#detail

and this antenna from taobao

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=35850619734&spm=2014.12193480.0.0

can received all local 7 channels in hd..

Does this option mean I can auto scan for Digital TV channels from the inbuilt MiTV UI? I would like to access the Digital channels the same way as my Analog Ch without going thru an app.

Just to double confirm, if without Mio or Starhub box then getting a DVB-T2 decoder is a must, can't just buy the antenna only right?

Zomgnoob

Oh yes, I can receive some Malaysian channels with analog TV right now, if auto scan Digital TV channels with MiTV UI, will the Msian channels disappear from the channel list and leave only display SG digital TV channels?

i1magic

My MiTV2 49" is 1 year old this month. Got it direct from china via 65daigou. Really satisfied with their quality, but I have yet to set it up to receive digital TV signals.=:p

1)MyGica PT360

Uses and powed thru USB port, but need install PadTV HD app to access channels

Does this option mean I can auto scan for Digital TV channels from the inbuilt MiTV UI? I would like to access the Digital channels the same way as my Analog Ch without going thru an app.

Just to double confirm, if without Mio or Starhub box then getting a DVB-T2 decoder is a must, can't just buy the antenna only right?

Yes. If you get the DVB-T2 box, the output is HDMI. So when you plug it to the Mi TV 2, it'll just be one of the input. You can watch it like normal TV.

You need a DVB-T2 decoder. The antenna is just to help the receiving of the DVB-T2 signal.

If you were to get the T360, then you'll need to have the "Pad TV HD" to watch.

i1magic

Oh yes, I can receive some Malaysian channels with analog TV right now, if auto scan Digital TV channels with MiTV UI, will the Msian channels disappear from the channel list and leave only display SG digital TV channels?

Yes. The countries all around us are on DVB-T. The tuner inside the Mi TV 2 can receive all the local channels and TV1, TV2, TV3 and other Indonesian channels. But if you use DVB-T2 decoder box, the quality of the channel will be very good.

So if you want to watch M'sia and Indonesia channel, use the Mi TV 2 built-in tuner. If you use DVB-T2 decoder box, you'll only get local channels because all the countries around us are on DVB-T only now.

ddca

I am using the same decoder box as your option (2). It can only receive the local HD channels. Very clear and sharp on the 49-inch MiTV2. You will need to get an antenna as well.

i1magic

I am using the same decoder box as your option (2). It can only receive the local HD channels. Very clear and sharp on the 49-inch MiTV2. You will need to get an antenna as well.

Yes. If your house do not have the old wall antenna, then you'll have to use a external antenna.

Uno_Hu

Breaking! I have discovered a "leap year bug" on my MiTV3 or is that something to do with my internet connection. I have found that the date is correct but the time is about 2.5 hours behind. How can I correct it?

Uno_Hu

Hahaha ... it went back to normal already. I'm sure it was because I was playing around with the LAN connection. BTW I couldn't have the TV connected direct bypassing the router. Probably I would need to do a reset if I would do so but for now I put everything back to before and wala it is back to normal. No bug actually.

mazzel

What is a "scarily high proportion of complaints for you"?. In the Tmall shop, the 60" version has around 7.000 people who gave the TV an average of 4.8 stars, the 55" version has 12.000 votes with also 4.8 stars...
So if out of 7000 people around 300 have complaints, then this makes 5% of the people who rated the TV on tmall complaint about it, then probably half of them is not able to really configure the TV (many are not able to get sound out of the soundbar) or just didn't collect enough information (some were complaining that the screen itself only can be connected to the soundbar). And what is also important to consider: Not everyone who buys the TV will rate it. I guess Tmall sold more then 7.000 TV sets in China. Also, many customers who are satisfied will never rate the product on the website.

I don't want to defend Xiaomi here or anything and I strongly recommend everyone to carefully read through reviews beforehand. But I don't agree that based on a few complaints and ONE thread in the xiaomi forum we should talk about a "significantly high number of complaints". This might scare people for the wrong reason...

Zomgnoob

Thanks i1magic and ddca for your responses :)

I might get the PT360 if that means I get to keep all the foreign channels plus the DVB-T2 SG channels.

I'm not getting any DVB-T signals when I use the Digital TV auto scan feature on my MiTV2 (no digital ch shows up) is that normal?

Also is there a chance of the PT360 hardware becoming incompatible after android firmware updates?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.