Xiaomi Redmi Note 3

xKazeolus

can any bro who are using custom rom confirm something... bootloader will be locked whenever a custom rom is flashed?

Oinkize

Frankly, I hate the eyesore's floating ball on MIUI8! :vijayadmin:

Very in-the-way on small 5.5" display LOL! :(

I don't think I will use it at all!:s8:

For the huge screen Mi Max, yes!

For now i find no need to use quick ball even on the mi max...

Oinkize

Would like to thank phone gurus Oinkize, kelvinti, FinalTidus, JivBunny .. and many more (if I missed out) who replied to my earlier query on the Note 3 :)

Your expertise as a collective helped made the decision an easier one for my friend :)

Thanks again!

Wa. Dun need so formal. Most importantly is there no wrong information given...

Oinkize

Credit when credit is due :)
I believe many others (non forumers) who are deciding to get the Redmi Note 3 are getting great information here from you guys - via google search.

By the way, for those who don't know - there's actually an official hardwarezone forums app for android - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=sg.com.hardwarezone.forums

Do give it a try haha to PCW more!

I prefer to pcw with phone chrome browser wor. Can camp on multiple pages...

kelvinti

Quick ball is only suitable for Apple pie.... Kekeke.

Again, super heavy rain and super thunders in the early morning or rather the whole night. Scary mummy!

Oinkize

ya can play...from explorer right?

From explorer when you click on the mp3 did it ask which app to play? Can choose the default player to play?

At the same time, the folder that you put your mp3 in does it have a hidden *.nomedia file?

i1magic

Again, super heavy rain and super thunders in the early morning or rather the whole night. Scary mummy!

Yah lor. 2 of my customers kana accident. Just managed to arrange tow truck to tow their cars to workshop.

Anyway, I am on MIUI8 already!! =)

By the way, if you flash to MIUI8 .... take note :

ALL Your user data & apps on the phone will be wipe clean

But the Whatasapp folder will remain.

can any bro who are using custom rom confirm something... bootloader will be locked whenever a custom rom is flashed?

No. Bootloader will not be locked again after you flash custom rom. It will remakn unlocked. Some custom ROM even have default root capability.

Oinkize

Yah lor. 2 of my customers kana accident. Just managed to arrange tow truck to tow their cars to workshop.

How did you flash your phone?

Recovery mode all data should be still intact.

If fastboot depending on the setting you chose.

Targaryen

Those of you with third party keyboard apps...how do you get rid of the green keyboard selector icon at the status bar?

Google keyboard could be disabled in MIUI 7, but 8 doesn't allow that.

tuzantar

Those who have rooted n install custom rom, the file system type on microsd can't change to exfat? I have movies larger than 4gb n fat32 format is bugging me. Is the fs a hardware or software limitation?

Nakedtoes

Those of you with third party keyboard apps...how do you get rid of the green keyboard selector icon at the status bar?

Google keyboard could be disabled in MIUI 7, but 8 doesn't allow that.
No way.........

kopi22

Ya. I like the ball very much when I'm on my iPhone. I'm glad MIUI is going to have the same concept. So much easier to do screenshots and turning off the screen, etc.... I like that most of the new features added to MIUI8 are so much more practical than Samsung eye candy features.

BTW, I see the clone apps features. Does it mean the phone will consume more memory since it is having multiple instances now??

Targaryen

On global 7.3.6. I'm getting problems with getting notifications when the phone is in sleep. The phone does not receive any WhatsApp messages when the phone is in sleep and can only get it when I open the WhatsApp app. Anyone knows how to solve this?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 3 using GAGT

Could be your wifi settings. Long press wifi icon, advanced settings, select always for keep wifi on during sleep.

lewissac

Real usage for two full days. Very satisfied with the performance. No lag compared to mi4i (though I turn off Memory Optimization in RMN3).

Battery wise I felt wierd on the first night of usage. From 78% drop to 54% in 6 hours. Then realised GPS is turned on (due to Mi fit apps).

Charging battery is very fast! Using the Speedy Multi-USB charger and cables.

The only thing I don't really fancy is the weather forecast thingy. How do you guys turn it off?

Connectivity is somewhat okayish with occassional lag in detecting WIFI even the router is in the room.

i1magic

How did you flash your phone?

Recovery mode all data should be still intact.

If fastboot depending on the setting you chose.

I downloaded the file for Recovery. The use the "Updater" app to flash the firmware. Before it proceed to flash, it did prompt that all data will be wipe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.