Air purifier?

Asakura

It's a piece of cake for these construction dust. Taobao HEPA included, very very close to 100% efficiency for those dust sizes.

Nope, you can't open the windows, in fact if your room is "leaky" due to MBR toilet window, ie strong wind blows from MBR toilet window past toilet door below and then past MBR door, you'd need to reduce that first. If you have airconditioning, you can feel the cold air very easily.

So yes, you'd need air conditioning.

so can anything be done with this "leak" at toilet window? :s12:

WussRedXLi

so can anything be done with this "leak" at toilet window? :s12:

For me i close the toilet windows 98%. Most effective.

Also put a piece of floor mat at toilet door, blocking up the gap partially.

If yr house not that windy or high floor, then not so critical.

plasticpistola

wrx bro, I need to buy replacement filters for the Honeywell 50250-S in my parents' room.

But I notice they only sell the replacement for pre-filter? Don't have any for the HEPA?

This is the pre-filter one I found:
51S7saUEPjL._SY400_.jpg

Then the HEPA how? How to replace?

chuanz

wrx bro, I need to buy replacement filters for the Honeywell 50250-S in my parents' room.

But I notice they only sell the replacement for pre-filter? Don't have any for the HEPA?

Then the HEPA how? How to replace?

Honeywell stopped making exact replacement filters for their APs. They used to make them (model #24000 for 50250) but now they come in "modular" form where you have to stack em up to get the correct size.
The model is HRF-F1 and you'd need to stack THREE of em! Amazon does stock em (~$20 a pop) but not eligible for FSSG due to separate shipping advisory (i.e. too bulky).

Some TB sellers able to custom make circular HEPA, maybe bro WRX can help with that. The challenge would be to get a proper gasket seal on the sides.

chuanz

That was actually one of the factors that drove me to trade-in my 50250 when Novita had the trade-in promotion a few months back. :s8:

Also, the downside to stacking is that you are actually trading in precious filter media area for gaskets...

WussRedXLi

I think have to ALWW the sellers. They probably can do the cylinder type of HEPA, as some have offered the cylinder 3rd party replacement for Xiaomi AP.

ALWW can send pictures too.

WussRedXLi

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...ering-assistance-indonesia-tackle-haze-201506

SINGAPORE - The Republic will in 2015 continue to offer assistance to Indonesia to help it combat land and forest fires that cause transboundary haze.

In a statement on Wednesday, Singapore's Ministry for the Environment and Water Resources said the Government will deploy one C-130 aircraft for cloud seeding operations, up to two C-130 aircraft to ferry a fire-fighting assistance team from the Singapore Civil Defence Force, an SCDF team to provide assessment and planning assistance in fire-fighting efforts to their Indonesian counterparts, high resolution satellite pictures and hotspot coordinates and a Chinook helicopter with one SCDF water bucket for aerial fire-fighting.

This year's assistance package is the same as the one offered in 2014, it added. "Since 2005, the Singapore Government has consistently offered assistance packages to the Indonesian government in the run-up to the traditional dry season from June to October, to complement Indonesia's efforts in combating possible land and forest fires," the ministry said

WussRedXLi

I think have to ALWW the sellers. They probably can do the cylinder type of HEPA, as some have offered the cylinder 3rd party replacement for Xiaomi AP.

ALWW can send pictures too.

您好!这样的圆柱形HEPA适合批量加工(少千个),少量的(需要盖子开磨具)加工不了的。

不客气!目前这个的滤网只有原版的(做这样产品的产品主要是投资相对大,市场销量小,很难收回投资成本)

chuanz

If no choice then get from eBay, a Honeywell #24000 HEPA should be around $150 shipped (the last time I researched). Either is OEM or old stock, coz like I said Honeywell don't make em in a big piece anymore. Btw, in US, Honeywell AP consumables are handled by KAZ.

WussRedXLi

If no choice then get from eBay, a Honeywell #24000 HEPA should be around $150 shipped (the last time I researched). Either is OEM or old stock, coz like I said Honeywell don't make em in a big piece anymore. Btw, in US, Honeywell AP consumables are handled by KAZ.

Just get a Xiaomi AP from TB and be done with it. Original and 3rd party cylindrical HEPAs all got (original Japanese 东立 3M HEPA is RMB149 only). No need transformer even. Consumes half the power also + 5 times more stylish, just perhaps the xiaomi might be a wee bit noisier. :D

plasticpistola

wah lidat siao liao lor :( supposed to replace after 3-5 years leh and $150 to buy just the HEPA filter might as well hoot a new AP altogether :(

wasted leh, the Honeywell AP is damn good

plasticpistola

您好!这样的圆柱形HEPA适合批量加工(少千个),少量的(需要盖子开磨具)加工不了的。

不客气!目前这个的滤网只有原版的(做这样产品的产品主要是投资相对大,市场销量小,很难收回投资成本)

This is a reply from the TB seller? He's saying not customizing HEPA filter for Honeywell AP cos boh demand?

WussRedXLi

Ya heng got it with free shipping siah~

Is the AX40 comparable to this Honeywell AP?

Sort of. The 50250 has 24% higher airflow. That's on paper and that is where many folks would totallymiss the point. That's comparing 50250 in high speed vs AX40 in high speed.

Do note, literally all the folks whack the AX40 in high speed 100% all day long 12hrs daily for 365 days a year and for a few years and won't complain about the noise. For 50250, people at most whack in full speed for 10 minutes and then throttle down to the lowest speed. Coz ard 16 pcs of Samsung AX40 in high speed mode = same noise level as a 50250 in high speed.

And the power consumption is like 600% difference.

WussRedXLi

And we also have the $615 AX60. :D

(All Samsung filters are measured to filter PM0.1 @ 99% eff)

Airflow of the 50250 = 430 m3/hr approx.
Electrical consumption is 170W (add 10% more for 110-240V step up tranny)

Airflow of Samsung AX60 = 711m3/hr
Electrical consumption is 47W

Noise level of 8pcs of Samsung AX60 (5688 m3/h) = 1 pc 50250 (430 m3/h)
Same noise level, 13 times the airflow.

plasticpistola

And we also have the $615 AX60. :D

(All Samsung filters are measured to filter PM0.1 @ 99% eff)

Airflow of the 50250 = 430 m3/hr approx.
Electrical consumption is 170W (add 10% more for 110-240V step up tranny)

Airflow of Samsung AX60 = 711m3/hr
Electrical consumption is 47W

Noise level of 8pcs of Samsung AX60 (5688 m3/h) = 1 pc 50250 (430 m3/h)
Same noise level, 13 times the airflow.

Thanks for the details, bro.

Ya the 50250 on high is really damn frickin loud, machiam like a generator :(

kendoarts

Just bought Samsung AX40.

I was wondering what is it I need to change every few months? Is it the Filter? If it is the filter, then how long in actual do I need to replace it? Where can I buy the filter?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.