Bangkok help...

dede1217

Grab app auto convert when you reach bkk or Malaysia. Can use straight away.
Taxi driver don't like to use meter but not all. So using grab save the trouble of asking every taxi to use meter. Taxi driver like to set a price like 150 - 200 baht, if use meter is less than 100 baht, kind of thing.

Getting grab in pratunam area, you may have to wait around 20-30mins depend on time of the day.

Yes, waited before centralworld 30 minutes for grab ...
the one at icon siam is the worst, 1 hour wait lol ...
3 grab cars fly kite ...

dede1217

May I know GRAB apps is identical in Bangkok ? Anyone have recommendation for taxi tips... heard to use meter there...

Would say 70% wont go by meter, especially during peak period in the evening ... Most would quote 200b to 300b usually ...

Grab prices would go up in the evening too ...
For example, Silom to Siam Paragon if by meter is about 70+b by meter with slight traffic jam in the afternoon ...
Once reach evening, grab prices would go up to 140+ to 180+
by taxi , they would quote u 200b onwards usually ...

Windowlover

Grab app auto convert when you reach bkk or Malaysia. Can use straight away.
Taxi driver don't like to use meter but not all. So using grab save the trouble of asking every taxi to use meter. Taxi driver like to set a price like 150 - 200 baht, if use meter is less than 100 baht, kind of thing.

Getting grab in pratunam area, you may have to wait around 20-30mins depend on time of the day.

Stay Pratunam area,, hope can call and take shower laiu.:) Thanks

Windowlover

Seaching for foot massage in Bangkok, Saw some map name Foot Haven, it is popular ? Any recommendation, should try foot massages since in Bangkok..

Charlie_Zhan

Haha that’s my Wife Friend bought, don’t know why I don’t fancy onnut area. I prefer phahonyothin , ladprao or Rama 9 area if possible.
rama9 area traffic too jialat liao and fast becoming the new CHINAtown.. last time I used to stay TC green and that road right in front of the main gate is almost 24/7 jammed like siao one. :(

onnut still developing so the prices of the developments there still acceptable and not alot of tiongs.

Sent from Samsung SM-G965F using GAGT

Studyboy1

Hi going to Bangkok later this evening, coming back on 26th April. Do I still need a visa? Just realized about the visa portion.

Andrew833

Seaching for foot massage in Bangkok, Saw some map name Foot Haven, it is popular ? Any recommendation, should try foot massages since in Bangkok..

There are too many popular brands but nvm, just walk in and try. Good or not depend on masseur not branded or not.

Foot massage if you have tired foot, body massage is better if you are tired and can sleep during massage.

rrr2015

Traditional Thai body massage is beri painful one Lolz
Actually good foot massage can make you doze off …
There are too many popular brands but nvm, just walk in and try. Good or not depend on masseur not branded or not.

Foot massage if you have tired foot, body massage is better if you are tired and can sleep during massage.

Andrew833

Traditional Thai body massage is beri painful one Lolz
Actually good foot massage can make you doze off …

That's why I switch to oil massage long time ago :s13:
Unless you really very tired if not foot massage very difficult to make me doze off :D

Hamwichh

Hello! I came back on the 22nd but then I got sick so I'm only posting now...

Really wanna express my gratitude to all those who help me plan my trip. We had a great time. Mom actually went back to Or Tor Kor Market to buy her stuff twice haha. We ended up having to cut a lot of the shopping out because most of the things were similar and the weather was too hot to go out during the day.

Definitely recommend staying at Courtyard Marriott if they fit your budget as the breakfast was amazing and the service was perfect. They really take care of your every needs and they're very sweet.

In total we brought 3500 SGD worth of spending money and we were left with 1000 SGD of baht equivalent left among ourselves after. It was legit about what they say about local people discounts. We used meter taxi sometimes when grabs were unavailable and our rides were never above 300 baht. I remember this one guy who drove us from Terminal 21 to Srinakarin Talad Rod Fai Night Market and it cost us only 228 baht for 4 passengers. We ended up giving him 100 baht each in tips since he was so nice and cracked jokes to my mom in Thai.

We eventually got to the airport and my mom weighed all luggage bag and it was 56kg haha. She eventually had to borrow some weight from my aunt for the check-in.

Andrew833

Really wanna express my gratitude to all those who help me plan my trip. We had a great time. Mom actually went back to Or Tor Kor Market to buy her stuff twice haha. We ended up having to cut a lot of the shopping out because most of the things were similar and the weather was too hot to go out during the day.

Definitely recommend staying at Courtyard Marriott if they fit your budget as the breakfast was amazing and the service was perfect. They really take care of your every needs and they're very sweet.

In total we brought 3500 SGD worth of spending money and we were left with 1000 SGD of baht equivalent left among ourselves after. It was legit about what they say about local people discounts. We used meter taxi sometimes when grabs were unavailable and our rides were never above 300 baht. I remember this one guy who drove us from Terminal 21 to Srinakarin Talad Rod Fai Night Market and it cost us only 228 baht for 4 passengers. We ended up giving him 100 baht each in tips since he was so nice and cracked jokes to my mom in Thai.

We eventually got to the airport and my mom weighed all luggage bag and it was 56kg haha. She eventually had to borrow some weight from my aunt for the check-in.

Glad that you enjoy your holiday and wish you fast recovery.
There are some very good taxi driver worth giving tips.

No.1AHOLE

The 56kg luggage !!!! Very gao lat sia :s13: But its good that you and your family enjoy the trip.

Hamwichh

Glad that you enjoy your holiday and wish you fast recovery.
There are some very good taxi driver worth giving tips.

Mom too pro bargain le. First day we had one meter taxi quote us 300 baht to go from Victory Monument to Coin Museum Treasury. Only paid 150 baht in the end.

Some tuk tuk was 100 baht only but my husband did give some tips since some of the drivers were super good and helped us load up our purchases carefully so it won't drop out.

I think it's pretty nice to be able to understand bits and pieces of conversation especially when you bargain. I paid 1300 baht for a 28inch luggage in MBK because I worked things out with the sales lady on her commission so she gets some extras and I get a good deal and a really good luggage bag. She treated me really well. Took our a new piece for me and checked the entire bag for defects before she sold it to me.

The 56kg luggage !!!! Very gao lat sia :s13: But its good that you and your family enjoy the trip.

99% of the purchases are raw ingredients or rare veggies you can't find in Singapore or are too expensive. We even found a lot of ingredients grown in Chiang Rai, her hometown. She bought a lot of the spicy sausages and they were super cheap. Like one long strand was like 150 baht, not including the sticky rice. They were definitely more expensive than the local markets but a lot cleaner and they take good care in packing the ingredients for you and sending to the hotel directly if you need. However you definitely need to be speaking Thai then they can understand what you're requesting haha.

rrr2015

curious what are rare veggies you can't in sg?
I thought northern sausage are stuffed with sticky rice to ferment the meat, which gives it a little sourish taste.
99% of the purchases are raw ingredients or rare veggies you can't find in Singapore or are too expensive. We even found a lot of ingredients grown in Chiang Rai, her hometown. She bought a lot of the spicy sausages and they were super cheap. Like one long strand was like 150 baht, not including the sticky rice. They were definitely more expensive than the local markets but a lot cleaner and they take good care in packing the ingredients for you and sending to the hotel directly if you need. However you definitely need to be speaking Thai then they can understand what you're requesting haha.

The_Red_X

Hi, can i know what is the recommended way to go from Suvarnabhumi Airport to hotel near Terminal 21 please?

4 pax travelling. (4 luggages) arrival @ 11am.

Thanks. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.