Big rant on new build cpu

iNoStandard

You are expecting sale personnel are tech savvy enough to perform hardware tests for the hardware they are selling? I honestly don't expect them to know that much as a sale personnel. I didn't said moderators are king and my words are to be taken as edict.

We are talking about DIY, in what way you don't understand the term "DIY"?

well , the shop i went is #05-01 , service/tech side . Not the retail shop itself :s8:

commach

Can't expect every shop to be like PCT Ma, but then I at least expected some form of knowledge since they are in the industry. Is like asking them to sell food but dk what the taste is like.

Sales personal should have the minimum level of knowledge? If u are to buy a house, will u want the sales person to be tactful? (I am using similar examples as you did)

Moreover, since u mention about the term DIY, I expected that u are able to do your own form of repairs and do not need to visit any distributors.

To fellow guys on HWZ, we have found ourselves another support line for broken down hardware :)

Please read your reply again if you clean forgot about it.

Can't expect every shop to be like PCT Ma, but then I at least expected some form of knowledge since they are in the industry. Is like asking them to sell food but dk what the taste is like.

You are expecting everyone in the shop have some form of knowledge just because they are selling the hardware.

NO?

Are you expecting too much from a sale representative of a shop to know how to test a suspected "faulty" hardware as a DIY shop sale personnel?

My analogies are no different from your.

shadow84

well , the shop i went is #05-01 , service/tech side . Not the retail shop itself :s8:

#05-01 is more of a setup area and qoo10 collection area. I hardly see them do any form of testing while i was there collecting stuff. Neither do i see ppl approach them for troubleshooting.

lifeishard

You are expecting sale personnel are tech savvy enough to perform hardware tests for the hardware they are selling? I honestly don't expect them to know that much as a sale personnel. I didn't said moderators are king and my words are to be taken as edict.

We are talking about DIY, in what way you don't understand the term "DIY"?

just admit you did not read the whole thread la. this is not challenger shop, these are diy shops. when i go into a hardware store, i expect they to have some knowledge about the issues for eg if i said my bulb burst, they should know there are few types of bulbs such as screw in type or plug in type.

Bought the bulb home, still cannot work...i wanna go to distro to change bulb but now the store person asked me to go down to their shop instead...so i went down but upon reaching there, they told me my bulb is ok.

right now we do not have conclusion whether is it really my bulb spoilt (ts's gpu) or is it my wirings that has problems. If i go to distro, and distro tells me that it is really my bulb is spoilt...should i be pissed at the store person? according to your logic, no...i should not because in the first place i should not have expectation that they know how to test even though they are the ones who asked me to go down for testing.

But if i go distro and still distro said my bulb is ok, then TS should go f both Ah lim and madcow liao. But then before that, he has to go corbell first lol...

iNoStandard

#05-01 is more of a setup area and qoo10 collection area. I hardly see them do any form of testing while i was there collecting stuff. Neither do i see ppl approach them for troubleshooting.

oh my apologies, hahhaha :s13:
haiya, never mind.
#letitgo

commach

Understood, do you actually expect them to solve every problem of suspected faulty hardware working as a DIY shop tech support?

The same analogy, do you expect the ISP tech support to solve all your problem when they house visit or follow up a site request from you?

Is that a news when they are not able to solve and fix another date for the higher up to visit you again?

You can't expect all tech support are supebr knowledgeable, if they are that good, they won't be working there in the first place.

shadow84

Sales personal should have the minimum level of knowledge? If u are to buy a house, will u want the sales person to be tactful? (I am using similar examples as you did)

Moreover, since u mention about the term DIY, I expected that u are able to do your own form of repairs and do not need to visit any distributors.

To fellow guys on HWZ, we have found ourselves another support line for broken down hardware :)

Your perspective of sales person is quite a huge area to cover. Must know product well, know how to troubleshoot, know how to fix things, etc.

Then i ask you, in your own job, do you know everything? Do you do accounts, finance, sales, customer service? Coz the company expects you to do so at a 'minimum' level.

shadow84

just admit you did not read the whole thread la. this is not challenger shop, these are diy shops. when i go into a hardware store, i expect they to have some knowledge about the issues for eg if i said my bulb burst, they should know there are few types of bulbs such as screw in type or plug in type.

Bought the bulb home, still cannot work...i wanna go to distro to change bulb but now the store person asked me to go down to their shop instead...so i went down but upon reaching there, they told me my bulb is ok.

right now we do not have conclusion whether is it really my bulb spoilt (ts's gpu) or is it my wirings that has problems. If i go to distro, and distro tells me that it is really my bulb is spoilt...should i be pissed at the store person? according to your logic, no...i should not because in the first place i should not have expectation that they know how to test even though they are the ones who asked me to go down for testing.

But if i go distro and still distro said my bulb is ok, then TS should go f both Ah lim and madcow liao. But then before that, he has to go corbell first lol...

He should go to the distro that is nearest to him first. To test either gpu or mobo. Once confirmed that either is working or not, the next step is quite obvious liao. Its a 50% chance since TS dunnoe which part is faulty.

Holee17

Give up on this.

FYI videopro is a DIY shop too. Go figure. I DIDNT mention anything about challenger.

Issues link to hardware, at least got to know the common issues faced.

lifeishard

you did not doesn't mean i did not. the customer (a kid with parents) asked something (i cannot really remb exactly but it has something to do with vsync and gsync) and that ah neh reply made me laugh so i interrupted them and 'show off' my knowledge and i got to know they brought in the pc for fixing but i do not know if they purchase the whole rig from VP or only certain items but the whole rig there with side cover opened.

commach

Isn't that explained whatever your argument based on?

You don't even know what's wrong when you are personally handling all these test and troubleshooting, now you are expecting a tech support in a DIY shop to give you a definite answer why he said the part is ok but you said it's not OK?

You are expecting too much from a DIY shop tech support, I personally don't expect so much from them.

Holee17

That's why I mention, can't expect every shop to be like PCT yi Long right?

Your perspective of sales person is quite a huge area to cover. Must know product well, know how to troubleshoot, know how to fix things, etc.

Then i ask you, in your own job, do you know everything? Do you do accounts, finance, sales, customer service? Coz the company expects you to do so at a 'minimum' level.

shadow84

That's why I mention, can't expect every shop to be like PCT yi Long right?

You cant expect every shop to be like PCT in terms of troubleshooting knowledge yet you expect every sales person to have minimum troubleshooting knowledge?

Bro, you are contradicting yourself.

Holee17

Anw. Since u said such about DIY shop, I conclude that u have a certain level of "caliber" when it comes to fixing DIY.

To all fellow HWZ members, PC spoil u know who to find to ask questions since DIY shops are unable to help, and as a DIY builder u should know how to fix everything :)

Isn't that explained whatever your argument based on?

You don't even know what's wrong when you are personally handling all these test and troubleshooting, now you are expecting a tech support in a DIY shop to give you a definite answer why he said the part is ok but you said it's not OK?

You are expecting too much from a DIY shop tech support, I personally don't expect so much from them.

commach

Give up on this.

FYI videopro is a DIY shop too. Go figure. I DIDNT mention anything about challenger.

Issues link to hardware, at least got to know the common issues faced.

Don't give up, please give TS an definite answer what's wrong with his system since you sound like an expert way better than DIY shop tech support, HWC need peoples like you to make HWC great again.

lifeishard

He should go to the distro that is nearest to him first. To test either gpu or mobo. Once confirmed that either is working or not, the next step is quite obvious liao. Its a 50% chance since TS dunnoe which part is faulty.

ma hou pao lor....TS stays in amk...sim lim is nearer to amk than chai chee. Moreover, it is videopro that asked him to go down. Don't miss this important point!

Holee17

Ya? Can't expect every shop to be as knowledgable as PCT, cause yi Long is somewhat able to diagnose quite accurately?

I won't say PCT have a minimum level of knowledge, rather I would say they are above average. However other shops should at least have a minimum standard right?

You cant expect every shop to be like PCT in terms of troubleshooting knowledge yet you expect every sales person to have minimum troubleshooting knowledge?

Bro, you are contradicting yourself.

shadow84

ma hou pao lor....TS stays in amk...sim lim is nearer to amk than chai chee. Moreover, it is videopro that asked him to go down. Don't miss this important point!

And why bother to keep going back to VP when they know nuts? A bit dumb, isn't it? Or just trying to make full use of 7-days lemon law policy before it expires then decides to go to distro?

Since he live in AMK, then head down to corbell and ask them if they can help check if mobo or gpu is faulty.

Holee17

Open eye, use fingers to scroll thread. Already provided my form of "help", Much unlike your contribution on challenger ex SIA Stewardess etc

Don't give up, please give TS an definite answer what's wrong with his system since you sound like an expert way better than DIY shop tech support, HWC need peoples like you to make HWC great again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.