Big rant on new build cpu

shadow84

Ya? Can't expect every shop to be as knowledgable as PCT, cause yi Long is somewhat able to diagnose quite accurately?

I won't say PCT have a minimum level of knowledge, rather I would say they are above average. However other shops should at least have a minimum standard right?

Do you have a standard for the shops to follow? Similar to ISO? No right?

Such knowledge is personally gained. You cant teach through sales. Perhaps Yi Long is truely interested in DIY in which he may have took his time to learn more. Whereas other ppl simply learn about selling specifications to ppl.

And dun forget, Videopro hire ppl to sell hardware, not to troubleshoot.

iNoStandard

And why bother to keep going back to VP when they know nuts? A bit dumb, isn't it? Or just trying to make full use of 7-days lemon law policy before it expires then decides to go to distro?

Since he live in AMK, then head down to corbell and ask them if they can help check if mobo or gpu is faulty.

this is my 1st time going to sls :(
okay guys maybe close the thread, chill guys.
i will proceed to corbell next week to let them test my cpu with gpu on.
if found faulty, i will go tech dynamic with just my gpu .

commach

Anw. Since u said such about DIY shop, I conclude that u have a certain level of "caliber" when it comes to fixing DIY.

To all fellow HWZ members, PC spoil u know who to find to ask questions since DIY shops are unable to help, and as a DIY builder u should know how to fix everything :)

Holee17 wrote:

Can't expect every shop to be like PCT Ma, but then I at least expected some form of knowledge since they are in the industry. Is like asking them to sell food but dk what the taste is like.

Why are you contradicting yourself?

Working as a DIY shop tech support must be Mr. know all to solve every problem for suspected faulty hardware which in the first place, no authority to pretest the hardware before putting them on the shelve?

Holee17

U like that true Lor, I also can't say anything like that, no SOP hard to say them also.

That's why can't compare to PCT Ma cause yi long got interest...

Do you have a standard for the shops to follow? Similar to ISO? No right?

Such knowledge is personally gained. You cant teach through sales. Perhaps Yi Long is truely interested in DIY in which he may have took his time to learn more. Whereas other ppl simply learn about selling specifications to ppl.

And dun forget, Videopro hire ppl to sell hardware, not to troubleshoot.

shadow84

Take it as a lesson learnt. Once corbell gives u the results, you can ask them in details to learn more about how they troubleshoot and what to read off the results.

lifeishard

And why bother to keep going back to VP when they know nuts? A bit dumb, isn't it? Or just trying to make full use of 7-days lemon law policy before it expires then decides to go to distro?

Since he live in AMK, then head down to corbell and ask them if they can help check if mobo or gpu is faulty.

Before he went down, how he know VP knows nuts?? wa lau eh...

lifeishard

Not talking about first time, talking about him going back again to ask them to test again which is redundant...

this proves u did not follow the thread. he bought that gpu from VP over qoo10. When did he go down before that? Show me the post where he went down to test at VP 'again' and 'again'?

Wa piangz...

Encrypted11

At least the takeaway is you learn something in the process. Hope all is well. :)

Holee17

Better to read post properly before say or else kena Xia suay and get quoted.

Anw where TS go? Sit back eat popcorn ah?

Edit: Ohhh he did reply :super:

Ark Law

Next time get whole desktop under same distro. Then can bring the whole desktop dump at service centre for servicing.

Problem Solved

iNoStandard

Mistake Lor.. but thing is dk how come TS paid $20 to go other shop diagnose :s11:

because madcowpc said their motherboard no problem.
and i went home to test gpu , unable to work.
and i don't believe them anymore.
i want to know whether is it GPU or Mobo went wrong.
Hence i went to a 3rd shop to run a full test.
i won't mind spending $20 to get a problem done,
problem is nothing is done.
x say x no wrong,
y say p wrong,
m say p no wrong.

Holee17

Thing is TS didn't go distro 😂 hopefully he goes down soon otherwise he can't play his game Liao

Anw distro closed on weekend so earliest he can go also Monday Liao

Next time get whole desktop under same distro. Then can bring the whole desktop dump at service centre for servicing.

Problem Solved

Holee17

U try my method ba... for me it's the easiest way to determine if mobo/cpu or GPU is at fault, downstairs somewhere far away from the rant :s22:

But whether cpu or mobo, I not so sure Liao, should be hear beeping sounds or whatever

x say x no wrong,
y say p wrong,
m say p no wrong.

iNoStandard

Thing is TS didn't go distro 😂 hopefully he goes down soon otherwise he can't play his game Liao

Anw distro closed on weekend so earliest he can go also Monday Liao

previously both item less than 7 days leh..
going to distro is the last resort i guess ?
i thought i could make use of the exchange within 7 days ma ..
anyway my fault. wasted too much time to go here and there.
should have just bought it to distro

lifeishard

x say x no wrong,
y say p wrong,
m say p no wrong.

Just remb to go Corbell asap since it's near your place. But wait...can you trust corbell tech support? According to someone, we cannot expect much from tech support..:s8:

commach

Better to read post properly before say or else kena Xia suay and get quoted.

Anw where TS go? Sit back eat popcorn ah?

Edit: Ohhh he did reply :super:

You totally avoid my question on your contradiction and now acting like a spoiled kid throwing tantrum?

So what is your answer to TS's problem? By offering advise here, I do expect you to have some form of knowledge to provide a definite answer, the same analogy you are expecting the tech support of a DIY shop to provide TS an answer which he did. You are blindly blasting a guy working as a tech support based on your expectation.

The guy tested the card to be OK, in what way did he failed in his role as a tech support?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.