Childless Marriage

ZedMaster

Those saying "don't want child get married for what"

I 1st heard those words from 1 of my ex boss. That set me thinking "issit pplarry just for having kids?"

U dun need marriage to have kids, single parent can also have kids. E only difference is a birth cert & stigma of aociety

It has been working for many centuries.

Don't fix it if it ain't broke.

Stay traditional on this matter. Don't go modern.

bigbadber

Marriage not wanting children is a regression of the human race.

The next thing you might say is,

Growing up not getting married or not starting a family is also a regression of the human race.

It's because humans keep procreating, that is why we have an overpopulation in poorer countries.

If these people cannot fairly provide for every single one of their kids, why get pregnant? It's utterly irresponsible.

Tsoukalos

I think its all a matter of managing expectations....

I already plan to not see my kids a lot once they are in their teens.

And later on in their lives, if I don't expect them to visit, and they visit in spite of their busy lives, I'll be happy....

If I demand that they visit even though they have their own lives, and they dun turn up, of course life will be unhappy.

I wiash u luck. Expectations & reality can be very different.

My mother raised me & my sister expecting her to do her proud while i was not liked growing up. Other than obtaining a degree & looking out for herself i dun c how she make my mum happy.

So often my mum will cry & complain bout her behavior to me. It pains my heart to c it

ZedMaster

The next thing you might say is,

Growing up not getting married or not starting a family is also a regression of the human race.

It's because humans keep procreating, that is why we have an overpopulation in poorer countries.

If these people cannot fairly provide for every single one of their kids, why get pregnant? It's utterly irresponsible.

Earth is not overpopulated. We often see this: The world has enough for our need, but not enough for our greed.

Your last para is not necessary and out of topic. The topic is about not wanting children. It is not about can't afford children.

sugaricing83

On this topic, i saw my friend's baby on fb and it looks exactly like the husband.. A bit fugly with the slitty eyes.

your baby is a mini-you

And you watch your mini-you slowly grow up, it's really :o
your kids will give you a new purpose and motivation for you to become a better person.

ZedMaster

Who set this rule?

That's subjective.

But this arrangement has been working for us for centuries. So, let's not meddle with it. It might screw up things. Society can break apart if you meddle with it's most basic unit, a family.

fortunecat

childless marriage might as well as don marry.

pros:
u can really YOLO all the way.

everything is urs. no burden,no commitment.

cons:
you need to move to next stage of life for better "life".at every stage of life,u will get bored after some times.
when both of u old. no one will take care of u 2.
every stage of life have different style of FUN and enjoyments.

conclusion:no pros but cons.

normal life:boy>>young man>>man>>>husband>>father>>old man/grandfather.
ur life:boy>>young man>>man>>husband>>you will get bored here>>>>
Dun marry how to buy HDB? Marriage can be a commitment between the couple who just want to be together with each other.

Sent from Mars using GAGT

skygan

the worst mentality to have when you choose to have kids is banking on them to take care of you when you're old. to this, i say to those parents fck you.

you should choose to have kids only to nurture and love them, to bring them up to be good people in society, not as a money tree or shelter for you when you're old.

to have those kind of expectations is being a selfish person. if they treat you well when you're old, that's a bonus, not a must.

this is my mentality. I don't expect my children will support me when they grow up. They don't owe us a living. In fact we do. cuz we didn't give them a choice when we decide to bring them to this ****ed up world.
of cuz when grow old will definitely miss them a lot when they have their own family and stay separately. and of cuz is like tio 4d bonus when they decide to take care of u for life.

older people like my parents got thinking that since they give birth to us means we must give them money forever and shelter if next time they not capable of doing that themselves in future. but I will say sometimes there is a limit to this, not say don't want to be filial to them, but in times of need - imagine getting married, buy house, reno house, hire maid, endless bills to pay, have children, all these is money. Parents can't help to tide over temporary nvm but still expect you to squeeze money to them even when ownself pocket very tight(both parenting still working with income). TBH - I wont want to see my children in such situation in future. nor will I force them to give me money , as long they once in awhile visit me and don't forget me I will be contended.
to provide a shelter for them, yes unless u stay in big bungalow can accommodate. got helper to look after their 3 meals when u working etc but stay in hdb, nowadays so small how to squeeze u ask urself. and will ur other half like it or not? many factors to consider. But these old ppl never consider all these.

bigbadber

I wiash u luck. Expectations & reality can be very different.

My mother raised me & my sister expecting her to do her proud while i was not liked growing up. Other than obtaining a degree & looking out for herself i dun c how she make my mum happy.

So often my mum will cry & complain bout her behavior to me. It pains my heart to c it

One of the reasons why I think it's better to have more than one kid.

If you have one, sekali the kid gets sick permanently or killed how? Say died at the age of 10 or 15 due to an accident. Then couple is too old to have another. Becomes lonely, 'investment' gone. We've all read news reports of how children gets into accidents so often

Or if the kid grows uo, migrates, leave the parents behind, doesn't visit or look after them....

If u have 2 kids, at least there's a backup.

gnoes85

Last time grandparents generation, easily can raise 8+ kids.
Parents generation 2-4. Now generation 0-2.
What happened? :o

bigbadber

Earth is not overpopulated. We often see this: The world has enough for our need, but not enough for our greed.

Your last para is not necessary and out of topic. The topic is about not wanting children. It is not about can't afford children.

I think our food n resources are dwindling at the rate we're consuming them.

As for not wanting kids.... I think it's fair play for married couples who have chosen that choice.

Some don't like kids. Some just aren't parent material. Maybe some are just too busy or are not in the right environment or circumstance to have kids, like having a high risk job. Some just wanna enjoy their lives, I don't see the wrong in that. I don't think not having kids is irresponsible in anyway to society or to the human race or to their own parents etc... As long as the couple is happy and not doing anybody harm

I think the love and strong relationship between the couple is more important than having kids.

skygan

cost of living lah.
last time one bowl of noodle $2 nia. now every single thing cost double or even triple.

shizuka_b

Ya lor. My wife recently popped #2 without epidural or laughing gas, she said wamt to die liao, cant imagine our grandparents time can pop out 8 or 10.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.