Engine oil to recommend

endlssorrow

OWS is Germany one? Not good for our car in Singapore ah?
Amsoil is good confirm...... But kana monopoly in SG now..... sucks....

Redline is also quite goodfor performance but from what I have read, protection is not that good. You get higher wear.

OWS....sorry but I wouldn't recommend it.

Motul is very good but super expensive.

Mobil..... Sibeh expensive not worth unless there is promotion.

Cheap and decent, Schaffer......

The turtle oil (the bottle with the turtle on it). Cheap and ok but don't last.

sgdividends

How do u all know whether an engine oil is good?

I mean for all the brands of 5w40 kind, how to tell?

It seems like the composition is the same but it's only the branding unless one does a long term study Leh?

yanbros

It seems like the composition is the same but it's only the branding unless one does a long term study Leh?

check on bobistheoilguy.com they do oil analysis.

snipfer

Wow, you jump from w50 to w30, that's big different i guess.
I used redline w30 on my car from year 1 to 5, I heard it is better for older car to use w40, therefore from 5th year onwards, I stick to redline w40.

Don't go believe the hearsay on simi older cars must use thicker oil. It's a myth. I am still using w30 on old cars and no issues

Sent from Samsung SM-N9200 using GAGT

keenklee

read the specs.
send for UOA. :s13:

endlssorrow

As long u change like 8k-10k there is no problem at all one
But then I think chose branded
LOL
Typical kiasu driver kiasi

hachi

Anyone can confirm using cheap engine will cause your engine to kaput. Coz I am long time user of $20 engine oil and change within OCI. I may consider to use $100 engine oil if it will cause my engine to kaput before scrap.

hachi

I have been using for at least 5 years. So far so good. My father van engine lasted 200k before white smoke comes out. A top overhaul rectified it but vehicle too old, at its 17th years send to scarp.

snipfer

Anyone can confirm using cheap engine will cause your engine to kaput. Coz I am long time user of $20 engine oil and change within OCI. I may consider to use $100 engine oil if it will cause my engine to kaput before scrap.

Engine oil is just a lubricant.
Regular oil change is more important than the quality or price of a bottle of EO. Been using Carlube, redline and toyota brand EO never have any engine issues

Sent from Samsung SM-N9200 using GAGT

ZhuTou!

A regular change of new cheapo oil is as good or better than using a good oil
Example $20 oil change every 7k
Good and ex oil change every 10-15k

Of coz if u use good oil and change every 5k then cannot compare la

Sent from HUAWEI MATE 9 using GAGT

hachi

A regular change of new cheapo oil is as good or better than using a good oil
Example $20 oil change every 7k
Good and ex oil change every 10-15k

Of coz if u use good oil and change every 5k then cannot compare la

Sent from HUAWEI MATE 9 using GAGT
I usually change it between 8-10k. I believe in frequent oil change rather than expensive oil change for my vehicles.

luv_boa

I usually change it between 8-10k. I believe in frequent oil change rather than expensive oil change for my vehicles.

Sorry to dig this up. Do you change every 6 months or 8-10k? I don't hit 8k in 6months

superhero

Sorry to dig this up. Do you change every 6 months or 8-10k? I don't hit 8k in 6months

For high performance car, I will change every 3 months or 5k mileage whichever come first.

For normal B&B car, I will change every 6 months or 10k whichever is earlier.

For Conti cars, I will change every 6 months or 7.5k whichever is earlier.
This is because in sg , we travel mainly short distances and a lot of idling.

Changing oil frequently will make sure your engine oil is still working well to clean all the contaminants and provide enough lubrications/shear viscosity stability.

A good engine oil have better detergent/cleaning properties to prevent sludge and varnish, it is also better at protecting the internals at high temperature.

This is from my personal experience after trying different oil on different vehicles and sending for UOA.

liquidh

Which oil has more detergent. Been trying to find out.

For high performance car, I will change every 3 months or 5k mileage whichever come first.

For normal B&B car, I will change every 6 months or 10k whichever is earlier.

For Conti cars, I will change every 6 months or 7.5k whichever is earlier.
This is because in sg , we travel mainly short distances and a lot of idling.

Changing oil frequently will make sure your engine oil is still working well to clean all the contaminants and provide enough lubrications/shear viscosity stability.

A good engine oil have better detergent/cleaning properties to prevent sludge and varnish, it is also better at protecting the internals at high temperature.

This is from my personal experience after trying different oil on different vehicles and sending for UOA.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.