Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

human_shieldz

Did anyone buy a Nexus recently that qualify for the free travel case? If so, have you got yours? Ever since i bought it, been plague by problems and sueyness lol maybe i dun have luck or it's Asus haha. Sent in for servicing 4 days after i bought it since last Thurs until now still no sound. Then dua me say 18th can redeem the free tavel case, went down stock not in, never inform, no notice, redemption center has no idea when coming and Asus FB page nothing.

Really amazing after sales service from them.:s13:

kennyboy

It sucks compared to the other better screens out there (which cost a lot more). But for it's price, good luck finding anything that's a better overall package. :(

masotime

It sucks compared to the other better screens out there (which cost a lot more). But for it's price, good luck finding anything that's a better overall package. :(

There are 7-8" screens with higher resolution and colour accuracy?

Coming soon I believe, but surely not yet. That's why I find the comparison very weird. If the expectation is for a Retina-class display in a 7" form factor, I think that's a bit too much for a tablet released last year. The only other display that would be better is probably the 7" Nook.

N3wXTyp3

Coming soon I believe, but surely not yet. That's why I find the comparison very weird. If the expectation is for a Retina-class display in a 7" form factor, I think that's a bit too much for a tablet released last year. The only other display that would be better is probably the 7" Nook.

don't care la. happy with the product can liao. after all it is you who are using, there is no need to care about others.

wee aren't like someone here who owns almost anything that is smart.

to be able to comment so professional is special case.

kennyboy

I doubt he was restricting himself to a fixed screen size when he made the remark. The one on the Kindle Fire HD was pretty good last time I saw it, as is the Nook HD. Besides, in theory, there exists 4.7" screens that have 1080p resolution and excellent color accuracy that renders your question pointless.....so technically, you're wrong. :)

We could "believe" in this and that all day long, but both sides would be right and wrong. He's right in saying that the screen quality leaves one wanting, but the flip side is that pricing has to be taken into consideration. The above mentioned 1080p screen enlarged to 7" (with the corresponding resolution increase) would undoubtedly make the tablet so pricy this thread would be much less popular. :D

masotime

Well I was arguing more in terms of consumer-available tablets (as you say, it becomes, technically, a matter of price). It just seems silly to rag on the Nexus 7's display when, at the moment, it has one of the best displays among the affordable, widely available 7" tablets (esp. the iPad mini, although I had assumed that the Kindle Fire HD had the same class of display as the Nexus 7).

On the bright side, there are sufficient rumours that a 1080p Nexus 7 will be released soon by Asus:

Login to DIGITIMES archive & research

It's definitely worth waiting for I think.

I doubt he was restricting himself to a fixed screen size when he made the remark. The one on the Kindle Fire HD was pretty good last time I saw it, as is the Nook HD. Besides, in theory, there exists 4.7" screens that have 1080p resolution and excellent color accuracy that renders your question pointless.....so technically, you're wrong. :)

We could "believe" in this and that all day long, but both sides would be right and wrong. He's right in saying that the screen quality leaves one wanting, but the flip side is that pricing has to be taken into consideration. The above mentioned 1080p screen enlarged to 7" (with the corresponding resolution increase) would undoubtedly make the tablet so pricy this thread would be much less popular. :D

N3wXTyp3

Well I was arguing more in terms of consumer-available tablets (as you say, it becomes, technically, a matter of price). It just seems silly to rag on the Nexus 7's display when, at the moment, it has one of the best displays among the affordable, widely available 7" tablets (esp. the iPad mini, although I had assumed that the Kindle Fire HD had the same class of display as the Nexus 7).

On the bright side, there are sufficient rumours that a 1080p Nexus 7 will be released soon by Asus:

If it has 4G funtions... Whaa sian!

kEvinErd

They can? What would be the procedure and is it effective?

Takes just a call.. You can try.. Not much harm to you right? Haha they can reset your connection from their server end and that might just solve your problem. Since you tried multiple apns, have you also tried sim cards from other telco just to confirm its not hardware problem? If so, just give starhub a call and complain..!

athenodorus

But the thing is I'm having terrible speed with 3g and g. It's almost non existent. But with h, it was a lot better.

u r not alone. My phone and n7 both also same under Starhub.

3g and g is as though there is no connection to mobile network.

Only at H den things will load.

Sucks to the core, don't even know who to blame.

N3wXTyp3

u r not alone. My phone and n7 both also same under Starhub.

3g and g is as though it's no connection to mobile network.

Only at H den things will load.

Sucks to the core, don't even know who to blame.

Who to blame! That is 1 big arrow. I am really not sure what is going on behind the back of the system for Starhub Telco when everyone here is sharing the same beam station and technology.

There are times in the same bloody location; I swear my 3G with hub is working fine and speedy. There is other time it slows until the fact that I cannot even load a simple webpage.

This issue also goes for Starhub 4G which my friends are using.

On the other hand, I have Singtel 3G Data plan for my Nexus 7. It was the most stable with a few exceptional disconnections from time to time.

kennyboy

Arguing about opinions, especially on the internet? You've got a lot to learn my friend.... :D

He is right, and you are right. Let's leave it at that. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.