(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

Resonance

i think can be done leh, must buy those copper barrel.

I was in italy, i saw the fellow in the cafe pour the greens inside this small barrel and it automatic roll.

Two alarms, one alarm to roast.

Then the guy pour the roasted coffee out to cool. Another alarm will sound out when it's ready to be used and people start rushing to the counter.

I see the people all waiting there like ordering Koi.

The problem was, a lot of smoke, i think that's why they banned roasting in SG.

There should be smaller versions

Ya have...

actually for the price of a entry level espresso grinder like the rancilio rocky to mazzer you can have a home roaster:

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/COFFEE-BEAN-ROASTER-NO-NOISE-NEW/403528271

http://www.roastmasters.com/coffee_roasters.html

approx

Wow TS nice hoot!

Serious coffee lovers in this thread.

The_King

nice setup.

@chikyblink. you richer then me.

my setup cost me about 1.6k total.

yea i love the E61 grouphead.

BTW, do you have civet cat sh*tcoffee.

i would love to taste the cat sh*t coffee

The_King

my espresso taste better then 2 days ago...

still yucky but less yucky. same with french press std.

still need work on my grind setting was number 6 on pharos but will try 5.4 tommrow

Lazy_Tiger

Anyone knows where I can get a good supplier of green coffee beans if I want to do my own roasting. Seems hard to find those exotic types like Geisha or peaberry beans or even single estate coffees.

Oh and TS you made an excellent purchase. I also use a VBM but the larger double boiler version. Did a lot of research before committing to the VBM machine. VBM does a lot of testing of their prototypes for temperature stability, reliability and most importantly shot to shot repeatability before coming up with their final product. Of course can't beat those machine from synesso or la marzocco with their saturated group heads. But that would be treading into commercial class machines already. Too ex…

Anyone here does any home roasting? :s12:

chesterqw

You can just PM or email unwanted doing the Mass Order.

E61 group head hx machine starting from $2199
Hx machines with those proprietary modified group heads, from $1899.

Local warranty support.

orh...
he was talking about bean to coffee machines the other day i visited the thread

chikyblink

nice setup.

@chikyblink. you richer then me.

my setup cost me about 1.6k total.

yea i love the E61 grouphead.

BTW, do you have civet cat sh*tcoffee.

i would love to taste the cat sh*t coffee

Actually starting my budget also not so high. Almost whack the Silvia and Rocky combo for $1.6k. Then I think think think, confirm few years down the road will upgrade one, so might as well save up more to buy a better one for long term.
This one I bought hopefully can last me till I grow old then pass down to my children as family heirloom lol.

As for kopi luwak, don't bother. Haven't you seen the video?

Resonance

Actually starting my budget also not so high. Almost whack the Silvia and Rocky combo for $1.6k. Then I think think think, confirm few years down the road will upgrade one, so might as well save up more to buy a better one for long term.
This one I bought hopefully can last me till I grow old then pass down to my children as family heirloom lol.

Was thinking the same thing...

For the silvia, i sure will try to PID it, but it will break the warranty i think... So I let go the idea for silvia.

derazor

My bro maybe giving me his Silvia modded with PID. I read Silvia pretty picky needs a good grinder combo. The rocky is a "good" entry and that's about it. What grinder should I get? PI or get local?

Thanks

chikyblink

My bro maybe giving me his Silvia modded with PID. I read Silvia pretty picky needs a good grinder combo. The rocky is a "good" entry and that's about it. What grinder should I get? PI or get local?

Thanks

After 2 days with my grinder, I would say get a doser grinder instead of doserless. Grinding beans is always a messy affair. More so with a doserless grinder.
Anyway depends on wad your budget is.
I'm saving up for the HG one grinder.

derazor

After 2 days with my grinder, I would say get a doser grinder instead of doserless. Grinding beans is always a messy affair. More so with a doserless grinder.
Anyway depends on wad your budget is.
I'm saving up for the HG one grinder.

I understand that grinder > expresso machine. 2 person in my house nia.
I'm currently having the hario slim, would this be good enough at the time being.

chikyblink

I understand that grinder > expresso machine. 2 person in my house nia.
I'm currently having the hario slim, would this be good enough at the time being.

Does the hario slim grind fine enough for espresso? Local grinders very ex leh.
Some budget but good ones are the eureka mignon or like my lelit

n0d3

Does the hario slim grind fine enough for espresso? Local grinders very ex leh.
Some budget but good ones are the eureka mignon or like my lelit

Don't think it does, even if it does the grind size probably would not be that consistent. More suitable for filter.

n0d3

actually pour over/aeropressss or brew coffee is still far miles from nespresso or any espresso machines.

i think if you want to play with coffee, maybe the more direct way is to roast yourself, but afaik it's illegal without permit.

well, imo, brewed coffee and espresso is different thing. As like Kopi-O at your local kopitiam vs brewed coffee is also different thing. It's like you prefer Oranges vs Mandarin Orange. And also Cold brew to drip.

I doubt roasting is illegal, so long as you don't sell it. Similarly to brewing beer, you can brew beer at home but not over a limit. Distillation process however, is not legal. (Was playing with beer before getting interested in coffee) :s13:

However, I do agree that Nespresso brews very good espresso compared to entry level semi-auto machines you find at departmental stores.

I concur. I own both an espresso machine and various pour over contraptions. I personally prefer pour overs/brew to espresso in terms of ease of use and the complexity of flavours (not saying you can't get equally interesting espressos). I was totally blown away when I tried my first Geisha and a whole bunch of other stuff from Square Mile.

Nespresso makes coffee, I wouldn't really consider it to be espresso. It's simple to use/clean for your average consumer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.