High cholesterol

Roundtreex

Mecisteus

Summary: New research has revealed that the link between 'bad' cholesterol (LDL-C) and poor health outcomes, such as heart attack and stroke, may not be as strong as previously thought.

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2022/03/220314120702.htm#:~:text=Summary:,as strong as previously thought.
High or low LDL.

Its more prudent to stay caution on the low side.

There are also tons of research to show high LDL (specifically APOB) or high Lipo(a) can be dangerous.

yokine3a

High or low LDL.

Its more prudent to stay caution on the low side.

There are also tons of research to show high LDL (specifically APOB) or high Lipo(a) can be dangerous.
Yes, low side, but the argument is how low is low? If diet & exercise can lower it to certain level, will doc insists patient to take medication to lower it further to so-called safe level?

ahnyaahnya

300-500 is familial hypercholesterolemia. Must take meds liao.
What if cholesterol level is close to that? Mine recently had a big jump due to bad eating and also hadn't taken my usual breakfast of oats. Jumped to 7.6 mmol,( if x 38.68= , 294) , LDL 3.4 (if x 38.68= 131).
The jump was due to Tri. I think cos I had been taking red meats beef and mutton , stuff that I normally only consume rarely.

Mecisteus

Yes, low side, but the argument is how low is low? If diet & exercise can lower it to certain level, will doc insists patient to take medication to lower it further to so-called safe level?
Some people like Dr Peter Attia argued for LDL to be as low as 50.

I think this is an impossible and extreme LDL level. Probably can only achieve with meds.

I know LDL at 130 is still acceptable if you are slim, no BP, not diabetic, no family history and active.

What if cholesterol level is close to that? Mine recently had a big jump due to bad eating and also hadn't taken my usual breakfast of oats. Jumped to 7.6 mmol,( if x 38.68= , 294) , LDL 3.4 (if x 38.68= 131).
The jump was due to Tri. I think cos I had been taking red meats beef and mutton , stuff that I normally only consume rarely.
LDL 300-500 is extreme levels !

Trigs is the most easiest to fix.

Sweat out more and cut all the refined carbs.

My trigs are in the 50-60 but LDL is a bit more stubborn.

ahnyaahnya

Some people like Dr Peter Attia argued for LDL to be as low as 50.

I think this is an impossible and extreme LDL level. Probably can only achieve with meds.

I know LDL at 130 is still acceptable if you are slim, no BP, not diabetic, no family history and active.

LDL 300-500 is extreme levels !

Trigs is the most easiest to fix.

Sweat out more and cut all the refined carbs.

My trigs are in the 50-60 but LDL is a bit more stubborn.
My LDL 131 lah.
My Trig 2.9 mmol = 112. But was a jump from 1.38 mmol (52) a year ago. Last half year hardly exercised, ate lots of fried stuff , beef , mutton .
Prescribed Atorvastatin. But haven't taken as I am in constant muscle pain, and am worried that it will worsen ( side effect of statin. Confirmed by a friend )

slashGNR

Just barely passed my annual blood test, looking forward to another 365 days...

Mecisteus

Cos of heart problem i nid to kip my cholesterol low as possible to prevent stroke.
If you have a heart problem, that's already 1 risk factor.

You need to keep BP low.

You need to keep BG good.

I guess you need to keep LDL way lower ie <100.

Your doctor probably advised you ?

yobyella

If you have a heart problem, that's already 1 risk factor.

You need to keep BP low.

You need to keep BG good.

I guess you need to keep LDL way lower ie <100.

Your doctor probably advised you ?

Yes. Was advised too. Nid to exercise too..

ahnyaahnya

Mine high LDL at 4.12 or 160. sian la, dun like to jiak oatmeal
Last couple of weeks, I make sure I take oats every day. If I skip breakfast, I have it for lunch in place of rice. You can try that . You'll get the taste of your food. So it's not yucky.

hub8246

What brands of oats do you guys recommend? So many choices. Are they all the same?

Not talking about those instant where they added sugar kind.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.