High cholesterol

kage

FYI
eggs aka egg yolk doesn't increase cholesterol significantly.
I read somewhere around 20% of the cholesterol was contributed from the food u eat, the remaining 80% is produce by ur body.

I am taking 2 eggs everyday due to the multiple dense nutrients and clean protein, one for breakfast and another for dinner.

I am doing cholesterol, tri, diabetic blood test annually to see if it affects my body.

kage

I read a lot. The more I read, the more I get confused sometimes.

Eg, some say low fat milk is good while some say full fat milk better. I have no 'conclusion' on this and so I ended up alternate between the two.

Coz of all the confusion, I subscribe to 'balanced diet' (the 'Healthy Plate').
Many products states alot of nutrients, proteins, low fats etc .... but many are processed, go through high heat, refining, add chemicals etc, so how much of the benefits are left?

Always choose whole food instead of processed.
Oats choose whole grain organic oats, not those instant, worse is those 3 in 1.
Avoid fruit juice, contains loads of sugar though it states low sugar, eat real whole fruits.
Buy fresh chicken breast, if not frozen raw chicken breast, instead of those frozen fried cutlet ready for air fry.

Choose food that is as close to its natural state, unprocessed.
Cos during the processing stage, it aredy take away most of the nutrients and chemicals have to be added to prolonged the shelf life.

Eat natural, unprocessed.

16/8IF

I think I figured out that your chart is actually a ratio called InsulinAUC to GlucoseAUC. The reason why meat is high is because the denominator of the ratio (glucose AUC) is very small. You should instead just compare raw figures for InsulinAUC.

Fiddler is referring to the peak insulin response as deduced from peak glucose level at 2 hours post-meal (= Glycemic index).

This glycation process... is very nasty.
Because the damaged walls will accumulate repair agents that make it bulge out and then collect more foreign matter including bacteria which is basically worsens the whole situation because bacteria can dodge the white blood cells by staying hidden and unreachable here.

And where this bacteria come from??? From the mouth bacteria through the teeth gums.
The Insulin Index in this article I think is what you looking for ?

https://www.mendosa.com/insulin_index.htm

stanlawj

The Insulin Index in this article I think is what you looking for ?

https://www.mendosa.com/insulin_index.htm
Yes the insulin index is high for meat when the glucose AUC is very low, so under what conditions is this bad for the body? I do know that eating too much meat without veggies will still be bad but not in the sense it cause diabetes but cause cancer like prostate and colorectal.

addict951

ts, are you somewhat buibui and eat a lot of meat ar?
drink that plant sterol nestle omega milk powder and reduce meat consumption by half 看看

16/8IF

Yes the insulin index is high for meat when the glucose AUC is very low, so under what conditions is this bad for the body? I do know that eating too much meat without veggies will still be bad but not in the sense it cause diabetes.
I am not sure either, but according to the chart, only beef seems to be higher while pork and chicken are at a lower level. ( I think these figs are better reflection compared to the previous ?).

If I am not wrong, Dr Shawn Baker who is a carnivore have higher fasting BG.( I saw his lab works some years ago but cant be 100 pct sure now).

Definitely protein induced insulin & BG (see T1Ds, where they have to include protein for their insulin needs calculation ) that is why in food order way of eating , protein before carbs to have better bg control.

Anyway still trying to learn more, metabolism is a complicated topic.

KPO_SAHM

But when u stop jiak junks, HC level drop. But rise again when u start to jiak junk food. That means no junk food every mth

If one has wealth, of course U wan to live well n long. For me , I wan to enjoy my life with my spouse as kids r older, basically spouse n I avoid junks

forests_gump

my mom take statin many years liao. can control. i recently started on it. see how at next test.

my mom say just eat whatever as long as take pill. she's been doing it. only thing control is sugar due to diabetes
i spoke to doctor & dietitian, no doubt pill may migrate some cholesterol issues, however depending pill as a health clutch tend to endup living a free spirited non restrained lifestyle.

eg. eat whatever -- besides cholesterol, also likely comes with very tasty - either high sugar, v. salty, much fried, or excessive meat, lack fiber, over eat without much exercise... these still go on harm our body & other organs.

bakuten

He has become dietary and eggs intolerance after eating overnight oats and eggs for 2 long years while studying in Uk.

Now he is completely void of eggs n milk.

I have bot him some supplement to help.
His biggest problem is addiction to Coke Zero.

Other than that, he is ok with the food we prepare for him for dinner when he does dine at home. Don’t know what he eats outside home.

Sometimes he will also request cai png cos like MinMin rightfully put it, our food can be too much for youngsters.

interesting. something about food intolerances is, you can actually recover from it.

personal anecdote below.
i always loved dairy products
i developed lactose intolerant from my late 20s onwards.
i reached the worst of my health in my mid 30s. BMI 35+. waist circumference of 44inches.
i stumbled across beef/salt/water method elimination diet, started on it, and dropped to BMI 25 in 5 months and lost 13 inches around my waist.

As i started re-introducing other foods and exercises, i tried dairy again and have zero problems with it.

so my opinion is,
1. food intolerance can develop from eating rubbish.
2. you can recover from food intolerance by cutting out eating rubbish.
3. recently also read that people can grow out of allergies even, not just food intolerances.

bakuten

Statin is scabs remover…

cholesterol is the razors…

If don’t change diet to stop cholesterol/ razors from cutting your arteries, even taking statin will eventually result in strokes with broken arteries?
highly disagree with this statement.

the glycation process is the razor, cholesterol is the mechanism that our body tries to heal the damage caused by the glycation process.

mummynew

If you think it is hereditary , maybe can do a test of Lp (a).

Not sure whether normal GPs will order such test for you, in my own experience anything not from the normal panel they are not keen or will not order the test for you.

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/lipoprotein-a-what-it-is-test-results-and-what-they-mean

The lipids specialist in public hospital and the heart specialist in pte practice both cited 'highly hereditary' for his case (and didnt order any additional gene test).

*I 'dont trust' the lipids specialist 100% and so got him out for second opinion in pte practice coz to start statin is a major decision for such a young person (who is 'seemingly' healthy').

mummynew

You can look for clinical trial to participate that gives you all the screening which may include carotid scan and also CAC scan free of charge, and will also compensate you for your time and transportation cost, so win win situation for both ?

Ya hor, why I have not thought of looking for clinical trial. Will go comb to see whether such trial is available.

Thanks!

Mecisteus

The lipids specialist in public hospital and the heart specialist in pte practice both cited 'highly hereditary' for his case (and didnt order any additional gene test).

*I 'dont trust' the lipids specialist 100% and so got him out for second opinion in pte practice coz to start statin is a major decision for such a young person (who is 'seemingly' healthy').
High cholesterol at a young age is high chance due to the genes. Diet and lifestyle cannot help.

General population at young age will have low cholesterol levels.

I looked at the numbers, they are abnormally high. Confirm must stake statins type.

mummynew

Don trust dr about high cholesterol and dr said inherited from family. I used to think so. Till one day my classmate told me how to reduce cholesterol effectively . Classmate was under medication too. And dosage got stronger and he decided to exercise everyday n strict control of diet for 6months. No fried food, no additional sugar , no simple carbo, chemical oils ..... cholesterol level dropped. I did the same too. 3 months of strict diet n daily exercise for 45mins -1hr , cholesterol level dropped too

My observations seem to show that mainly people above 40 then will have more willpower to try to do diets + exercise to control any of the 3 highs, meaning the younger ones are unlikely to have such discipline.

My girl has a friend, late 20s. She failed cholesterol test for first time. Doc advised diet + exercise for 3 months. Then she failed again. Doc said must eat homecooked food but she has no time/energy to prepare after work. So she started statin.

Now she is preparing for pregnancy and has to stop the statin for the time being.

charliebrown

u dun understand high cholesterol patients, they like these......
if u ask them to jiak simi veggies etc, they will get angry. lol
of coz that is your diet plans cause u get use to it.
seriously, it's their own life. they can do wat ever they like.. no one cares..
most of e time, u dun feel sorry for people cos they bring all these to themselve. no one to blame.

wongminmin

seriously, it's their own life. they can do wat ever they like.. no one cares..
most of e time, u dun feel sorry for people cos they bring all these to themselve. no one to blame.
if is stranger, none of my business.
if is parent/related ones.... kena stroke.... u still need to look after them. :cry:

Loratadine10mg

Recently did body checkup, despite taking fish oil for few years still high cholesterol. Thinking of go JB buy some med. Can someone advice which med the best. Many thanks.
Oh dear. What's the cost of fish oil. And what are u doing to cut down on cholesterol. I will eat ice cream. Milk less cholesterol

mummynew

High cholesterol at a young age is high chance due to the genes. Diet and lifestyle cannot help.

General population at young age will have low cholesterol levels.

I looked at the numbers, they are abnormally high. Confirm must stake statins type.

I will get him to do a carotid scan and if there are signs of clot, then will start the statin. Otherwise, will continue to hold out for a few years more (to trade him running probable risk of diabetes at an earlier age).

The heart specialist agreed with the 'plan' (he only did a detailed heart scan for him that shows 'powerful' heart beats with no clot). Nephew also passed threadmill with flying colours.

*his triglycerides and HDL need to keep at good levels too (currently at about 50 and 70 respectively). If any of these two also fail, then may have to start statin sooner than planned.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.