High fuel consumption

HeadQuarters

My mileage is more zhun than anyone here.

YTD mileage divided YTD litres pumped from Aug 2006 to-date. So it's the average over a long period of time. Highest was 14.1 and lowest was 9.58 depending how you pump. Average easily above 12.

Hahaha... Boh lang say ur calculation buay zhun lah :s13:

But still... It's first time i hear this :o

xiaopiggy

bendi85, wad engine oil you using? my 07 cs3 giving me 400 too, half tank. :s13: esso97 frm boleh land. er. 400 i roughly pump 27-30litres bah.

using cheapo pennzoil engine oil, 5w40. normal spark plugs, battery havent change. throttlebody havent clean. yah. basically lidat. maybe your driving habits?

if u need help me know. i see wad i can do for you. :)

Capitalist

My mileage is more zhun than anyone here.

YTD mileage divided YTD litres pumped from Aug 2006 to-date. So it's the average over a long period of time. Highest was 14.1 and lowest was 9.58 depending how you pump. Average easily above 12.

That's being a tad over the edge, no? :s13:

seowbin

you all can feel the diff between 95 and 97?

i nv pump 98 before

only when i pump v power racing, which is equal to 100 i suppose after i research, si bei power.......

henrylbh

Hahaha... Boh lang say ur calculation buay zhun lah :s13:

But still... It's first time i hear this :o

My first year average was 11.83, second year 12.01, third year 12.39, fourth year 12.54 and then it stays around there. Somemore my got extra weight from full body kits when I bought the car from agent. Dunno whether body kits help. My also slightly heavier than normal sunny cause my auto LE.

ZhuTou!

Fc no need to calculate until so chun la
Aga aga can liao
Juz enjoy ur ride :o

viktOzzz

engine oil wld play a small part... i long distance to KL every mth. i kiasi.. use redline 15w50.. petrol esso 98 in sg.. stock car. clock agar 280 to 320 on half tank. petrol is pump till auto stop nia.

bendi85

bendi85, wad engine oil you using? my 07 cs3 giving me 400 too, half tank. :s13: esso97 frm boleh land. er. 400 i roughly pump 27-30litres bah.

using cheapo pennzoil engine oil, 5w40. normal spark plugs, battery havent change. throttlebody havent clean. yah. basically lidat. maybe your driving habits?

400 half tank?? Wow! How you do that? Pm me thanks

HeadQuarters

I believe when the fuel indicator is at half way mark, the car has already consumed more than 60% of petrol. The Altis n Civic both after the half way mark, indicator drops faster.

So taking the mileage, at half way mark of indicator, times two does not give accurate fuel consumption.

CCCustom

I believe when the fuel indicator is at half way mark, the car has already consumed more than 60% of petrol. The Altis n Civic both after the half way mark, indicator drops faster.

So taking the mileage, at half way mark of indicator, times two does not give accurate fuel consumption.
Not sure if every car is like that, but I understand in general petrol tanks taper downwards, so that could be the reason.

However, (in theory) a fuel gauge should be calibrated to the volume and not just the level of the float.

In any case, the float in different cars work differently. My current car at yellow light needs to pump at least $12 or so of petrol for the needle to register movement. If I pump $5 or even $10, the needle does not move at all.

docomospur

Fc no need to calculate until so chun la
Aga aga can liao
Juz enjoy ur ride :o

Yeah, agree. If you're fuel consumption conscious, don't worry so much about the numbers but learn to drive a certain way (don't cheong the acceleration pedal, "glide" towards red light, etc).

spurman

Drove AvAnte manual for 3yrs. Avg 12-14km/ltr. Avg 50/50 highway and city drive.

Ever done at 10km/ltr... Say 80% on city roads.... Maybe only using mainly gear 1-3 nia.

So depends on your driving range. If u drive and stop at so many traffic lights N jam like Siao. The fc of coz terok

ghostly

lol...no onw start the gt money buy car no money pump petrol ar...

just kidding..

hehe...urs cs3 lim water ar...my fren cs3 ard 12-14km/l...ur foot very heavy is it...coz cs3 is heavy with under power engine..so u will tend to step on gas more...

or change ur ride la....like mine...35l tank i can do 600km when the light come on...hehe..on avg im getting 16-19km/l

Nakedtoes

lol...no onw start the gt money buy car no money pump petrol ar...

just kidding..

hehe...urs cs3 lim water ar...my fren cs3 ard 12-14km/l...ur foot very heavy is it...coz cs3 is heavy with under power engine..so u will tend to step on gas more...

or change ur ride la....like mine...35l tank i can do 600km when the light come on...hehe..on avg im getting 16-19km/l

What car u drive?

Capitalist

Hmmm ... half tank = 27-30 liters = 400 km?

What's the capacity of your tank leh?

My Civic's 50L.

All bars on the electronic fuel gauge disappears when there's about 10L left.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.