hiring helper or nursing home?

Lss

My current per capta is around 2k and yet can't get the 75% subsidy. Was rejected after submitting the application form
I think in some cases PCI only kicks in if you have enough ppl, maybe the same for this case. My child subsidy is like that. 4 pax is total income 5 pax then can use PCI.

Lss

most likely old people want to be in the comfort of their own house.

so i think hiring helper is the best option.

i would do that for my parents.
1 helper each.
If same house hold more than 1 helper will have additional levy?

Lss

moi colleague says helper help those cannot move elders always run road one. her record last time was 5 helper in 1 year.

if chiu maid u rather look after kids. can play still not so quai lan.
Would installing mobility aid or hiring male fdw be an option?

robie_aibo

I think in some cases PCI only kicks in if you have enough ppl, maybe the same for this case. My child subsidy is like that. 4 pax is total income 5 pax then can use PCI.
To be honest, being the sandwich class is the worst in SG. We are neither here nor there. I have seen some sandwich class folks able to obtain subsidies, owning big car etc. Don't know how they game the system. Maybe I am being too honest and follow the book hence loose out...

Lss

Yes, that's why I mentioned hiring FDW is the nightmare. I went thru 3 then got 1 that was willing to do and quite good.
Hence the suggestion is to send to hospice or elderly care first. Buy time to prepare the house and find FDW. Also good that they can learn how to cope with the disability, not easy suddenly disabled
This is after community hospital? Or as an alternative to it?

Lss

To be honest, being the sandwich class is the worst in SG. We are neither here nor there. I have seen some sandwich class folks able to obtain subsidies, owning big car etc. Don't know how they game the system. Maybe I am being tok honest and follow the book hence loose out...
Haha yup. The system seems to benefit comms workers who are good at their jobs. Max subsidy and benefits without compromising income.

hmyoth

Usually when elderly hospitalised, they will let u stay for a few days , then transfer to community hospital or transit care facilities. During this period you have to find daycare service , nursing home or maid depend on your parent condition and preference.

Lss

My parents both in late 80s do not have eldershield.

Can't even get homecare giving grant despite being certified with the ADL. Reason being no income plus staying in property with annual value more than $21 000, with my helper. They only receive $100 PG subsidy

So it means to qualify for the above, a working adult must stay with them? I have my own family with children.

Anybody facing this issue?
Actually my parents were able to get subsidy precisely because children already moved out.
But my father was doing part time work so made a few hundred each month.

Lss

When old and bedridden, you have to struggle in your own house, you did not see in olden kampong days, parents are out to work, and teenage children both handle grandparents and younger siblings, cry ah!
Ya my paternal grandparents had more than 10 kids and countless grandchildren to help out.

Those born in the 70s onwards are unlikely to come from such large families, so the stresses of caregiving is really high.

Lss

I met lots of rich Mainlander Chinese and Indonesian Chinese.

Do you know how and who they hire when they really need help in the home to care for sick?

A big loop hoole that local Singaporeans are stupid.

I lazy to type. Can't reveal too much. Send me private message.
I'm guessing when money is not a problem, you can set up a company and hire nurses and doctors.

Back in the 90s my uncles and aunts managed to employ a nursing trained FDW from Philippines. Back then coming here to work as a helper made more than being a nurse in Philippines. Now that nurses are in demand globally this won't happen anymore.

Lss

Falling tfr

new citizens they bring in are often in their 30s n 40s

you’re right

jialat Liao
I beg to differ, younger ones might be using SG as a spring board or go back to their originating country after retirement.

It's only a problem if they live out their lives here. Not sure what's the percentage though.

jywy2005

i resign from my job to take care of my mum, i also surrender, coz no matter what you tell them they will never listen,

sneaking out at night, dun want sleep at midnight.
everyonce i went out at midnight to look for my mum till 5 am.

so in the end i gave up and hire a maid to take care of her.

Really no joke to handle old folks. Dun want to eat home cooked food, want to go out to have outside food. Temper tantrums. Worst than taking care of young children.

Many helpers quit after working for a few months. It’s very tiring to look after them, not to mention all the bathing and changing diapers.

I have CCTV in the rooms and activate alarms to detect movements due to mobility issues (Parkinson’s) . Need to have a helper to monitor her all the time.

8zaoyu

Ya my paternal grandparents had more than 10 kids and countless grandchildren to help out.

Those born in the 70s onwards are unlikely to come from such large families, so the stresses of caregiving is really high.
The current generation even worse, married late, no kids or furkids. That is why Compulsory Careshield payable from Medisave savings from younger age, good for getting a maid later.
Pioneer Generation seem to have longer lives , doubt younger generations live past average death age here < 85 yo.
Relax lah, lots of Ah Peks and Ahmas around coffeeshops , those who still can walk join "tours to nearby countries" whilst still can,
go Buddhist Lodge near River Valley Rd eat free vegetarian meals, donate a bit if still can. Think for a few $ of grant for what, if already lost 3 ADLs, last time village people cut a hole on wooden bed for elderly to pee and poo into basin below.

johnsonheng

Let them know the costs and check if they can afford it.
they say dun want, after they come, if the maid take care of your parent well,

they will want her and dun want you liao.

everyone i bought drink asnd good for my parent which i know is her fav.

when she saw the food, and know that i never bought for for the maid, asking her to cook herself.

i tio butter by my mum, scolding why i never buy for her,
saying i unfair to her and refuse to eat.

o_Oo_Oo_Oo_O

Lss

they say dun want, after they come, if the maid take care of your parent well,

they will want her and dun want you liao.

everyone i bought drink asnd good for my parent which i know is her fav.

when she saw the food, and know that i never bought for for the maid, asking her to cook herself.

i tio butter by my mum, scolding why i never buy for her,
saying i unfair to her and refuse to eat.

o_Oo_Oo_Oo_O
Better take note though. Later another Yang yin gg.com

jeffprobst

first. go ask around how much subsidy you can get. if solo income supporting parents than subsidy will be higher.

guess option A is not feasible (this one usually social worker, dr and nurses says like very easy as if one no need to work).

option B, possible if you dont mind living with a stranger. need have proper room.

option C, to me, is best scenario since got professional to care but then again, elderly people might not want to be confine within nursing home.

BlackWing1977

My mother also get $400 n another $100 under pioneer generation. She also got $860 per quarter from silver support scheme. This amount helps to cover part of the maid expenses.
Yeah every little bit helps, but my mum is Merdeka dun think got extra $100, but the Silver Support she got it also... then together with my WFH part-time pay helps to deal with basic spending... have to apply for Medifund if not is cannot tahan.. she way too medication...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.