❓ How many here will not and never consider visiting China for vacation? ❓

16/8IF

It's in mid May to late May but their Golden Week is in Oct leh :oops:
May1 is similar to Oct1 holiday in China, about 5-7 days and is crowded .
Prices during this period will be higher , but yours is Mid May should be ok. ( Long Holiday is May1-7).

Nightscapez

yea. if you are at the tianfu hong during weekends, alot of cosplayers. I went to a few anime (二次元) malls in china. I think tianfu hong is one of the best.

i went to a few in different china city also
i think shanghai is 2 mall side by side and crowd got more people compare to when i went tianfuhong
and more cosplayer
i went on a weekday

Whimsica

It's just another country.

It's not as nice as advance as satki as many here say.

It's also not as jialat as some here say.

To those who quote an old saying and say simi must visit the Great Wall, why would you feel proud to be standing on something whose construction had led to the loss of hundreds of thousands of lives?

To those who still think go there hanky panky, please dun - you are tracked the moment you step off the plane.

Shutterbox

Last time i went, nobody speaks about politics. Actually every country i go visit, nobody talks politics. Just go as tourist and speak politics with locals for what
go overseas for vacation, speak about politics, whether is it home country or visiting country ones, is just silly

carey

May1 is similar to Oct1 holiday in China, about 5-7 days and is crowded .
Prices during this period will be higher , but yours is Mid May should be ok. ( Long Holiday is May1-7).
Yes, that's what I thought and hence booked my trip later in the month but also wanted to avoid the June school holidays hahah

zoossh

Me

I will not and not interested in China

I am not into country that restrict personal freedom and blocking freedom of speech, constant brainwashing

Imagine I go to a country, cannot use FB and whatapps, cannot use cash.....zzzzz

even Vietnam is not like that as a communist country

dun understand why so many girl like XiaoHongShu and go china, all kenna brainwashed alrdy
Nothing wrong with how you think. It is always your personal choice

it’s going to be your own time and own wallet so just use them on wherever you find it more worthy. If others prefers otherwise, it is their prerogative,

doesn’t means the others or the majority who think different from them are biased or less knowledgeable.

all countries have pros and cons. Someone mentioned another populated country. The reasons why some people prefer not to go there is not unreal.

It doesn’t mean that country had nothing good. It just means both the pros and cons are real and most people know what’s best for themselves, that’s all.

focus1974

Mostly cashless payment there. Maybe they rob your Rolex and gold necklace if like to haolian. :D
u never hear the KK scam center SOP meh

first, scan ur face on phone since everything is linked up nice nice for them.
wipe out your bank accounts and whatever ecommerce app linked to credit cards
then use your face again to try apply for loans ...
everything use finish liao.. then can sell you away or throw you away

but my point is ..when there's poor and desperate people being the norm, scams like marking up prices high high or carroting you or forcing you to buy things will go up. we cant discount kidnapping kids to sell also

focus1974

ya there is alot of those youtube videos, visited 3 provinces aside from my wife province, things were normal in the street view in the capital cities, i did not find anything like the youtube videos.

But some shopping malls high ends were lacking of people thou. bullet trains in dec dont need to book at all, u can last minute book, can get tickets. beautiful renovated rooms were cheap at 100rmb a day, all is great for me.
u got local contact. so different.
But I LOVED CHINA!

really want it to huat ..then i can go fight with the crowd for food and universal studio and disneyland :)

zoossh

go overseas for vacation, speak about politics, whether is it home country or visiting country ones, is just silly
Not silly at all. Politics is part and parcel of life. It is just one of the many many different factors in a travel but it is neither the only factor nor a non factor. How one priorities the various factors is entirely up to individuals

trax06

You can go Xi An. There is a famous Muslim Street.

I knw there's a big Muslim community in China but I've said before its not even abt the food or what. It's just totally no interest to see it's sights and culture or history.

noobkia

i really got try find althought they are well known to be fierce ahhaha but i like fierce girl
and sichuan girl i met all quite hot
china girl i met are mostly quite down to earth and understandable no princess attitude, most thing can talk it out.
but most of them dont really want marry far
haha yes, chuan girls most don want marry far but its doable.
chuan girls are only fierce to outsiders. chuan is v protective of their own people/family hence if fierce is becos u are considered outsider. if they see u as one of them, then will be super gentle.

PaboJames

i got muslim colleague who went to xinjiang and after she came back started to badmouth western media because everything she saw on the news were lies.

She is not the only one. Quite a number of people who actually went there came back with different views.

My Chinese Muslim army mate found his wife there.

Shutterbox

haha yes, chuan girls most don want marry far but its doable.
chuan girls are only fierce to outsiders. chuan is v protective of their own people/family hence if fierce is becos u are considered outsider. if they see u as one of them, then will be super gentle.
i personally know 33 sichuan girls, 2 of them live in Sg

really is quite qia, compared to girl friends from guangzhou.

econ food

visited China before Covid.

but after Covid , always been going to japan and korea.

reason : If those youtube videos of massive unemployment, bankruptcies and what nots are true, that means there's a lot of desperate people in there.

when there's a lot of poor and desperate people, I don't want to be in that country doing anything as a tourist.
Chu go there tour and ask ask check check. Then can tell edmwrs.

TopGun

Well look at what happened in US for Covid too when trump was handling it. U mean western countries are very open abt things? U are just v brain washed because u read too much western media and think u know a lot becos u read a lot. But it seems like u are quite a frog in well.

People died in US as the Americans were split over social distancing, mask wearing and vaccine.

The difference being that the American media was all over the news and people knew that there were deaths.

In other countries, numbers were suppressed and the narrative was tightly controlled. You pick your poison.

econ food

I made 3 trips to china last year, and I feel very confident to go there for holiday. My mandarin is half past 6, but I figured my own ways to get around that handicap.

The only issue that prevents me holiday in China is really The Wife. She has this mindset that is hard to rub off, because of all the nonsense youtubes she watches.
She just thinks food there is all oily and unhygienic.

So you ask me, its a mindset thing people get from the wrong sources of media.
Got juicy encouraging romance?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.