ipad mini 6

eric_wong6599

iPad mini price u might as well get the iPad Pro 11” riaos if chiu factor in Apple care + teh free airpods teh pro ish only few 200+ more than teh mini and 128gb…
Due to iPhone 13 launched without any significant improvement/surprise, every apple fans focus on new iPad mini instead, but actually it is not worth too. Might as well get iPad Pro.

zorrus

Hi all, any recommendations for iPad mini cover? Thanks!

skpuppy

Guess it is about the compact size.
(1) You can’t put iPad Pro in ur back pocket
(2) IPad Pro is heavy
(3) With that price difference about $400, iPad Pro considered expensive for some.
If above 3 points doesn’t matter, then iPad Pro sure more worth it

flikmy

Guess it is about the compact size.
(1) You can’t put iPad Pro in ur back pocket
(2) IPad Pro is heavy
(3) With that price difference about $400, iPad Pro considered expensive for some.
If above 3 points doesn’t matter, then iPad Pro sure more worth it
Well, I think if Apple had kept closer to the pricing of the previous ipad, it would have been a better value. Previous ipad mini 5 was at $599 RRP. Apple pencil 1 was $138. Comes to total of $737.

With the new ipad mini, base starting at $749 and pencil 2 at $189 means you'll be spending at least $938 at a minimum for it with pencil. That's $200 more than the previous, ~27% increase.

And it seems that the ipad pro 11 m1 can be gotten for close to $1k now. That's only $250 more for a much more powerful device (i think), with promotion screen etc. So it can hard to see the "value" in the mini6.

I have the mini5 yet was thinking about possibly upgrading to the new ipad mini, but realised that it's quite a big of a step up in price. (I got the mini 5 new at $510 in Jan 2020). The mini 5 is pretty quick still and other than the ability to magnetically attach the pencil to the side, slightly larger screen and better speakers, I couldn't justify the upgrade. (I know, i know, the processor is much newer and powerful and there's USBC, but it could also be said, there's no headphone port any longer).

I do think the mini as a form factor is great for people that have "smaller" iphones and also a laptop. It's a device that you can bring around to read books, take down notes (don't really want to do it on a phone) and also possibly watch video content on public transport.

If my mini5 was lost/broken and I had to replace it, I guess I would upgrade to the new mini6, especially if the price comes down. At the moment, the mini5 "used" seems to be going on carousell for <$420 used and $500+ with pencil, which I think is good value if you can find one in good condition.

Parka

Just got the mini 6. The jelly scroll effect is quite visible. It’s more visible than what Youtube videos can accurately show you.

For those who want to buy, I recommend you at least see it in store first.

007Mi6

The mini 6 is all about having a powerful A15 in a compact portable size. Thought of getting the 256GB and load my movies on it or download the Netflix series onto it etc.

Good to pair up with a iPhone 13 Pro.

sword28

Just got the mini 6. The jelly scroll effect is quite visible. It’s more visible than what Youtube videos can accurately show you.

For those who want to buy, I recommend you at least see it in store first.
yes yes, just saw it on the demo unit in iStudio.
very obvious.
sian max coz I now hold on my purchase due to this.

but to be honest, it is not a serious issue, but after knowing the issue is there, you will naturally feel sian.
i think more serious and obvious when you scroll slowly with your finger sticking to the screen (not flipping your finger).
i forsee reading ebook will be a problem.

royfrosty

Hmm i have yet to see any jelly rolling on portrait mode though. I dont think all are affected? Cause i remember seeing the jelly effect on retail mode at apple store mbs. But when i return home with my unit, i dont see it on my ipad mini lol. Or is it my eyes old liao? Haha

maple_mak

I really don't understand why Spigen, UAG, Ringke etc, not yet import any accessories for iPad mini 2021 to local yet......

Very afraid to bring it to outdoors lol

And yes, my unit kena #jellygate

royfrosty

I really don't understand why Spigen, UAG, Ringke etc, not yet import any accessories for iPad mini 2021 to local yet......

Very afraid to bring it to outdoors lol

And yes, my unit kena #jellygate
Its actually a trend.....

None of the shops will bring in any ipad casing for the first 2-3 weeks after sales launch. It has been the case (pun intended).

iCubes

I have the jelly issue on my mini too but wasnt too bothered by it. I anticipate it being fixed in a software update.

anyone intending to order paperlike screen protector from overseas?
I am intending to get it, but haven't ordered yet. Thinking of waiting till local shops carry it so that I can get them to apply during purchase. Alternative is wait for Elecom's version - I have used it for my iPad Air and it's pretty good.

Parka

Hmm i have yet to see any jelly rolling on portrait mode though. I dont think all are affected? Cause i remember seeing the jelly effect on retail mode at apple store mbs. But when i return home with my unit, i dont see it on my ipad mini lol. Or is it my eyes old liao? Haha
I was at the Apple store and all the iPad minis have this effect.

If you can't see it, it could be your unit has no issues, or your unit has issues but you just can't see it. It's like how people can't see the judder of the 60hz refresh rate... until they 120hz side by side to compare.

If you don't or can't see it, don't go looking for it because it does not affect you anyway. Once you see it, you can't unsee it.

Parka

anyone intending to order paperlike screen protector from overseas?
If you mean the brand Paperlike, that's just overpriced screen protector that works the same as other screen protector.

Consider SuperShieldz (sold on Amazon) which is way cheaper and has almost the same quality.

kruzeryo

Does anyone know where to get tempered glass for the new mini? I cannot find it at the shop selling. I prefer staff to paste for me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.