JCS japanese classes

_Gaara_

haiz want join also cannot cause close liao. wait for dec also too long liao.

tanolis

alvinaloy said:
'O' level is 'O' level. JLPT is JLPT. Different and not equivalent

True, it is not equivalent, but if u r looking for a benchmark, 'O' lvl is abt JLPT 2. But with conversation, composition and written comprehension.

So it is a little tougher.

mimiyap

i used to b wif JCS for my intermediate n advanced 1 level
but after advanced 1, i quitted.....
advanced 2 is realli too chim for mi to grasp liao :s13:

joy883

Hi pple... takin elementary at JCS nw.. thinkin of forming study gp to practice speakin or jus practice using email.. interested parties pm me thx!~

joy883

nope.. its purely based on luck... my tutor is vvvvvvvvvvv gd! not jus listen, speak, n write, he even teach us cultures, history n songs!

p0w3rL3s5 said:
Hi guys, i heard that JCS doesn't focus much on listening and talking.. is it true?

p0w3rL3s5

joy883 said:
nope.. its purely based on luck... my tutor is vvvvvvvvvvv gd! not jus listen, speak, n write, he even teach us cultures, history n songs!
Wow, whats his name? Cause i might be joining JCS Intensive classes... but still having doubts cause i heard its very uninteractive =(

joy883

Teo wei min sensei... much much much better than native tutors!!

p0w3rL3s5 said:
Wow, whats his name? Cause i might be joining JCS Intensive classes... but still having doubts cause i heard its very uninteractive =(

morohh

I always think that non-native teacher is better as they understand the difficulty and already been through what non native faces when learning the language.

alvinaloy

The danger is that they might only be textbook smart and not know the background naunces and implied meanings.

Mars Ranger

morohh said:
mai doyoubi

i think the proper way of saying every sat should be "毎週の土曜日" instead of "毎土曜日" but "毎土曜日" seem fine to me too.

Anyone can clarify?

etteneaj

Conversation Course at JCS

Hi, I'm studying at the Intermediate class in JCS. I personally think it's also 毎週の土曜日. Unless there is a more colloquial (casual) way of saying it by the Japanese, then I'm not so sure about that, 毎週の土曜日 is the polite form I guess.

By the way.......
Does anyone here have attended a Conversation Course (Intermediate/Elementary) at JCS before? As the courses starts every Feb, May & Aug, is it a continuation or is it the same course being conducted repeatedly in these 3 intakes?

If it's the same course from May's intake, I'm thinking of signing up for the Aug's intake. If it's a continuation, maybe it's better for me to sign up for the Feb's intake next year.

Any suggestions/views?

PingJun

Just now, when I was having Japanese lesson, I asked my sensei about "Every Saturday".

He told me that it should be 毎週土曜日. The word or rather, particle, の is omitted in this case.

He also told me that 毎週の土曜日 is not wrong. But it is not that common.

Can anyone clarify this?

etteneaj

PingJun said:
Just now, when I was having Japanese lesson, I asked my sensei about "Every Saturday".

He told me that it should be 毎週土曜日. The word or rather, particle, の is omitted in this case.

He also told me that 毎週の土曜日 is not wrong. But it is not that common.

Can anyone clarify this?

Hi all,

I happened to chance upon this in one of my Jap textbooks and it says:

1. When in between 2 TIME nouns and the 1st TIME noun contains 毎, there should not be a の in between the 2 time nouns.

Eg (a). 毎週土曜日 〔毎週 is 1st TIME noun while 土曜日 is the 2nd TIME noun, so の is not used.)

Eg (b)  来週の土曜日 〔来週 is 1st TIME noun while 土曜日 is the 2nd TIME noun, so の is used.)

Hope the above clarification helps.

bkchng

etteneaj said:
Hi all,

I happened to chance upon this in one of my Jap textbooks and it says:

1. When in between 2 TIME nouns and the 1st TIME noun contains 毎, there should not be a の in between the 2 time nouns.

Eg (a). 毎週土曜日 〔毎週 is 1st TIME noun while 土曜日 is the 2nd TIME noun, so の is not used.)

Eg (b)  来週の土曜日 〔来週 is 1st TIME noun while 土曜日 is the 2nd TIME noun, so の is used.)

Hope the above clarification helps.

Yeah, that helps alot. Thanks.
Haven't got a chance to ask my sensei so had to ask friends, and all seemed to give me different answers.

kindaichi83

sweet_vanilla said:
Yes, JCS have a few non-native teachers.
Nice to meet you guys~~~

JCS is quite good, IMO. I have been studying there for 3 years already. Well, the teachers didn't really neglect any students. Its more like they want students to take the approach on asking teachers if they don't understand. Thats what I feel. ^_^
I studied there for 2 years. Stopped at advanced I. It is really hard. But JCS is good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.